This week’s free games from Epic include a perfect spooky game for October

October 15, 2020 Amnesia: A Machine for Pigs and Kingdom: New Lands are now available to claim from the Epic Games Store.

It’s another Thursday, and that means it’s time for another round of free PC games from the Epic Games Store. Rising Storm 2: Vietnam and Abzu are gone, but as always, there’s a fresh set of freebies to replace them. Epic’s setting the Halloween mood right with Amnesia: A Machine for Pigs, which is now available alongside Kingdom: New Lands.

You can grab both games from the Epic promotion page, and they’ll be available until October 22 at 8:00 PDT / 11:00 EDT / 16:00 BST, when they’ll be replaced by Costume Quest 2 and Layers of Fear 2. You’ll ‘purchase’ the games for zero dollars a piece, at which point they’ll appear in your Epic library and remain there forever.

Amnesia: A Machine for Pigs is the semi-sequel, semi spin-off of the original Amnesia: The Dark Descent, and first launched back in 2013. It didn’t hit quite the heights of its predecessor, but it’s still a horrifying adventure that’ll fill your need for some Halloween games now that we’re well and truly into the spooky season. It’ll also get you set for the Amnesia: Rebirth release date, due in just a couple of weeks.

If that’s a bit intense for you, you can also pick up Kingdom: New Lands, a gorgeous take on building games where you bring a kingdom to life from a side-scrolling perspective. If you’ve been keeping up with the Epic freebies, you might already have this one – it was given away back in 2019 – but if not, now you’ve got a second chance.

Check out some free Steam games if you need to populate another launcher with freebies. There are plenty to go around.