Half-Life: Alyx release time details – here’s when you can preload and play

vr-games-half-life-alyx

The Half-Life: Alyx release date is mere days away. It’s been a long wait for a new Half-Life game as the last one came out 16 years ago – we feel equal parts delighted and old. Nostalgia aside, now is an ideal time to start preparing for the big launch so we can play as soon as possible. Some of us have been waiting since 2004, after all.

Valve has kindly revealed what time Half-Life: Alyx is going live, and when we can start preloading. The Half-Life: Alyx release time is set for March 23 at 10:00 PDT/ 17:00 GMT/ 13:00 EDT. Meanwhile, Half-Life: Alyx preloads are available from today, though Valve hasn’t given an exact time on that.

If you’ve been out of the loop, Half-Life Alyx is set between the events of Half-Life and Half-Life 2, so no – it’s not quite the third instalment we’ve all been clamouring for. Another one of its unique perks is that it’s in VR, which has led to oodles of shortages of Valve Index stock. You’ll be fighting against an alien race known as the Combine, and you’ll be doing so as a character called Alyx Vance.

Games are expensive these days, though, as are VR headsets – when they’re in stock – so if you’re wondering how long Half-Life: Alyx is, it’s around the same length as Half-Life 2 apparently.

If you’re looking for something similar to fill your time this weekend, then you can check out our list of the best VR games on PC. If you’d prefer to remain headset free, then we have another list of the best FPS games, too.