Far Cry 4 Review

How much fun are the weapons in Far Cry 4?

168

971 days ago

Glorious. When tackling outposts or assassination missions with crossbow and knife, the game can become a puzzle of player positioning, enemy patrol paths and perfect timing. Once spotted, it's arguably even better - a vision of combat as controlled chaos, thanks to a plethora of explosives, fire propagation, and some extra-wild animals.

There's an RPG's worth of weaponry on offer too, so you can customise your armoury to match you playstyle. Is it even worth carrying an assault rifle, for instance, if you can have a shotgun you can fire from your ride instead? I knew I'd made the right decision after drive-bying an eagle from my chopper.

3

198 days ago

There are many weapons, most of them different enough to be interesting. The gun play is solid, as it should be expected in a shooter of this caliber.

avatar

174 days ago

Here's my honest 3 month late review of Far Cry 4 @ http://www.thelategamer.com/video-game-review/pc/late-far-cry-4-review/

avatar

You

Now

How open is Far Cry 4 to explore?

168

971 days ago

Kyrat is split into two, with its southern portion completely open for the first half of the game, and the northern region opened up thereafter. Beyond that, however, there's no stipulation that you play the story campaign at all - every inch of the map is free to visit (though the higher Himalayan mountains are, perhaps understandably, restricted to certain missions and not freely climbable). The addition of zippers, tiny helicopters held together by duct tape, helps fulfill that dream with ease.

3

198 days ago

There is a huge map that can be explored relatively freely and there are several mission specific levels. Missions tend to fail, if you leave the zone. It's rather free as in "theme park" and not free as in "sandbox". It's not free as in "beer", either.

avatar

174 days ago

Here's my honest 3 month late review of Far Cry 4 @ http://www.thelategamer.com/video-game-review/pc/late-far-cry-4-review/

avatar

You

Now

How deep is the crafting in Far Cry 4?

avatar

174 days ago

Here's my honest 3 month late review of Far Cry 4 @ http://www.thelategamer.com/video-game-review/pc/late-far-cry-4-review/

3

198 days ago

It's the usual tinker-tinker crafting system, that keeps you busy. I don't remember many details. "Shallow" might be the right word.

avatar

You

Now

What can you craft in Far Cry 4?

avatar

174 days ago

Here's my honest 3 month late review of Far Cry 4 @ http://www.thelategamer.com/video-game-review/pc/late-far-cry-4-review/

avatar

You

Now

How good an FPS is Far Cry 4?

avatar

174 days ago

Here's my honest 3 month late review of Far Cry 4 @ http://www.thelategamer.com/video-game-review/pc/late-far-cry-4-review/

avatar

You

Now

How sneaky can you be in Far Cry 4?

avatar

174 days ago

Here's my honest 3 month late review of Far Cry 4 @ http://www.thelategamer.com/video-game-review/pc/late-far-cry-4-review/

avatar

You

Now

How fair are loot drops in Far Cry 4?

avatar

174 days ago

Here's my honest 3 month late review of Far Cry 4 @ http://www.thelategamer.com/video-game-review/pc/late-far-cry-4-review/

avatar

You

Now

Does Far Cry 4 allow for a good range of character builds?

avatar

174 days ago

Here's my honest 3 month late review of Far Cry 4 @ http://www.thelategamer.com/video-game-review/pc/late-far-cry-4-review/

avatar

You

Now

What strategies have you learned to survive in Far Cry 4?

avatar

174 days ago

Here's my honest 3 month late review of Far Cry 4 @ http://www.thelategamer.com/video-game-review/pc/late-far-cry-4-review/

avatar

You

Now

Is Far Cry 4 grindy?

avatar

174 days ago

Here's my honest 3 month late review of Far Cry 4 @ http://www.thelategamer.com/video-game-review/pc/late-far-cry-4-review/

avatar

You

Now

Would you buy at full price or wait for a Far Cry 4 sale?

168

971 days ago

If playtime-to-cost ratio is important to you, Far Cry 4 delivers on that front - after 30 hours, the game informs me I'm just 50% of the way to completion, with plenty of posters left to pull down, belltowers to ascend and whatnot. For the most part it's satisfying stuff, too - missions that make the best of the game's well-honed human-hunting mechanics.

avatar

174 days ago

Here's my honest 3 month late review of Far Cry 4 @ http://www.thelategamer.com/video-game-review/pc/late-far-cry-4-review/

avatar

You

Now

How good is the Far Cry 4 story?

avatar

174 days ago

Here's my honest 3 month late review of Far Cry 4 @ http://www.thelategamer.com/video-game-review/pc/late-far-cry-4-review/

avatar

You

Now

How much freedom does Far Cry 4 give you?

avatar

174 days ago

Here's my honest 3 month late review of Far Cry 4 @ http://www.thelategamer.com/video-game-review/pc/late-far-cry-4-review/

avatar

You

Now

How good are the sounds in Far Cry 4?

avatar

174 days ago

Here's my honest 3 month late review of Far Cry 4 @ http://www.thelategamer.com/video-game-review/pc/late-far-cry-4-review/

168

971 days ago

The ambiance is lovely - especially the machine gun fire, which you learn to appreciate as part of the countryside's tapestry of sound. The radio wears a bit, though - you'll be tempted to leave belltowers uncaptured, because the military marches of Min FM are more tolerable than the ramblings of the Golden Path's self-appointed DJ.

avatar

You

Now

How good are the graphics in Far Cry 4?

168

971 days ago

As sharp as the peaks that act as beautiful backdrop to basically the entire game. Shangri-La is the mysticism on the cake - an otherworld of contrasting colours that looks, in motion, like a food fight in a Marrakesh market.

avatar

174 days ago

Here's my honest 3 month late review of Far Cry 4 @ http://www.thelategamer.com/video-game-review/pc/late-far-cry-4-review/

avatar

You

Now

How active is the multiplayer community for Far Cry 4?

avatar

174 days ago

Here's my honest 3 month late review of Far Cry 4 @ http://www.thelategamer.com/video-game-review/pc/late-far-cry-4-review/

avatar

You

Now

How does Far Cry 4 run on your PC?

avatar

174 days ago

Here's my honest 3 month late review of Far Cry 4 @ http://www.thelategamer.com/video-game-review/pc/late-far-cry-4-review/

avatar

You

Now