Darkest Dungeon Review

How harsh is the RNG in Darkest Dungeon?

avatar
556

369 days ago

It is harsh and I'm fine with that, but in some cases the game likes to be a dick just for the sake of it. Summoning a random mini-boss on you (The Collector) without any kind of warning is a dick move and one that can potentially ruin your run.

78
「Spaerk」 (after 1 day 19 hours play time)

368 days ago

Quite harsh when you attempt to switch into higher level dungeons as soon as they become available. I watched a team of champions who had beaten lower level dungeons without difficulties disintegrate after just two mob groups in a higher one more than once.

If you take the time and keep sending new recruits (your high level ones will refuse to participate in expeditions that are below their level) into the easier dungeons to gather resources & upgrade your guild and smith as well as farm some decent trinkets, you can counter most of the RNG.

161
Silentius (after 1 day 2 hours play time)

302 days ago

It can be brutal! Several missed attacks on the trot can leave you tearing your hair out in anguish and all the careful micro-management in the world won't save you if the enemy pulls off a lucky chain of critical hits, but that's all part of the diabolical fun.

3322
Shriven (after 1 day 4 hours play time)

687 days ago

Its annoying but not excessive. You can remove the RNG elements though equipment drops and item purchases..which...themselves are RNG chance to appear... no different than Cardgames such as Hearthstone.

34 days ago

Completely manageable. If I find a party and strategy that are successful in a dungeon, they are almost always successful in future expeditions to that dungeon. Those knife-edge fights that could go either way really do go either way - sometimes the bar eats me, sometimes I eat him.

I think it's simply a tough game that always pits you against enemies for who you are just barely a match. Keep in mind that you can form around 160,000 parties just considering the classes and ignoring the same character can have different moves and quirks. It's not easy to guess what will be the most effective.

avatar

You

Now

Is Darkest Dungeon grindy?

3322
Shriven (after 1 day 4 hours play time)

687 days ago

Again, yes but not excessively so. The level of your heroes is very important and the perma-death makes it genuinely tense as the battle gets hard. But, there is a mechanic in the game to stop you over leveling your heroes to max level on beginner dungeons. The heroes refuse to go on low level missions making you take other heroes. Nice touch.

avatar
556

369 days ago

Yes, it kind of is. But the core game mechanics are so good that it doesn't get annoying or tiresome.

78
「Spaerk」 (after 1 day 19 hours play time)

368 days ago

Considering that you will go through a few sets of champions who all need to be leveled up and equipped, yes. You will visit the different areas more than just once or twice.
It does not feel excessively grindy though, since you can use those repeated runs to test different classes and team compositions.

161
Silentius (after 1 day 2 hours play time)

302 days ago

Yeah it can be a bit of a grind, especially if you find yourself lacking the resources to put together a meaningful expedition. You'll frequently find yourself farming shorter, less rewarding dungeons for the loot required to mount more meaningful ventures.

avatar

You

Now

How fair are loot drops in Darkest Dungeon?

3322
Shriven (after 1 day 4 hours play time)

687 days ago

RNG. You dont know what loot you will get out of the few treasure type nodes. And even then, the items themselves seem RNG'd for stats. Some are useless but most are rarely useful for the current part you have. Saving items for specific builds and dungeons is a sound strategy and adds to tactical decisions on which class/items to bring with you on your trip. Quest rewards are the only safe bet on getting an item from any dungeon.

avatar

You

Now

Does Darkest Dungeon allow for a good range of character builds?

3322
Shriven (after 1 day 4 hours play time)

687 days ago

Moderate. Character builds are not very different from each other as all heroes of the same class might start with different skills at first, but through leveling and spending gold you can learn the skills you are missing.

avatar

You

Now

Does Darkest Dungeon reward strategic planning?

3322
Shriven (after 1 day 4 hours play time)

687 days ago

Planning for the more difficult dungeons is paramount. Decisions before you leave for a mission include; Class composition (strengths/weaknesses against the types of foe you will meet) is important as are other, less obvious things such as bringing enough food for your party, what buffs to grant your party when camping, do you spend gold on skeleton keys and holy water to increase your chances of finding good items and the hugely important use of torches. Less light, more chance of good items with the trade off of harder to kill enemies! Strategic planning is essential.

avatar

You

Now

Would you back another game by Red Hook Studios?

avatar
556

369 days ago

Let's just say I haven't seen in DD any reason not to. Bu then again, I'll judge any game from them on its own merits, not those of DD.

3322
Shriven (after 1 day 4 hours play time)

687 days ago

I was a none backer. Came to it after social media hype.

109
The Great Gratzby (after 1 hour play time)

417 days ago

I can't answer that for sure. But if they were to announce another release, I can definitely say I'd pay close attention.

161
Silentius (after 2 days 4 hours play time)

111 days ago

I didn't back DD in early access, but after playing and thoroughly enjoying what was a well polished finished product, I would definitely back their future work.

avatar

You

Now

Should you buy Darkest Dungeon now or wait for it to come out of Early Access?

3322
Shriven (after 1 day 4 hours play time)

687 days ago

Its playable now. But some planned features still awaiting implementation. Extra dungeons and battle mechanics incoming.

Tim Edwards Avatar
514
Tim Edwards(2 hours played)
1 Year ago
I think players should wait a little bit, even if it's just to see if the devs can balance the earlier dungeons a little bit better.
1
161
Silentius (after 2 days 4 hours play time)

111 days ago

At £18.99 It's not overly expensive. So far I've put 52 hours into it; that's 36p per hour, which is pretty good as a going rate for entertainment. By way of contrast, I paid £10 to see Zoolander 2: two hours I'll NEVER get back.

avatar
556

369 days ago

Never buy Early Access.

avatar

You

Now

How good are Red Hook Studios at releasing regular updates?

3322
Shriven (after 1 day 4 hours play time)

687 days ago

Very rapid updates. Seems to be one every week.

161
Silentius (after 2 days 4 hours play time)

111 days ago

They've been very good thus far and have even added a new playable character to the game's roster completely free of charge.

avatar

You

Now

How has Red Hook Studios delivered on their crowdfunding goals?

3322
Shriven (after 1 day 4 hours play time)

687 days ago

Cannot say. Although, I am certain backers will be delighted with the start it has made. This could very well be a champion of crowd funding once finished.

avatar

You

Now

WHAT WAXEN, BELLOWING, SPONGE-LIKE ABOMINATION DOES Darkest Dungeon CONJURE?

109
The Great Gratzby (after 1 hour play time)

417 days ago

My god, Carter, it was everywhere -- and nowhere! A gibbering, squamous nightmare from beyond those most feverish nightmares of frost-rimed Leng and the spiraling pit of Abshu-Agar, that rings with the maddening, piping voices of The Ones Who Came Before -- No! I cannot describe it further! I beg you, Carter, burn my notes, delete my XBOX profile, dispose of that unspeakable, malevolent tome, and never again install.... THE DARKEST DUNGEON.

161
Silentius (after 2 days 4 hours play time)

111 days ago

Unspeakable twilit scenes: forbidden rites, conducted in darkened grottos, beneath a gibbous moon; unfathomably ancient, cyclopean walls, built according to non-Euclidean geometry; a nameless, unholy, amorphous mass, pulsing with malevolent life, glimpsed only for an instant, yet enough to drive a man to utter mania... something like that!!

avatar

You

Now

How imaginative is the Darkest Dungeon lore?

161
Silentius (after 2 days 4 hours play time)

111 days ago

Red Hook wear their heart on their sleeve; the name of the company is inspired by the H.P. Lovecraft story 'The Horror at Red Hook' and Lovecraft's gelatinous tentacles writhe both literally and figuratively all over Darkest Dungeon. The medieval setting may predate many of Lovecraft's stories, but the game's monsters and key narrative riffs are either taken or adapted directly from his work. In that respect the lore in Darkest Dungeon is not particularly imaginative, but it is well handled.

3322
Shriven (after 1 day 4 hours play time)

687 days ago

The voice of the narrator and a few crude and harrowing drawings set the tone for the game from the outset. The actual lore of the game is, pretty invisible so far. Summerised in these eleven words. "Oops, ive dug a hole in my castle, evil came out"

avatar

You

Now

How good are the graphics in Darkest Dungeon?

3322
Shriven (after 1 day 4 hours play time)

687 days ago

Its a 2D side scrolling game. Basic in their function but fit very well with the theme.

514
Tim Edwards (after 38 minutes play time)

687 days ago

The art style is absolutely beautiful - all dark but playable comic book illustrations.

161
Silentius (after 2 days 4 hours play time)

111 days ago

DD isn't likely to tax your GPU too heavily, but it's a pretty game nonetheless.

avatar

You

Now

How does Darkest Dungeon run on your PC?

3322
Shriven (after 1 day 4 hours play time)

687 days ago

Smooth as butter. I5, 8gb ram, GTX 760. Never going to push the boundary's of my system.

514
Tim Edwards (after 38 minutes play time)

687 days ago

It will run on a toaster. Really not a problem.

avatar

You

Now

How good is the Mac port of Darkest Dungeon?

3322
Shriven (after 1 day 4 hours play time)

687 days ago

Did not play.

avatar

You

Now

How good are the sounds in Darkest Dungeon?

3322
Shriven (after 1 day 4 hours play time)

687 days ago

Again, special mention to the narrators voice. Nothing else stands out on the same level.

avatar

You

Now

Why do gamers stop playing Darkest Dungeon after a short period

514
Tim Edwards (after 38 minutes play time)

687 days ago

It felt unfair. I wanted to play more, but it felt like it would be a real trudge to continue, so gave up.

109
The Great Gratzby (after 1 hour play time)

417 days ago

I'm saving myself for the full release. I assure you, it's difficult! I really want to play the game, but I also don't want to ruin myself for the complete game.

What do gamers think of Darkest Dungeon after many hours of playing

3322
Shriven (after 1 day 4 hours play time)

687 days ago

In a word? Yes.

Dishonored 2 Review
Dishonored 2 Review

avataravataravataravataravatar

5 reviewers answered 7 questions