Cities: Skylines Review

How realistic is Cities: Skylines?

959
Fraser Brown (after 1 day 9 hours play time)

938 days ago

It's one of the most realistic city-builders. Roads, traffic and people are all fairly well simulated, and the aesthetic is -- while clean and a little toy-boxy -- less cartoony than SimCity.

37
Moose Hugger (after 15 hours play time)

741 days ago

As far as I can tell, very realistic. But I am not city planner. It looks more realistic, and the addition of night time adds a nice element to the game. I think weather would add a lot. It is worth noting, that the game goes a long way towards basing mechanics off of real life, rather than striving for creating real life.

29
Oakshios (after 9 days 7 hours play time)

668 days ago

Grew up on the SimCity and Pharaoh games. I find it to be what SimCity 5 should have been. Has some issues "out of box", keeping me from giving it a 5. However, mods can/do fix most of them. Did I say mods?!

jamesyboi87 (after 5 days 5 hours play time)

559 days ago

I think it's very realistic actually. Maybe they should include snowfall for all maps once you buy the DLC though cause it's weird that you only get snowfall on a winter map I think.

2
Ulli (after 3 days 21 hours play time)

553 days ago

Not much. Traffic (cars) shows some very strange behaviour (because of the dumb A.I.), ships do very strange things too and planes... never mention the planes! But the game is fun.

avatar

You

Now

Is it hard to build functional towns and cities in Cities: Skylines?

959
Fraser Brown (after 1 day 9 hours play time)

938 days ago

As cities expand, it does become challenging. There's a lot to juggle, and complex transport networks constantly need to be tweaked to make sure everything is able to flow through the arteries of the city. But it's not so hard that it's frustrating.

37
Moose Hugger (after 15 hours play time)

741 days ago

Not really. just don't forget to connect all your roads, keep the power and water running, and little cims will start popping up. A good town is harder to build, requires planning. But you can get a town going pretty easily.

avatar

You

Now

What kind of decisions does Cities: Skylines ask you to make?

37
Moose Hugger (after 15 hours play time)

741 days ago

Do I build a fancy road now, or do I wait and upgrade it later.

avatar

You

Now

How open is Cities: Skylines to explore?

37
Moose Hugger (after 15 hours play time)

741 days ago

You can get very close to your city, with a mod you can even walk around it. Its pretty great.

avatar

You

Now

How much freedom does Cities: Skylines give you?

37
Moose Hugger (after 15 hours play time)

741 days ago

A lot of freedom, but I feel it does suffer a bit from lack of direction. There are goals for growing you city, but I often find myself wishing there was just a little bit more to reach for. Mods might come in handy here, which speaks to the freedom to build your own experience.

As far as city builders go, it offers the most freedom and customization.

959
Fraser Brown (after 1 day 9 hours play time)

937 days ago

You can build agrarian utopias, massive mega cities, industrial powerhouses, and dabble with countless mods. There's a lot of freedom.

avatar

You

Now

Will Cities: Skylines be keeping you up at night?

37
Moose Hugger (after 15 hours play time)

741 days ago

It does. I only have 15 hours played I guess, but I am sure I've spent more than that. Much of that spent watching the sun rise.

avatar

You

Now

Would you recommend Cities: Skylines to children? Why?

37
Moose Hugger (after 15 hours play time)

741 days ago

Probably not a young child, a 10 year old could probably pick it up though. It is a little difficult. The unlimited money mode might be fun for a kid though.

avatar

You

Now

How hard is it to make money in Cities: Skylines?

959
Fraser Brown (after 1 day 9 hours play time)

937 days ago

It's easy to make money, and it's easy to lose it. Money can be made from adding new residential, commercial and industrial zones, but all these zones put more strain on services, necessitating the construction of more, which increases expenses. It's all about balancing the books.

avatar

You

Now

How funny is Cities: Skylines?

37
Moose Hugger (after 15 hours play time)

741 days ago

The twitter bird thing is kind of funny. Usually more annoying than anything though. The game doesn't have the Sims sarcastic wit infused in the game. Its strictly a city builder. The game is certainly fun, but not purposefully funny.

avatar

You

Now

How active is the Cities: Skylines mod scene?

37
Moose Hugger (after 15 hours play time)

741 days ago

Pretty good, especially if you enjoy graphics mods. However, there are not many mods that change game play dramatically. Which is understandable, it would be a big project for a modder. The game is still new, so perhaps we will start seeing some of the sweeping mods down the road, like you find for games like Skyrim which have absolutely amazing modding communities.

959
Fraser Brown (after 1 day 9 hours play time)

938 days ago

Incredibly active. In its first day over 2,000 mods were added to the Steam Workshop. Now there are over 16,000.

avatar

You

Now

Would you buy at full price or wait for a Cities: Skylines sale?

959
Fraser Brown (after 1 day 9 hours play time)

938 days ago

It's already worth the money, and with all the mods and the promise of free content updates, that's going to continue.

37
Moose Hugger (after 15 hours play time)

741 days ago

If you are unsure about city builders, wait. It is a city builder through and through, which is great! If you love city builders, and need need need need a replacement for sim city, get it now.

avatar

You

Now

Would you recommend any good Cities: Skylines mods?

959
Fraser Brown (after 1 day 9 hours play time)

938 days ago

Here's a list of some good ones from the first week: http://www.pcgamesn.com/cities-skylines/the-best-cities-skylines-mods

avatar

You

Now

How does Cities: Skylines run on your PC?

959
Fraser Brown (after 1 day 9 hours play time)

937 days ago

Extremely well. With nine plots unlocked and a huge, sprawling city, some frames can be lost, but it's struck me as well-optimised. Tested on 2 different rigs, with an i5-3570K + GTX 670/GTX 970.

37
Moose Hugger (after 15 hours play time)

741 days ago

My rig is close to 10 years old and it runs very well.

avatar

You

Now

How good are the graphics in Cities: Skylines?

959
Fraser Brown (after 1 day 9 hours play time)

937 days ago

It's so colourful and vibrant that even the pollution has a pleasing purple glow. If only there were some decent AA options.

avatar

You

Now

How good are the sounds in Cities: Skylines?

959
Fraser Brown (after 1 day 9 hours play time)

937 days ago

It's pleasant, but fades into the background when there are budgets to fiddle with and new zones to build. I tend to listen to my own music though.

avatar

You

Now

What do gamers think of Cities: Skylines after many hours of playing

959
Fraser Brown (after 1 day 9 hours play time)

938 days ago

Building a city is serious business, but yes, it can also be a lot of fun.

37
Moose Hugger (after 15 hours play time)

741 days ago

yep

Dishonored 2 Review
Dishonored 2 Review

avataravataravataravataravatar

5 reviewers answered 7 questions