DiRT Rally Review

Do vehicles in DiRT Rally handle realistically?

69

485 days ago

I've never driven a rally car, so I wouldn't know. What I do know is that they handle believably, presenting enough of a challenge for my brain to go "yep, that's probably what would happen if you did that."

avatar

201 days ago

GVJMRFN

144
jon_hill987 (after 6 hours play time)

444 days ago

I can't comment myself so I will just leave this here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5xw8DJY7aZQ
Former Australian Junior National Rally Champion Will Orders driving the Bidno Moorland stage in DiRT Rally.

avatar

28 days ago

please downloa link share

avatar

You

Now

Is DiRT Rally faithful to the sport?

avatar

295 days ago

not really

144
jon_hill987 (after 6 hours play time)

444 days ago

Pretty good, there are some "anti-frustration" features like being able to restart the stage (something Sebastian Loeb did not have the luxury of) but you can ignore these. Damage seems quite toned down I have had some crashes that did little more than lose me time as I reversed out of the ditch that I am sure would have resulted in a DNF in real life but if it wasn't for that the game would be too hard for anyone but the most serious of players. I think it strikes a good balance between simulation and being playable.

avatar

201 days ago

DRGT3SE

avatar

You

Now

How muddy does DiRT Rally get?

144
jon_hill987 (after 6 hours play time)

444 days ago

Wales! Wales is all about the mud. For fans of snow there is Sweden, Gravel fans can head to Finland or Greece and if you like a more standard road surface Germany has you covered. Finally, for those of you that like driving on sheets of ice with patches of tarmac, you can head to Monte Carlo

69

485 days ago

Track surfaces vary quite a bit, and you get a good feel for their different properties through your pad or wheel. If you want mud, head to Wales. Monaco and Germany cater for the tarmac enthusiast, Sweden for snow and Finland for dusty gravel. I'd have liked to see the cars caked in more mud after a wet stage on a loose surface, but it's a minor point.

avatar

295 days ago

it dose not get that muddy but its mostly gravley

avatar

You

Now

How fun are the vehicles to control in DiRT Rally?

69

485 days ago

Just the most fun. It's a really demanding handling model, but the most convincing rally physics since Richard Burns Rally - which was getting a bit long in the tooth now, despite the community's best efforts to keep modding it into relevance. After a few hours - and it does take hours - you'll feel more like you're dancing with the car than driving it. The courses require such pinpoint control and spacial awareness, and each of the cars yield to your will in different ways depending on whether they're FWD, 4WD or RWD, long wheelbase or short, NA or turbo, etc. The handling really is the best part of the game, and it's good enough to warrant the purchase alone.

144
jon_hill987 (after 6 hours play time)

444 days ago

Six hours in and I have only got the Cooper unlocked so I can't speak for the other cars. I can say that you do get a good sense of speed and of being behind the wheel of a vehicle. Fun is very subjective, but if you find being on the very edge of control to be fun then you will find it here.

avatar

295 days ago

they are esay to control and the game needs to be cinda betta cus of how esay it is but i like the grafics

avatar

You

Now

Would you buy at full price or wait for a DiRT Rally sale?

144
jon_hill987 (after 6 hours play time)

444 days ago

Buy now. There has not been a Rally game this good in a long time so if you are a fan of them this one is a must.

avatar

295 days ago

no i would not wast my money

avatar

You

Now

Should you buy DiRT Rally now or wait for it to come out of Early Access?

144
jon_hill987 (after 6 hours play time)

444 days ago

It is now out of early access, though there is a large update planned when the console port is released in April. There is plenty of content for now, they have 5 of the 14 locations of this years WRC Schedule, and Greece (which is not being run this year). Not sure what is planned for the future, I guess it will depend on the console sales. Either way there are a good range of different locations and cars already, and while it would be nice if they added another 9 events most of them will be on surfaces already covered.

avatar

You

Now

How good are the graphics in DiRT Rally?

144
jon_hill987 (after 6 hours play time)

444 days ago

Probably not the prettiest racing game out there, if you slow down or take screenshots you might notice that some things don't have all the detail they might, but nothing you notice while going sideways through the Welsh countryside at 60+ MPH and to be fair the same can be said for most racing games.

avatar

You

Now

How does DiRT Rally run on your PC?

144
jon_hill987 (after 6 hours play time)

444 days ago

Fine, getting at least 60fps at all times, however I do have a 980Ti, even if it is paired with an older i5 so your mileage may vary.

avatar

You

Now
Dishonored 2 Review
Dishonored 2 Review

avataravataravataravataravatar

5 reviewers answered 7 questions