Arma 3 Review | PCGamesN

Arma 3 Review

What does Zeus add to Arma III?

Kilimantastic (after 20 days 21 hours play time)

750 days ago

Not much unless in a large group of friends.

11
Velrisias (after 24 days 4 hours play time)

397 days ago

its ads what a dungeon master adds to dungeons and dragons and if that isn't a big thing i don't know what is

Josh Sells Guns (after 1 day 19 hours play time)

819 days ago

In my experience, a fun sandbox area. I love lightning striking, and messing around with troops to create battles.

DEL-J (after 83 days 6 hours play time)

497 days ago

Great sandbox tool, but I find it a shame that the creators waste time making single player campaigns, when they should be adding more content for mission makers to make their own experiences.

wA. eSports | SaPhiiX (after 29 days 21 hours play time)

373 days ago

All sort of posiblities and so much more to the game! ;)

gabyhayes (after 28 days 4 hours play time)

744 days ago

Don't use it.

14
7CavSSGSparksN (after 31 days 20 hours play time)

625 days ago

More control and fun

MeNoLike (after 84 days 9 hours play time)

416 days ago

no idea

avatar

You

Now

How good an FPS is Arma 3?

gabyhayes (after 28 days 4 hours play time)

744 days ago

Ok but like 3rd person better just not a fps player all that much.

1
Dohfugwimee (after 38 days 2 hours play time)

736 days ago

First class FPS... anyone using 3rd person is ripping themselves off in terms of immersion and reality of play

11
Velrisias (after 24 days 4 hours play time)

397 days ago

now finally after 4 years we got x64 bit on this game and it has done it well i have 60 fps+ on all settings to the max

wA. eSports | SaPhiiX (after 29 days 21 hours play time)

373 days ago

FPS Is a kinda good fps like u haave many posiblities in FSP And 3rdPS :D

Kilimantastic (after 20 days 21 hours play time)

750 days ago

It is not an fps! It is a military sandbox and simulator.

MeNoLike (after 84 days 9 hours play time)

416 days ago

very good

Josh Sells Guns (after 1 day 19 hours play time)

819 days ago

I don't like to think of Arma 3 as just an FPS title, as it is much more than that, additionally seeing how there is an option for 3rd person which personally I always use unless I'm in CQC. It's more of a Sandbox Military Simulator and it excels at that, and the best I can do to answer your question directly, the gun-play works very well and is true to realism and a gaming environment.

avatar

You

Now

How much fun are the weapons in Arma 3?

Kilimantastic (after 20 days 21 hours play time)

750 days ago

extremely fun

Josh Sells Guns (after 1 day 19 hours play time)

819 days ago

I enjoy them deeply. There are a huge array of weapons and attachments, I never find myself wielding the same combo.

MeNoLike (after 84 days 9 hours play time)

416 days ago

amazing

11
Velrisias (after 24 days 4 hours play time)

397 days ago

they are allot of fun

wA. eSports | SaPhiiX (after 29 days 21 hours play time)

373 days ago

Its so fun!

avatar

You

Now

How does Arma 3 reward you for playing tactically?

11
Velrisias (after 24 days 4 hours play time)

397 days ago

I survive

Josh Sells Guns (after 1 day 19 hours play time)

819 days ago

It's a necessity. If you do not play tactically, you will fail every time.

Kilimantastic (after 20 days 21 hours play time)

750 days ago

You'll die if you do not.

MeNoLike (after 84 days 9 hours play time)

416 days ago

tactical gameplay is all there is, and its awsome

avatar

You

Now

How open is Arma 3 to explore?

Josh Sells Guns (after 1 day 19 hours play time)

819 days ago

Very open. Most times, I do not even think of reaching a boundary as there is so much area to be in that there's no reason why'd you reach that. In addition to this, every building I've encountered so far that I can think off the top of my head right now is enterable. It takes open world to a whole new level.

11
Velrisias (after 24 days 4 hours play time)

397 days ago

well like a shed without any doors and walls

MeNoLike (after 84 days 9 hours play time)

416 days ago

the maps are very big, and there is lots of mods in which knowing these maps means a lot. so exploration is also an important part.

avatar

You

Now

How realistic is Arma 3?

MeNoLike (after 84 days 9 hours play time)

416 days ago

the most realistic shooter there is

11
Velrisias (after 24 days 4 hours play time)

397 days ago

its the most realistic shooter on the market. It so realistic it makes call of duty franchise and the battlefield franchise look like baby pacifiers

Josh Sells Guns (after 1 day 19 hours play time)

819 days ago

Very realistic. Of course it has it's limitations, but it is more realistic than any other military simulator you will find on the market.

avatar

You

Now

Would you recommend any good Arma 3 mods?

1
Dohfugwimee (after 38 days 2 hours play time)

736 days ago

Breaking Point

Kilimantastic (after 20 days 21 hours play time)

750 days ago

Exile

5
dimin69 (after 75 days 19 hours play time)

361 days ago

i personaly love life mods like nopixel a3pl. they are great and change the way arma 3 is played

MeNoLike (after 84 days 9 hours play time)

416 days ago

Breaking Point and Exile for sure

11
Velrisias (after 24 days 4 hours play time)

397 days ago

Yup would do only to many to throw on this

avatar

You

Now

How active is the Arma 3 mod scene?

11
Velrisias (after 24 days 4 hours play time)

397 days ago

How active is the sun?

Josh Sells Guns (after 1 day 19 hours play time)

819 days ago

Very active. You find an abundance of mods that add to realism and overall enjoyment, including entire revamps that change the game into Halo or Star Wars.

5
dimin69 (after 75 days 19 hours play time)

361 days ago

every month there is something new thats cool. the mod tools are hard to use tho :(

MeNoLike (after 84 days 9 hours play time)

416 days ago

very active

avatar

You

Now

Would you buy at full price or wait for a Arma 3 sale?

11
Velrisias (after 24 days 4 hours play time)

397 days ago

yes

Josh Sells Guns (after 1 day 19 hours play time)

819 days ago

Steam has sales so often, it would be a bad choice not to wait. On top of that, it goes to -50% everytime it goes on sale so it is worth the wait. In fact, it is on sale right now as of 2/7/2016.

1
Dohfugwimee (after 38 days 2 hours play time)

736 days ago

Sale always.

MeNoLike (after 84 days 9 hours play time)

416 days ago

if you compair it to other game's prices it is 110% worth the money, the amount of mods and gamemodes is great, editor, mission making, co-op, pvp, pve, you name it.

avatar

You

Now

How much freedom does Arma 3 give you?

3
gobbo (after 15 days 11 hours play time)

819 days ago

Simply put: All of it. Unless there's specific limitations to the particular mission. But if no such limitations are set, the sky's the limit!

11
Velrisias (after 24 days 4 hours play time)

397 days ago

Endless

MeNoLike (after 84 days 9 hours play time)

416 days ago

there is no limits

avatar

You

Now

Does Arma 3 respect the military?

Kilimantastic (after 20 days 21 hours play time)

750 days ago

Yes very much so.

MeNoLike (after 84 days 9 hours play time)

416 days ago

yups

11
Velrisias (after 24 days 4 hours play time)

397 days ago

Not many people know this but the arma dev team comprises out of two different branches. One is for us the gamers and the other team actually makes arma for military training simulators.

avatar

You

Now

How does Arma 3 reward teamplay?

Kilimantastic (after 20 days 21 hours play time)

750 days ago

It's almost a requirement.

MeNoLike (after 84 days 9 hours play time)

416 days ago

yes, a lot

11
Velrisias (after 24 days 4 hours play time)

397 days ago

yep

Josh Sells Guns (after 1 day 19 hours play time)

819 days ago

It's almost beneficial. Everything you do, whether it be Patrol Ops, DayZ, Battle Royale, everything is easier with a teammate. However I wouldn't say it rewards you. It is simply richer/easier than solo play. You will certainly struggle more when solo.

avatar

You

Now

How does Arma 3 run on your PC?

11
Velrisias (after 24 days 4 hours play time)

397 days ago

like butter on a hot day

5
dimin69 (after 75 days 19 hours play time)

361 days ago

well are you okay with 20 fps ?

personaly just upgraded to a i7 and now running this game with 60+ fps

Josh Sells Guns (after 1 day 19 hours play time)

819 days ago

With 8GB RAM, GTX 750Ti, and a G series Pentium, I can get around 50 frames. Most likely from the processor. I would invest in one better than I did, you will run into 0 problems whatsoever.

MeNoLike (after 84 days 9 hours play time)

416 days ago

you need a very good cpu, an ssd helps, the rest doesnt matter that much,
generally i get 40-90fps depending on the area, map and mods

avatar

You

Now

How good are the sounds in Arma 3?

MeNoLike (after 84 days 9 hours play time)

416 days ago

very good, and realistic

11
Velrisias (after 24 days 4 hours play time)

397 days ago

they record gun sounds form actual guns...

Josh Sells Guns (after 1 day 19 hours play time)

819 days ago

Honestly in my opinion, of all the things in Arma I am displeased with it is the sounds. However these are easily fixed by some mods. In future games, however, I'd like to see some revamps of the way they approach sound.

avatar

You

Now

How good are the graphics in Arma 3?

MeNoLike (after 84 days 9 hours play time)

416 days ago

good enough, considering it has a massive openworld

11
Velrisias (after 24 days 4 hours play time)

397 days ago

amazing four years ago now its normal

avatar

You

Now

What do gamers think of Arma 3 after many hours of playing

Josh Sells Guns (after 1 day 19 hours play time)

819 days ago

Very much so.

Why do gamers keep coming back to Arma 3

Kilimantastic (after 20 days 21 hours play time)

750 days ago

Good friends and hardcore ptsd causing combat.

11
Velrisias (after 24 days 4 hours play time)

397 days ago

I am in a dutch milsim unit thats fun to play with and i like to do invade and annex