Inside Review | PCGamesN

INSIDE Review

Is INSIDE cheerful or depressing?

30
Nari (after 3 hours play time)

587 days ago

Its very dark and somber, and the dystopian visuals do much to offset your sense of ease most of the time.

146

585 days ago

Quirkily bleak. It's a horror story told in a very absurdist way, giving it the quality of a disturbing cartoon. Apparently it was made with the help of a grant from the Danish Film Institute, which makes perfect sense -- The game has the feel of one of those bizarre European short films you stumble on at one in the morning. Overall, I don't think cheerful/depressing is a useful slider in describing Inside's atmosphere.

avatar

You

Now

Would you want to live in INSIDE's world?

30
Nari (after 3 hours play time)

587 days ago

No, for reasons I cannot explain due to spoilers

146

585 days ago

What makes you think we don't?

avatar

You

Now

How good are the sounds in INSIDE?

30
Nari (after 3 hours play time)

587 days ago

The sound design is next to perfect, its a game with no dialog so its sound has to be that much more meaningful.

146

585 days ago

Clever. One thing I noticed while playing is that the soundtrack frequently knows when you've figured out the puzzle and adjusts itself accordingly.

avatar

You

Now

How good are the graphics in INSIDE?

30
Nari (after 3 hours play time)

587 days ago

They are extremely stylized, I felt like this could have been an art project in various stills and managed to convey a dark unsettling story.

146

585 days ago

Impressive, about on par with weird short film animation. Visual effect is about more than polygon count or how many tesselated hypercrons you can supertexture into your sub-screen liminal pictomap (though hypercrons are of course nice when you can get them.) The animations here are very carefully and cleverly done, and the environments, even when obscure, are constructed with thought.

avatar

You

Now

How hard are the puzzles in INSIDE?

30
Nari (after 3 hours play time)

587 days ago

easy enough, some require some timing and jumping base, but as long as you have both thumbs you should be fine.

avatar

You

Now

Would you buy at full price or wait for a INSIDE sale?

30
Nari (after 3 hours play time)

587 days ago

I liked the game, full disclosure I received it for free as a review copy, but I think Its worth the price. Its a short 3-4 hour experience that is worth experiencing.

avatar

You

Now

How does INSIDE run on your PC?

30
Nari (after 3 hours play time)

587 days ago

it runs well, but like all pc games its very subjective on your hardware, card choice, etc. I'd do a cursory glance of the forums if your video card is notoriously bad about being compatible with things.

avatar

You

Now

What are gamers first impressions of INSIDE

30
Nari (after 3 hours play time)

587 days ago

It is very fun if you enjoy games like Limbo.

How do gamers feel when they start playing INSIDE

30
Nari (after 3 hours play time)

587 days ago

Unlikely, its a very one play through game, The hidden collectibles and secret ending may have more replay for some, but I found those fairly quickly and most during normal play.