We may earn a commission when you buy through links in our articles. Learn more.

Revolution releasing all their games in one box with loads of extras to mark 25th birthday

Revolution: the 25th Anniversary Collection

Revolution: the 25th Anniversary Collection, as it’s to be known, is the adventure developer’s magnum opus – a collection of everything they’ve made over the past quarter-century in one package. It’s got all the Broken Sword games, Beneath a Steel Sky and more, as well as soundtracks, various physibles and a two hour documentary. It’s a massive collection and will be selling at the same price as a regular game.

How does Revolution do on your personal best PC games ever list?

Here’s the full list of games it will ship with come March 11th:

  • Broken Sword 1 – Shadow of the Templars
  • Broken Sword 1: Director’s Cut
  • Broken Sword 2 – the Smoking Mirror
  • Broken Sword 2: Remastered
  • Broken Sword 3 – the Sleeping Dragon
  • Broken Sword 4 – the Angel of Death
  • Broken Sword 5 – the Serpent’s Curse
  • In Cold Blood
  • Beneath a Steel Sky
  • Lure of the Temptress

That’s probably a year’s worth of gaming (if you don’t use a walkthrough). However it’s not all, there’s a big load of extras coming from the studio as detailed in this trailer for the collection:

This is part of the “interactive timeline” that will document 25 years of game development at the studio, with lots of behind-the-scenes footage, assets and information. The main focus of that is a movie, split into six episodes, covering the entire history of Revolution and its games.

If that’s not enough, there’s also this stack of collectible items included:

  • Comic Compendium for Broken Sword 1, 2 and 5 by Dave Gibbons and Angus
  • Beneath a Steel Sky Comic by Dave Gibbons
  • 4 double-sided Posters
  • Broken Sword USB Stick with the Soundtrack of all games (soundtrack also included on DVD)
  • Audio CD with selected tracks of all Soundtracks

Revolution have never been one of the studios I followed religiously, but this seems like a ludicrously good deal at£29.99 / €39.99, even if it was just the games. You’d normally be charged extra for the collector’s edition-style addons. It’s out on the 11th of March, though there’s no details yet on where you’ll be able to get it. Fans in the USA might be out of luck, as a release there isn’t currently planned.