Baldur’s Gate 3 gameplay will be revealed in nine days – here’s how to watch

Remember when Baldur’s Gate 3 was announced at the Google Stadia reveal event? Whether or not you’re on board for Google’s vision of the streaming future, the fact that Larian – the studio behind the incredible Divinity: Original Sin games – is making a sequel to some of the greatest RPG games of all time is cause for celebration. Now, we’re finally about to see real Baldur’s Gate 3 gameplay.

Larian will be at PAX East on Thursday, February 27 to unveil the first in-game footage of Baldur’s Gate 3 to a live audience – and the event will be streamed for viewers at home, too. The event begins at 12:00 PST / 15:00 EST / 20:00 GMT, and will be streamed on Larian’s YouTube channel. There will also be a Q&A segment for fans to ask questions.

“We’re on an adventure to make the best RPG that we’ve ever made,” director (and Larian founder) Swen Vincke says in the announcement video, “and that has required us to reinvent all of our tools, our technology, our processes, but above all – also grow our team.”

The video shows off loads of motion capture and soundtrack production, and technically includes a bit of in-game footage, too – though you’re probably not going to be satisfied with seeing blurry computer screens over the shoulders of Larian developers.

We also see a CG dragon, which I think means Larian’s licensing agreement with Wizards of the Coast is at least 50% fulfilled.

Stadia promotional material has suggested that the Baldur’s Gate 3 release date will land this year, though Larian says that’s a mistake – either way, we’ll learn more soon, and you can expect BG3 to be available on traditional PC platforms, too.