Endless Legend Review

Is Endless Legend scary?

chaoticaly_x (after 2 days 3 hours play time)

453 days ago

No

192
Silentius (after 2 days 12 hours play time)

696 days ago

What a funny question to ask... No, I wouldn't say so. Certainly there are elements of apprehension i.e. when you are exploring the map and don't know what you're going to find, but scary... I wouldn't go that far.

113
The Great Gratzby (after 22 hours play time)

667 days ago

Do not play this game if triggered by hexagons.

avatar

You

Now

Does the setting of Endless Legend feel original?

113
The Great Gratzby (after 22 hours play time)

667 days ago

EL has a creativity and confidence in its own setting that remains rare. The outlandish flourishes of the world and the factions which populate it are greater than the sum of their parts, and its easy to feel drawn into Auriga's sense of place.

192
Silentius (after 2 days 12 hours play time)

696 days ago

It does. Don't get me wrong, there are some familiar fantasy tropes in there (Dragon people/Sorcerers/Nature loving druidy types) , but it seems to me that Amplitude have bent over backwards to make Auriga (the game-world) feel fresh and new.

avatar

You

Now

How imaginative is the Endless Legend lore?

192
Silentius (after 2 days 12 hours play time)

696 days ago

It's pretty imaginative! Although it's not what we've come to expect from such a setting, the game plays out in what is, to all intents and purposes, a post-apocalyptic environment. At the beginning of the game, the world of Auriga has seen its golden age come and go and the playable races are each searching for a way to recapture lost glories. The game doesn't spend vast amounts of time in exposition. Instead, Auriga's lore, as well as the lore of its peoples, is revealed organically as the game progresses.

avatar

You

Now

How well does Endless Legend let you develop your character?

192
Silentius (after 2 days 12 hours play time)

696 days ago

There's no character (singular) to develop. The game does, however, have hero units which can be developed through tripartite skill trees... this means that you can focus on adapting specific heroes to specific tasks.

avatar

You

Now

How complex is Endless Legend to learn?

192
Silentius (after 2 days 12 hours play time)

696 days ago

The learning curve for Endless Legend is relatively shallow compared to other 4X strategy games. Sure, there's a lot to learn, but the game does a good job of teaching you everything you need to know as you progress.

avatar

You

Now

How active is the multiplayer community for Endless Legend?

192
Silentius (after 2 days 12 hours play time)

696 days ago

I don't know. I've never played multiplayer.

avatar

You

Now

Would you buy at full price or wait for a Endless Legend sale?

192
Silentius (after 2 days 12 hours play time)

696 days ago

I bought it in a sale, though I could easily recommend paying full price for it.

avatar

You

Now

How good are the sounds in Endless Legend?

113
The Great Gratzby (after 22 hours play time)

667 days ago

The dominant sound in the game is its music, which deserves special mention. It's beautiful, immersive and appropriate. Definitely one of my favorite game soundtracks. You can hear the whole thing for yourself at https://gameaudiofactory.bandcamp.com/album/endless-legend-soundtrack

avatar

You

Now

How good are the graphics in Endless Legend?

chaoticaly_x (after 2 days 3 hours play time)

437 days ago

The art direction and overall thematic visual coherence is incredible, with my own personal gameplay experience consisting of moments of just zooming in and out to admire the lovingly crafted landscapes and intricate details in the buildings and geographical features and anomalies.

That said though, the graphics are not technically outstanding, in the vein of say, Witcher 3 (nowhere near). It is a very beautiful game nonetheless.

avatar

You

Now
Dishonored 2 Review
Dishonored 2 Review

avataravataravataravataravatar

5 reviewers answered 7 questions