Doom Review

Just how violent is Doom?

74
NathSB (after 7 hours play time)

564 days ago

Very, though it never feels out of place or gratuitous.

21
Dimuscul (after 1 day 9 hours play time)

508 days ago

Nice game with a nice pace of combat, it feels rewarding.

Armoured Bard i5 (after 5 hours play time)

469 days ago

DOOM is an awesome addition to the 'Doom' franchise. Fast, bloody and nerve-racking. I was nervous at first, but became comfortable kicking demon ass near the end of my demonic adventure. But sadly it's not as fast-paced or bloody as Bulletstorm even though I feel it follows the same idea of go to one area, clear out the baddies and move onto the next. If you love the idea of playing the dirty demon-bashing-baby of the father-of-games, get it! In the end I'm loving my time with DOOM so far and will probably play it for a long time but really it ain't really nothing new.

21
Jett_Blackk (after 21 hours play time)

557 days ago

oh dem guts.....

94
Psycold (after 1 day 9 hours play time)

550 days ago

It's violent, but gorehounds might feel it doesn't go far enough.

avatar

265 days ago

verymats and i liket

2
Catlas Se7en (after 10 hours play time)

259 days ago

Just how ugly is a blobfish?

avatar

You

Now

Does the setting of Doom feel original?

74
NathSB (after 7 hours play time)

564 days ago

You are the Doom Marine, and you are angry. There are demons to kill on Mars. You kill all the demons.

The story is mostly just window dressing to vaguely justify your murderous rampage, though it's more entertainingly ridiculous than outright terrible.

21
Jett_Blackk (after 21 hours play time)

557 days ago

Perfect translation of the original DOOMs setting, while feeling new and original at the same time.

21
Dimuscul (after 1 day 9 hours play time)

508 days ago

It's doom, but the twist about the character per se is pretty cool.

2
Catlas Se7en (after 10 hours play time)

259 days ago

It's DOOM. Name another game with an angry Satan killer on Mars fighting hell spawns.

avatar

You

Now

How good an FPS is Doom?

74
NathSB (after 7 hours play time)

564 days ago

It's frantic and gory, with a good selection of memorable, highly destructive weapons. Enemy types are varied, and all need to be handled in different ways, though your tactics emerge and change depending on what mix of enemies the game throws at you. Movement happens at blistering speeds, compared to contemporary shooters, and you really need to stay mobile to survive.

All in all, it's a glorious throwback to the "old-skool" FPS, and more importantly: once the nostalgia starts to fade, it's still a highly compelling experience.

21
Jett_Blackk (after 21 hours play time)

557 days ago

As a shooter its amazing, as a platformer(which you'll be doing alot)its just ok, with problems getting stuck on objects, and even falling through the map on one occasion.....

21
Dimuscul (after 1 day 9 hours play time)

508 days ago

Single player it's quite glorious, multiplayer its more mediocre.

2
Catlas Se7en (after 10 hours play time)

259 days ago

Amazing.

avatar

You

Now

How much fun are the weapons in Doom?

2
Catlas Se7en (after 10 hours play time)

259 days ago

Best guns in any game. Ever.

avatar

You

Now

Would you buy at full price or wait for a Doom sale?

21
Jett_Blackk (after 21 hours play time)

557 days ago

Since the multiplayer is just OK, its up to you if you think the campaign is worth the price of admission. But if you pay around $40 on G2A or the like, id say YES!

74
NathSB (after 7 hours play time)

564 days ago

Full price has definitely been worth it for me, and I haven't touched multiplayer or SnapMap.

2
Catlas Se7en (after 10 hours play time)

259 days ago

Full price.

avatar

You

Now

How good are the graphics in Doom?

2
Catlas Se7en (after 10 hours play time)

259 days ago

Imagine Mars. Then put demons on it. Throw in a touch of Super Duck Punch.

94
Psycold (after 1 day 9 hours play time)

550 days ago

Pretty incredible considering how well optimized the engine is.

74
NathSB (after 7 hours play time)

564 days ago

Very pretty. The adaptive textures are impressive, even if they can be a tad slow in loading/updating on my PC.

The gore is heavy, but doesn't feel gratuitous. Even Glory Kills are over so fast you only get a fleeting glimpse of the violence.

avatar

You

Now

How does Doom run on your PC?

74
NathSB (after 7 hours play time)

564 days ago

I have not touched a setting beyond Vertical Sync since I bought the game, and it runs smoothly and looks great. Haven't had a single case of noticeable FPS drops, even during the most intense fights.

21
Jett_Blackk (after 21 hours play time)

557 days ago

A GTX 980 ran this baby on Ultra at 1080p absolutely flawlessly!

2
Catlas Se7en (after 10 hours play time)

259 days ago

180+FPS on Ultra

avatar

You

Now

How active is the multiplayer community for Doom?

21
Jett_Blackk (after 21 hours play time)

557 days ago

meh, multi is the weakest part of the DOOM package...

2
Catlas Se7en (after 10 hours play time)

259 days ago

Meh. Haven't touched it.

avatar

You

Now

How good are the sounds in Doom?

74
NathSB (after 7 hours play time)

564 days ago

Exceptional. The soundtrack (both sounds and music) really drive the action into overdrive.

2
Catlas Se7en (after 10 hours play time)

259 days ago

One word. E1M1.

avatar

You

Now

What do gamers think of Doom after many hours of playing

21
Jett_Blackk (after 21 hours play time)

557 days ago

The most fun I've had playing a shooter since....well...the original DOOM.....

2
Catlas Se7en (after 10 hours play time)

259 days ago

Most fun I've had in a shooter since, well, ever.

Dishonored 2 Review
Dishonored 2 Review

avataravataravataravataravatar

5 reviewers answered 7 questions