Back to Top

Borderlands 3 Steam release times revealed, and pre-loads go live March 10

best-new-games-borderlands-3

After six months of waiting for many players, Borderlands 3 is finally set to debut on Steam soon. Gearbox has just confirmed a load of details on how the new release will roll out, including info on release times and pre-loads. If you’ve been holding out for Borderlands 3 on Steam, here’s what you need to know.

Borderlands 3 will go live on Steam at 7:00 PDT / 10:00 EDT / 14:00 GMT on March 13. Pre-loads will begin on March 10 in the “early afternoon” Pacific time. You might want to clear time for that pre-load, too – Borderlands 3 will take up a hefty 75GB once installed via Steam, so you can expect a similarly sizable download.

As previously announced, you’ll get full cross-play options between Steam and Epic, though you’ll need to sign into one of Gearbox’s SHiFT accounts to make use of it. The one thing you won’t be able to do between platforms at launch is exchange items via in-game mail – that option will be added “in the near future.”

If you’re rebuying Borderlands 3 on Steam for whatever reason, you will be able to transfer your saves from Epic just fine, though that will not automatically unlock achievements in the new version.

You can get more details on the official site. Check out our guides to Borderlands 3 builds or Borderlands 3 legendary weapons if you’re diving in for the first time and looking for a leg up.

Back to Navigation