Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen Review | PCGamesN

Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen Review

How long is Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen? Would you stick with it through to the end?

56
El Burrito (after 1 day 19 hours play time)

768 days ago

It's as long as you want it to be. A lot of the main quest is skippable. There is side content called Bitterblack Isle which is meant for high levels, but if you know what you're doing then it's tackleable from the beginning.

The game features a new game plus, where you can carry over your save to a new game, but the structure of the game is unaffected so you will be very powerful. It's good for playing as a vocation you didn't touch to begin with.

32
Turrican (after 1 hour play time)

642 days ago

I finally sat and sank about 5 hours into this last night. Wow. What a pleasant and awesome surprise. I only played it so I could safely remove it from my games list but now it will have to join Skyrim, Dark Souls and Witcher as first person RPGs to revisit time and again. It may be better than any of them also.

675
TsunamiWombat (after 2 days 6 hours play time)

762 days ago

Depends how much time you want to stick into it. I'm level 70 and still haven't finished it from doing everything/hunting for materials, but i'm getting there. 20-50 hours at least.

smokes (after 1 day 8 hours play time)

636 days ago

The game can vary from around 5 to infinite hours of amazing game-play and brilliant replay-ability. I stuck through to the end at least three times and I'm not done yet! The only problem I had was how long it took to get around, but that can be fixed by placing special stones around the world and using fairystones to teleport to them. I personally own it on the Xbox 360 but I'm sure the PC version is even better.

avatar

You

Now

How much flexibility do you have in Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen to choose your party?

56
El Burrito (after 1 day 19 hours play time)

768 days ago

A lot. As long as you are connected online, you can choose two pawns from the rift, which were created by other players. You create your own pawn at the beginning of the game who as customisable as you are, able to select for 6 vocations (can't have the hybrid vocations), all gear you come across and fit them with the skills you choose.

On top of that, pawns have an inclination system, which affects their behaviour allowing you to influence how they act in battle.

smokes (after 1 day 8 hours play time)

636 days ago

There are a great deal of player made pawns availabe to choose from who have their own skills and vocations. Not to mention your own fully-customize-able pawn you get in the first hour of the game..

675
TsunamiWombat (after 2 days 6 hours play time)

762 days ago

Designing a party out of pawns is pretty much one of the main points of the game. You completely define the party. Be sure to look up a guide as the game has some balance issues with pawn inclinations.

avatar

You

Now

How do battles in Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen work?

675
TsunamiWombat (after 2 days 6 hours play time)

762 days ago

real time action with an emphasis on spectacle. Was made by the Devil May Cry people.

smokes (after 1 day 8 hours play time)

636 days ago

For smaller enemies it feels like a normal hack and slash game with some pretty awesome skills to back it up. But when you come face to face with a larger creature, thats when it really gets fun! You can grab onto the eneyme and scale their massive bodies, but you have to be careful not to run out of stamina or you will fall off and be immobilized for a few seconds.

56
El Burrito (after 1 day 19 hours play time)

768 days ago

Depending on the vocation you're playing and the enemies you're fighting, it's going to be either climbing on enemies and attacking their weak points, using your core skills and abilities. Combat is in real time and fast paced.

avatar

You

Now

Is Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen grindy?

56
El Burrito (after 1 day 19 hours play time)

768 days ago

It can be if you want it to be. It's entirely possible to play through the game and not care about gear. Some enemies also have a lot of health and if you try to fight them while underlevelled/undergeared it can feel grindy as you chip away at long health bars.

The feeling subsides eventually in my opinion, but once you get to the end game, grinding for the best gear is one way to play. Alternatively, you can play Fashion's Dogma, where you simply try to make your character look good/fashionable (quite a challenge).

675
TsunamiWombat (after 2 days 6 hours play time)

762 days ago

Not in the slightest, unless you want it to be.

smokes (after 1 day 8 hours play time)

636 days ago

Not for the most part. Questing and killing is really fun and it doesn't feel like you are doing the same thing over and over again.I mean if you want that really good weapon but you're flat broke, you will have to either go dangerous monster hunting or do some quests.

avatar

You

Now

Does Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen allow for a good range of character builds?

675
TsunamiWombat (after 2 days 6 hours play time)

762 days ago

You have complete freedom in how you build your character, with 9 different classes with different stat growths, and each also comes with 'augment' skills that can be applied to your character regardless of your current class.

smokes (after 1 day 8 hours play time)

636 days ago

Amazingly so! There are a total of nine vocations to choose from which all have at least 10 skills to choose from not to mention augments. Most of the classes even have more than one weapon you can use so you can mix and match your weapons to have a more diverse attack.The vocation you have selected when you gain a level will affect your stat gain and overall your strengths and weaknesses.

56
El Burrito (after 1 day 19 hours play time)

768 days ago

Yes. There are 9 vocations which you can switch between whenever you visit most inns. Each vocation has a good range of skills that are mostly good, while some are situational.

Stats rise as you level, but they rise in accordance with the vocation being played, so you can influence your stat growth by playing certain vocations.

avatar

You

Now

How fair are loot drops in Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen?

smokes (after 1 day 8 hours play time)

636 days ago

While it is kinda hard to find really good stuff, you mostly feel like you ared getting something good no matter what you get. It really sucks trying to get a specific item though. :(

56
El Burrito (after 1 day 19 hours play time)

768 days ago

The possible loot from areas and monsters is fixed, but what you are given is randomised and some high level loot has fairly small chances of dropping (2-1%).

Generally you can get what you want with perseverance.

675
TsunamiWombat (after 2 days 6 hours play time)

762 days ago

Some of the high level drop percentages are admittedly bullshit

avatar

You

Now

How open is Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen to explore?

56
El Burrito (after 1 day 19 hours play time)

768 days ago

Gransys (the name of the country) is fairly large and most of it is available to explore from the beginning of the game. Some areas are locked behind quests, but once unlocked with stay open.

675
TsunamiWombat (after 2 days 6 hours play time)

762 days ago

DD is what i'd call an open corridor game, the map is open world and has a lot of broad interconnected area's you can explore mostly at any time.

smokes (after 1 day 8 hours play time)

636 days ago

The outside is fairly large(it could be larger and more full) but you are mostly restricted to limited areas when in the important areas.(dungeons, forests, cities, etc.)

avatar

You

Now

Did Capcom do a good job on the dragons in Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen?

56
El Burrito (after 1 day 19 hours play time)

768 days ago

Yes

675
TsunamiWombat (after 2 days 6 hours play time)

762 days ago

Yes. The best depiction of Dragons in videogames. Eat it Skyrim.

smokes (after 1 day 8 hours play time)

636 days ago

They did wonderful! The combat is great the atmosphere is really perfect and the overall polish on the game is astounding. I am really hoping for a Dragon's Dogma 2 or continuation...

avatar

You

Now

Does magic in Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen feel powerful?

smokes (after 1 day 8 hours play time)

636 days ago

It does very much so.You can make tornados and call down meteors to crush your foes.

56
El Burrito (after 1 day 19 hours play time)

768 days ago

Yes

675
TsunamiWombat (after 2 days 6 hours play time)

762 days ago

Oh god yes, just look up some video's. Blows the hell out of every other magic system.

avatar

You

Now

How good is the Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen story?

56
El Burrito (after 1 day 19 hours play time)

768 days ago

Absolutely terrible. It sounds interesting if you explain it to someone, but when you're playing the game it's just flat and nonsensical.

675
TsunamiWombat (after 2 days 6 hours play time)

762 days ago

Hit or Miss. For the first 3/4ths of the game a pretty straight forward and bland tale, until you hit the end and then shit gets deep and weird.

smokes (after 1 day 8 hours play time)

636 days ago

The story I will admit is kind of lacking. It is cool to look at but the story, well...

avatar

You

Now

How active is the multiplayer community for Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen?

smokes (after 1 day 8 hours play time)

636 days ago

N/A

56
El Burrito (after 1 day 19 hours play time)

768 days ago

Currently it is very active since it has only just been released. I would recommend the communities on reddit and the steam forum. It is actively being modded and people are still killing the Ur-Dragon (an asynchronous online battle) and trading pawns and gear through the rift.

675
TsunamiWombat (after 2 days 6 hours play time)

762 days ago

Very active right now

avatar

You

Now

Would you buy at full price or wait for a Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen sale?

56
El Burrito (after 1 day 19 hours play time)

768 days ago

I would buy at full price. I believe the game is at a fair price for what you get and is a superior version to the consoles, as the letter-boxing has been removed and the frame rate is basically uncapped (technically capped at 150 FPS).

675
TsunamiWombat (after 2 days 6 hours play time)

762 days ago

Full price

smokes (after 1 day 8 hours play time)

636 days ago

Full price is definitely worth it!

avatar

You

Now

How good are the graphics in Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen?

smokes (after 1 day 8 hours play time)

636 days ago

They are pretty good but with room for improvement.

56
El Burrito (after 1 day 19 hours play time)

768 days ago

Fair. Considering the game was released in 2012 and hasn't had an explicit texture update, it is dated, but features nice lighting.

Being on PC, I feel it's inevitable that eventually texture mods will come and make the game look better. There are also ENBs available which can change the look and mood of the game.

675
TsunamiWombat (after 2 days 6 hours play time)

762 days ago

Fairly aged but the vista's look nice and the 60 fps feel so good I can't even describe it to you.

avatar

You

Now

How good are the sounds in Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen?

675
TsunamiWombat (after 2 days 6 hours play time)

762 days ago

Very good sound design

56
El Burrito (after 1 day 19 hours play time)

768 days ago

Very nice. Hit sounds are very meaty and it feels satisfying when you are hitting creatures in their weak spot. The warriors weapons sound heavy and as if they were vibrating through the air from such power. The battle music should get you pumped up while you are in an epic battle.

The pawns can get very annoying, but it's possible to turn off their speech.

smokes (after 1 day 8 hours play time)

636 days ago

I personally love the sounds in this game.

avatar

You

Now

How does Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen run on your PC?

675
TsunamiWombat (after 2 days 6 hours play time)

762 days ago

It runs extremely well on my admittedly, overspec'd PC. It's a PS3 game and a very solid port so it should run well on a wide variety of systems

smokes (after 1 day 8 hours play time)

636 days ago

N/A

56
El Burrito (after 1 day 19 hours play time)

768 days ago

It runs very well, as it should. I have a beefy PC (GTX 980, 16GB RAM, 3.4GHz i7) and the game was made for last gen consoles. It get a solid 144 fps on my 144hz monitor most of the time. However I've noticed that in the large open areas outside of Gran Soren, my FPS will drop to 60 fps. I can only imagine what this does to a computer than can normally only run the game at 60 fps.

avatar

You

Now

What do gamers think of Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen after many hours of playing

56
El Burrito (after 1 day 19 hours play time)

768 days ago

Yes, although since I've also played it a lot on console, I may have burned myself out by playing a bit too much at once.

Why do gamers keep coming back to Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen

675
TsunamiWombat (after 2 days 6 hours play time)

762 days ago

I haven't completed it yet, for one. I need to go through the Bitterblack Island content, and then finish the main storyline. Then I'll do a NG+ to play the magic classes, which I didn't get around to this time.