A Windows 9 preview build could come out as early as next month | PCGamesN

A Windows 9 preview build could come out as early as next month

Windows 9
0
0

It’s taken a while for folk to get used to Windows 8, and some of us are still holding onto 7 with grim determination. But reports suggest that Microsoft will be showcasing its next OS, codenamed Threshold, as soon as next month at a press event on September 30th. A preview build will be released to developers at the same time or soon after.  

This date could change, however.

So what can we expect Microsoft to show off? 

There’s the new Start Menu, which looks like a strange blend of Metro and the traditional menu, with big app tiles pinned to the side. A version of this interface is expected to grace Windows 8.1 this year as well. 

Switching between the Start screen and desktop will no longer be necessary when running modern aps, either, as they’ll be able to run in the desktop in windowed mode.

An early version of Cortana, Microsoft’s creepy Siri-like helper, is also being added builds, but it’s not clear if it will be available in the upcoming preview. 

At the rate I adopt new operating systems, I’ll probably be installing Windows 9, Threshold or whatever they are going to call it directly into my brain. I didn’t upgrade from XP to 7 until Windows 8 was almost upon us. My rule is: I upgrade my OS when I stop being able to play new games without it. 

What about you lovely lot? Are you salivating at the prospect of faffing around with this, or did Windows 8 burn you and put you off early adoption? 

Cheers, The Verge

0
0
Sign in to Commentlogin to comment
MrJinxed Avatar
670
11 Months ago

I very much doubt I'll upgrade from win7. I'm very happy with how it performs. I know the quality skips every other version, and using that logic win9 should be good, but I just don't think there's any sort of reason to update yet.

4
nu1mlock Avatar
368
11 Months ago

I love Windows 8. I used Windows 7 since its release and got Windows 8 soon after its release as well. And I'm glad I did. Aside from the Metro interface (which I got rid of immediately), I've only noticed improvements, both in performance and stability.

It's also great for my daughter on our HTPC. She use the Metro interface to start apps, play games, watch Netflix and use XBMC. Although she could just as well just click icons on the desktop, the tiles looks a lot better and is great for an HTPC.

3
[PWNY] Fluttersnipe Avatar
184
11 Months ago

I guess we'll see if they continue with the "every other windows is good" trend.

3
RavenHawk Avatar
127
11 Months ago

I'm with nu1mlock.

I got Windows 8 for free while I was still in college and decided to use it when I built a new rig last year. I still find it to be an infuriating interface if left alone, but fortunately I removed all the annoying features with third-party software (Start8 for the win!).

Haven't looked back since.

Windows 8 is solid. All Microsoft would have had to do was make the new interface optional so you could use it if you wanted or otherwise completely ignore it if you didn't. I see the advantages on touch screen enabled devices (love my windows phone) but I found it to be counter intuitive for standard desktop computers.

2
archaven Avatar
4
11 Months ago

Depends on what Microsoft has to offer. If they said i can buy and play all console games on Windows 9 then count me in as a customer.

2
Belimawr Avatar
751
11 Months ago

that won't happen, MS trialed it back when Vista was longhorn and discontinued the idea due to compatibility and optimisation due to PC needing loads more compared to a console with a set hardware setup.

the only thing that ever came out trying to get Xbox games on Windows was games for windows live.

1
cgerrr Avatar
105
11 Months ago

I would still use XP if not RAM, DX and "only for win7,8,etc." limitations: every time windows upgrades it limits user more and more infringing needless prohibitions and borders, which weren't there in prev versions. Not a good trend from ordinary user perspective.

2
unwanted Avatar
639
11 Months ago

I'll still be at 7. I see 8 lasted about as long as Vista.

1
Shriven Avatar
2347
11 Months ago

I have 8. I wasnt sure about the upgrade with new rig. Glad I did though.

1
vandal Avatar
7
11 Months ago

I installed 7 on a PC for a friend this week. After using 8 since release, I just don't know how you can all stay on 7! It was so slow compared to 8. Bootup, shutdown and just general use is sooo much faster on 8 than 7. I could NEVER go back. For the record, I DON'T like the Metro UI and boot straight to the desktop with Start8 and stay there. I never see the Metro unless I want to.

1
Beemann Avatar
14
11 Months ago

Honestly it's just easier to wait until Windows 9. Continue the tradition of grabbing every other windows OS and all that

From what I've heard from a number of sources, performance increases while running are minimal, but boot times are noticeable (which is something I DON'T notice because I use that time to do other things, and I don't sit around watching my computer shut down). On the flip side, I have to install 3rd party programs or fiddle with the Start Menu to make it not garbage (something I've done on my Windows Tablet) and spend money to upgrade from an OS I'm pretty satisfied with already.

Massively improved interface + DX 12 is just enough to make me consider upgrading... provided it's cheap enough

2
B0GiE-uk- Avatar
26
11 Months ago

I tried Windows 8, it was absolute dog sh1t. Went back to Windows 7 and have been happy with the OS.

Hopefully Microsh1t will realize that most people have a desktop PC and will want a proper interface for our mouses and keyboards and not be forced into the abortion that is the Metro interface. I'm sure kids at playschool could design a better interface.

They need to keep it pretty close to Windows 7 basic user interface for me to upgrade. They can add all the bells and whistles as add ons. This would also make sense for a business point of view too.

What business in their right mind would want Windows 8???

1
QDP2 Avatar
239
11 Months ago

Sat on 2 laptops (one Windows 7 and one Windows 8), I'm gonna jump to upgrade the Windows 8 laptop if initial reviews turn out positive for Windows 9. Windows 8 went down negatively from the start, so lets hope Microsoft have realised there mistakes, so that they can actually offer a good OS.

1
Mountain_Man Avatar
573
11 Months ago

Windows 7 is the last version of Windows I'll ever buy. Thanks to Valve, Linux is now a viable alternative for gaming, so it's no longer necessary to tie yourself into a costly and fiercely propriety OS.

0
Try these free to play games
?

These are affiliate links - clicking them and playing the games directly supports PCGamesN

Latest PC games news