Chivalry: Medieval Warfare Review

How good an FPS is Chivalry: Medieval Warfare?

1388
Dog Pants (after 2 days 3 hours play time)

862 days ago

Ah, good? Well the melee combat is the best I've seen in a first person game. Had Skyrim used Chiv's system it would have been fantastic. It's tactile and versatile, easy to pick up, and able to cater to individual skill. The maps and modes are serviceable, there's no single player campaign. So I'd struggle to hold it up against Battlefield 2 or Half Life as a paragon of the genre, but It's good at what it sets out to do.

avatar

You

Now

How balanced are the classes in Chivalry: Medieval Warfare?

1388
Dog Pants (after 2 days 3 hours play time)

862 days ago

I can't confess to being very good at Chivalry, so I may not be best placed to comment on this, but I don't see any one class dominating games so I assume the balancing is fine. The nuances of any particular class pale in comparison to individual player skill.

avatar

You

Now

How does Chivalry: Medieval Warfare make you feel powerful?

1388
Dog Pants (after 2 days 3 hours play time)

862 days ago

In a manner of speaking. Swinging a bearded axe or maul at an opponent is convincing, as is the impact of them on your opponents. Hacking down an enemy feels empowering and gratifying. The same works in reverse though, and attempting to parry a huge zweihander sword with a hand axe is a short lesson in futility.

avatar

You

Now

Does Chivalry: Medieval Warfare feel grindy?

1388
Dog Pants (after 2 days 3 hours play time)

862 days ago

There's an unlock system to Chivalry which provides a gradual trickle of new weapons, but I've barely noticed it personally. Many feel very similar, and they unlock just by virtue of using their predecessor.

avatar

You

Now

How realistic is Chivalry: Medieval Warfare?

1388
Dog Pants (after 2 days 3 hours play time)

862 days ago

I have little basis for comparison on how realistic Chiv is, save for some LARP as a teenager, but it certainly feels convincing. Each melee weapon has five different attacks, as well as a parry, which can be chained together if you're more skillful than I am. In the hands of a talented player their weapon becomes a whirling instrument of steely death, in mine they're usually just sharp things to poke people with.

avatar

You

Now

Just how violent is Chivalry: Medieval Warfare?

1388
Dog Pants (after 2 days 3 hours play time)

862 days ago

So violent. The game's pivotal mechanic is that you beat each other with variously sized pieces of metal, and they have taken reasonable pains to ensure that the effects of that on the human body are modelled.

avatar

You

Now

How gory is Chivalry: Medieval Warfare?

1388
Dog Pants (after 2 days 3 hours play time)

862 days ago

As violent as Chivalry is, I see it as more slapstick than gory. Sure, people's limbs and heads come off with gleeful abandon, leaving bones and nerves jutting from the stumps, but the modelling is fairly basic and the blood is more Dawn of the Dead than Saw.

avatar

You

Now

How does Chivalry: Medieval Warfare reward teamplay?

1388
Dog Pants (after 2 days 3 hours play time)

862 days ago

Many of the game maps are objective based, and teamwork really is important to achieving victory. Even in combat it helps to have someone covering your back lest an opponent charges in and hacks you down while you duel.

avatar

You

Now

Would you buy at full price or wait for a Chivalry: Medieval Warfare sale?

1388
Dog Pants (after 2 days 3 hours play time)

862 days ago

Chivalry has been out for a long time now, and it crops up for a couple of quid every Steam sale. It's at the stage in its life where the servers are populated by hardcore players who have been practicing for years. So I would recomment waiting for a sale, getting a group of friends, and picking it up cheap en masse for a level playing field and good humour.

avatar

You

Now

How good are the graphics in Chivalry: Medieval Warfare?

1388
Dog Pants (after 2 days 3 hours play time)

862 days ago

The graphics are functional. Nothing amazing by modern standards, probably not when they were released either, but they don't distract from the entertainment.

avatar

You

Now

How good are the sounds in Chivalry: Medieval Warfare?

1388
Dog Pants (after 2 days 3 hours play time)

862 days ago

The sound is surprisingly a strong point in Chiv. It could so easily have merely been clashing swords and cries of pain, and of course there is that, but there's a wondrful attention to detail elsewhere. Chivalry is the only game I can remember that has a button dedicated to screaming, for example. A player will be aware of a ballista bolt narrowly missing them by the 'zhup' it makes. In Crypt moden the AI hordes quip and make awful puns.

avatar

You

Now

How does Chivalry: Medieval Warfare run on your PC?

1388
Dog Pants (after 2 days 3 hours play time)

862 days ago

As I would expect from a game which is probably five years old, Chivalry runs without a judder on my modest gaming machine.

avatar

You

Now

What do gamers think of Chivalry: Medieval Warfare after many hours of playing

1388
Dog Pants (after 2 days 3 hours play time)

862 days ago

Fun is what Chivalry is all about. Taken seriously it wouldn't be nearly as entertaining, but approach it as a playground for having fun with swords and it doesn't disappoint.

Why do gamers keep coming back to Chivalry: Medieval Warfare

1388
Dog Pants (after 2 days 3 hours play time)

862 days ago

Personally the biggest appeal of Chiv is playing with friends, exploring the unusual and hilarious mods and custom modes. Not that vanilla isn't fun, but add a low gravity mutator, or the Black Knight mod that lets you fight on without limbs (or head, for a little while) and it takes on a hilarious slapstick aspect. Alternatively the co-op Crypt mode, an official horde map released last Hallowe'en, has proven to be so popular that it can be a struggle to find a server.

Dishonored 2 Review
Dishonored 2 Review

avataravataravataravataravatar

5 reviewers answered 7 questions