Fortnite Close Encounters LTM is back with fuel-efficient jetpacks | PCGamesN
Back to Top

Fortnite Close Encounters LTM is back with fuel-efficient jetpacks

September 20, 2018 Close Encounters returns to Fortnite today.

The Close Encounters LTM has returned to Fortnite – again. After a sketchy on again, off again launch earlier this year, Epic has finally brought back the jetpack-fueled shotgun-only mode. There are a few changes this time around, hopefully including time period that will allow people to actually play.

The Grappler will now be available in the LTM, and jet fuel consumption has been reduced by half. The most recent patch removed storm damage to structure in the later stages of a match, and Epic says the new additions are, in part, to give players options to get high and counter those sky bases that crop up late in the game.

Those extra details come via the developers on Reddit. Close Encounters launches at 12:00 PT / 15:00 ET / 20:00 BST, and we don’t yet know how long it will run. (It can’t be much shorter than last time, though.)

There’s plenty more going on in the game right now, with the cube turning Loot Lake purple in the lead up to the Fortnite season 6 release date, likely set for next week.

 

If the Close Encounters LTM doesn’t do it for you, there’s still Fortnite: Save the World, which Jeremy keeps telling us is the true, good, most precious Fortnite – even if the folks coming over from battle royale don’t know how to play it.

Clicking on links in articles to retailers or publishers may mean we earn a small commission.

Back to Navigation