We may earn a commission when you buy through links in our articles. Learn more.

Hogwarts Legacy mounts and how to unlock them

How to unlock Hogwarts Legacy mounts and all the creatures you can ride, including all the flying mounts currently available in the open-world game.

Hogwarts Legacy mounts: Highwing flying past Hogwarts

Knowing how to unlock Hogwarts Legacy mounts is valuable information if you’re tired of sprinting everywhere or fancy something a bit more thrilling than your broomstick. A few different beasts are available to you as mounts, but they’re locked away behind a certain story mission until you can ride them.

There are lots of Hogwarts Legacy beasts in the open-world game that you can keep within the vivarium in your Room of Requirement. However, there are a few different types of beasts in Hogwarts Legacy that you can ride, including flying mounts, which are especially helpful for getting around the Hogwarts Legacy map. This is everything you need to know about the Hogwarts Legacy mounts and how to unlock them.

How to unlock mounts in Hogwarts Legacy

To get mounts in Hogwarts Legacy, you need to complete the mission ‘The High Keep’, which will reward you with Highwing, Poppy Sweeting’s Hippogriff.

The High Keep is a main story mission so don’t worry if you’re still not up to that point – you’ll unlock mounts eventually. You’d think Poppy would be keen to keep Highwing, but apparently, she’s more than willing to part with them for your benefit.

Hogwarts Legacy mounts: Flying on Highwing

Hogwarts Legacy mounts list

There are three types of beasts you can use as a mount in Hogwarts Legacy:

  • Graphorn
  • Hippogriff
  • Thestral

As explained, Highwing the Hippogriff is unlocked after the mission ‘The High Keep’. If you pre-ordered Hogwarts Legacy, you’ll also have access to Caligo, an onyx Hippogriff.

The deluxe edition of Hogwarts Legacy includes the Sepulchria, a dark Thestral. Finally, you’ll receive a Graphorn called Lord of the Shore for completing the quest ‘San Bakar’s Trial’. The Graphorn is the only mount in Hogwarts Legacy that’s unable to fly, however, you can use its strength to deal damage to multiple enemies by ramming into them. Highwing is your default mount, but you can change this via the gear inventory screen.

Hogwarts Legacy mounts: Highwing during The High Keep

Of course, you also have the best Hogwarts Legacy broom to ride, which you’ll obtain before any of the mounts. The brooms are ideal for short rides thanks to their nimbleness, while mounts are often better if you’re travelling further. Similar to the mounts, there are a number of different brooms in the game, but they all move at the same speed as each other.

Now you know all the details about the mounts in Hogwarts Legacy, do you know about all of the Hogwarts Legacy spells, potions, and talents in the RPG game? Alternatively, we have details of the best PC games available to play right now if you fancy a break from the school of witchcraft and wizardry.

The creator of the Harry Potter series, JK Rowling, has made a number of transphobic remarks on social media in recent years. Warner Bros. has the licence to make games based on Harry Potter. While the details of that deal aren’t publicly known, and WB Games says “J.K. Rowling is not directly involved in the creation of the game”, it is likely that, as the creator and owner of the Harry Potter IP, she will earn royalties from its sales. If you’d like to learn more about transgender equality or lend your support, here are two important charities we encourage you to check out: the National Center for Transgender Equality in the US, and Mermaids in the UK.