Fortnite will show a scene from Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker next weekend

Fortnite is set to run another Disney movie promotion. Epic’s massively popular battle royale is already running a Star Wars crossover (complete with a new Stormtrooper skin to snag), and next weekend it will play host to a sneak peek at a scene from the upcoming Star Wars Episode IX: The Rise of Skywalker.

You’ll be able to watch the scene in game at the Risky Reels drive-in, as advertised on the movie posters scattered around Fortnite’s island. As Eurogamer reports, the presentation is rumored to include an appearance by director J.J. Abrams. You’ll be able to take in a bit of the new film while as the Star Destroyer that’s appeared in the game looms overhead, in what will undoubtedly be a somewhat surreal viewing experience, if Fortnite’s past live events are anything to go by.

The event will open its virtual doors at 13:30 EST (18:30 GMT) Saturday, December 14, with the show set to start at 14:00 EST (19:00 GMT), giving players who want to join in plenty of time to find (or build) a place from which to watch.

Fortnite, of course, is no stranger to movie tie-ins and cross promotion at this point, having run several Avengers- and John Wick-themed events to coincide with the premieres of films in those franchises. These have included special skins and items, as well as entirely new limited-time game modes, including John Wick’s Bounty Mode and the Avengers Thanos LTM.

The Rise of Skywalker hits theaters December 19 in the UK and December 20 in the US.

{"schema":{"page":{"content":{"headline":"Fortnite will show a scene from Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker next weekend","type":"news","category":"fortnite"},"user":{"loginstatus":false},"game":{"publisher":"Epic Games","genre":"Survival","title":"Fortnite","genres":["Survival","Free to Play","esports"]}}}}