Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor Review

Does Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor feel grindy?

458
Fattox (after 1 day 4 hours play time)

971 days ago

The base gameplay was so fun that i found myself running around killing things just for fun. Something i haven't done since FarCry 3.

Thinks unlock at a nice, steady pace. You don't even notice the grind of the progression, or at least i didn't, because i was enjoying the experience too much. One of the few games i wanted to 100% (and did).

avatar

41 days ago

Here's my honest year and half late review of Shadow of Mordor @ http://www.thelategamer.com/video-game-review/pc/late-middle-earth-shadow-of-mordor-review/

R0M5 (after 8 hours play time)

6 hours ago

The whole gameplay is based on the great combat system where the player can feel as an epic guy who smashes a battalion of orcs/uruks.

The combat system and the various enemy types, styles and skill levels are marvelous but are just the action part of the game.

As you progress and grow your knowledge of the areas and enemies you also get to know a lot of the Tolkien universe and its mythology. If you are a Tolkien fan and has read a lot of his books you be at home, feeling the stories alive and walking in these virtual lands.

It is a really excellent game, well-crafted, fun, hard when you try to push your combats to the limits (if you face two captains at the beginning of the game, oh, boy! I'm sorry, you'll probably die really fast) and wonderful with its Nemesis system where your enemies level up and march up on ranking on the enemy army every time you die.

You should not take a peek at the game, just test it yourself playing, it is a really good game.

359
Nick Wilson (after 1 day play time)

976 days ago

The game urges you to manipulate the Nemesis system to gain bountiful amounts of experience, which is actually something I enjoyed. The side objectives like the Outcast missions and the Hunter/Herb missions were a bit repetitive though, and easily seen as copy and pasted content. If the combat wasn't so satisfying, I wouldn't of bothered completing them all.

100 days ago

Not grindy at all imho. Sure combat is combat, but with the variety of ways of tackling Uruks it never feels pointlessly repetitive.

3396
Shriven (after 1 day 3 hours play time)

975 days ago

Very much so. Other than the rather excellent Nemesis system, the rest of the game feels like a WoW quest area.

Julian Benson Avatar
180
2 Years ago
I agree that a great many of the fights play out in a similar fashion but I love how as you gain new abilities the brawls between you and 30 orcs change. You gain so many choices of how to thin their numbers, either by exploding barrels around you, stunning large groups of orcs, or simply parrying and executing every last one of them. That all said, after I completed the main quest and elected warchiefs in both areas I felt finished with the game. I've no urge to 100% the game.
1
avatar

You

Now

How fair are loot drops in Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor?

359
Nick Wilson (after 1 day play time)

976 days ago

The rune system is based off multiple factors driving off the strength of the captain/war chief you've killed. Each one has a level which translates to their "power". As they complete their own missions and/or kill you, they gain more power - up to level 20. This, along with how you dispatched your foe, determines the level of rune you will receive. The harder the kill, the better your loot; fair enough for me.

Julian Benson Avatar
180
2 Years ago
One issue I found with the system was that it takes so long to get an Orc up to level 20. At one point I'd cleared out all the captains in one region and I had to keep fast-forwarding time just to get another leader up to a point where it was worth harvesting him.
1
3396
Shriven (after 1 day 3 hours play time)

975 days ago

Plenty of strong individuals to kill. The stronger they are, the better your reward 'rune'. No reinvention of the wheel here, because its not broken.

458
Fattox (after 1 day 4 hours play time)

971 days ago

Fair enough. You get a rune based on the level of the bad guy, a chance for a better one if you use the Death Threat mechanic, etc. You can determine (or at least influence?) the type by the style of the kill.

15
hpoonis2010 (after 5 days 16 hours play time)

56 days ago

hmmm...considering that when you apply death threats to the enemy, you gain a great chance of EPIC runes...and considering that my epic rune tally is considerable, I would say they are too easily obtained...and generally pointless once you have progressed far enough along. I have not adjusted any used runes, I just have a vast collection of them.

avatar

41 days ago

Here's my honest year and half late review of Shadow of Mordor @ http://www.thelategamer.com/video-game-review/pc/late-middle-earth-shadow-of-mordor-review/

avatar

You

Now

How sneaky can you be in Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor?

3396
Shriven (after 1 day 3 hours play time)

975 days ago

Unless your target has an immunity to stealth, you will find most of your time is stalking and it doesnt feel like a hardship. Although, Orcs seem to be near blind and never look up.

359
Nick Wilson (after 1 day play time)

976 days ago

Stealth allows you to fully control the battlefield and choose your fights. This is more important when entering Strongholds: Uruk and Orc forts where a wrong move can bring hundreds of reinforcements. Though a lot of the time I found myself wanting them to bring in more enemies, as it was often too easy otherwise.

458
Fattox (after 1 day 4 hours play time)

971 days ago

Yes, and while the system feels nice overall, they should make it a bit tougher. Make the orcs a little less blind.

By the end of the game, i felt so powerful that it was less of a necessity and thus less rewarding. Why stealth in when i can teleport my fist into someone's face from 100m away?

avatar

41 days ago

Here's my honest year and half late review of Shadow of Mordor @ http://www.thelategamer.com/video-game-review/pc/late-middle-earth-shadow-of-mordor-review/

avatar

You

Now

Does Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor allow for a good range of character builds?

458
Fattox (after 1 day 4 hours play time)

971 days ago

You can choose what you unlock first, mostly (some skills are locked behind mission progression), but you will eventually end up with the same skills as anyone else.

You can customise yourself with the Rune system, but i found this was more a case of picking the right Runes that go with my playstyle. I enjoyed lots of stunning and flurries, so i took runes that regen'd my resources from those kind of skills/kills.

Julian Benson Avatar
180
2 Years ago
It's a shame that there weren't more weapons on offer to play with. The runes are a nice touch but I often forgot they were even there. The orcs got to use flaming swords and poisoned weapons and it's disappointing we didn't get to play with those, too.
1
avatar

41 days ago

Here's my honest year and half late review of Shadow of Mordor @ http://www.thelategamer.com/video-game-review/pc/late-middle-earth-shadow-of-mordor-review/

15
hpoonis2010 (after 5 days 16 hours play time)

56 days ago

No. There is really only ONE build. I have almost all ability upgrades and weapon upgrades before moving to 'Act II'. It is still fun to slaughter dozens of critters along with 2-3 captains but, in essence, there is no variation on build.

avatar

You

Now

How open is Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor to explore?

180

965 days ago

This is one area the game really falls down. The two regions we get to play in are relatively small, feeling much more compact that games like Grand Theft Auto and Assassin's Creed. Yet, despite their small size, none of the areas really stand out. The fortresses all feel similar and largely indistinguisable and the landscape does nothing to excite the eye.

avatar

41 days ago

Here's my honest year and half late review of Shadow of Mordor @ http://www.thelategamer.com/video-game-review/pc/late-middle-earth-shadow-of-mordor-review/

avatar

You

Now

How does Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor make you feel powerful?

15
hpoonis2010 (after 5 days 16 hours play time)

56 days ago

Seriously? What kind of question is this?

avatar

41 days ago

Here's my honest year and half late review of Shadow of Mordor @ http://www.thelategamer.com/video-game-review/pc/late-middle-earth-shadow-of-mordor-review/

avatar

You

Now

Is Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor grindy?

avatar

41 days ago

Here's my honest year and half late review of Shadow of Mordor @ http://www.thelategamer.com/video-game-review/pc/late-middle-earth-shadow-of-mordor-review/

avatar

You

Now

Would you read more of Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor's lore outside the game?

15
hpoonis2010 (after 5 days 16 hours play time)

56 days ago

No. I am not that sad. The entire 'Hobbit/Lord of the Rings' "lore" is pitifully simple. I read the books many years ago...I have never felt like a re-read of them. I have re-read other titles which are far better stories. I do not buy into 'Middle-Earth' anything and neither do I subscribe to the world of 'Star Wars'. I think folk take these things far too seriously for their own good.

avatar

41 days ago

Here's my honest year and half late review of Shadow of Mordor @ http://www.thelategamer.com/video-game-review/pc/late-middle-earth-shadow-of-mordor-review/

avatar

You

Now

How much freedom does Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor give you?

15
hpoonis2010 (after 5 days 16 hours play time)

56 days ago

To do what?

avatar

41 days ago

Here's my honest year and half late review of Shadow of Mordor @ http://www.thelategamer.com/video-game-review/pc/late-middle-earth-shadow-of-mordor-review/

avatar

You

Now

Does Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor make you feel empowered?

avatar

41 days ago

Here's my honest year and half late review of Shadow of Mordor @ http://www.thelategamer.com/video-game-review/pc/late-middle-earth-shadow-of-mordor-review/

15
hpoonis2010 (after 5 days 16 hours play time)

56 days ago

WHY have you repeated a similar question? Only wankers feel empowered by a game.

avatar

You

Now

How gory is Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor?

avatar

41 days ago

Here's my honest year and half late review of Shadow of Mordor @ http://www.thelategamer.com/video-game-review/pc/late-middle-earth-shadow-of-mordor-review/

avatar

You

Now

Does magic in Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor feel powerful?

avatar

41 days ago

Here's my honest year and half late review of Shadow of Mordor @ http://www.thelategamer.com/video-game-review/pc/late-middle-earth-shadow-of-mordor-review/

avatar

You

Now

How does Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor run on your PC?

3396
Shriven (after 1 day 3 hours play time)

975 days ago

My rig is barely breaking a sweat and, considering the high game requirements, I am surprised by that. Next to zero loading times over the console versions. (Windows on SSD, Game not)

Julian Benson Avatar
180
2 Years ago
What system are you running? I've two AMD 7800s in Crossfire and the game had a constant flickering. There was another weird bug where the text would flash between two states - an orc's power level would switch between 5 and 6, for instance. Also, when it came to big brawls it could really slow down at points.
1
458
Fattox (after 1 day 4 hours play time)

971 days ago

It looks better than i thought it would, and runs better than i expected. My rig is quite beastly, but i've seen it running well on lower-spec systems. I think they did a great job on this port.

15
hpoonis2010 (after 5 days 16 hours play time)

56 days ago

Excellent. Fastest load of any 'open world' game I have encountered. A shame that other developers cannot learn from this. Origin titles take the longest time to load...as does the Origin client.

avatar

41 days ago

Here's my honest year and half late review of Shadow of Mordor @ http://www.thelategamer.com/video-game-review/pc/late-middle-earth-shadow-of-mordor-review/

avatar

You

Now

How good is the Mac port of Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor?

avatar

41 days ago

Here's my honest year and half late review of Shadow of Mordor @ http://www.thelategamer.com/video-game-review/pc/late-middle-earth-shadow-of-mordor-review/

avatar

You

Now

How good is the Linux port of Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor?

avatar

41 days ago

Here's my honest year and half late review of Shadow of Mordor @ http://www.thelategamer.com/video-game-review/pc/late-middle-earth-shadow-of-mordor-review/

avatar

You

Now

Would you buy at full price or wait for a Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor sale?

458
Fattox (after 1 day 4 hours play time)

971 days ago

I personally don't buy in to hype that often, but it looked like my kind of game, so i bought it at full price on release day. No regrets personally.

That said, it's single-player only (not reliant on having a playerbase) and has more DLC coming later, so unless you can't wait to play it then... there's nothing stopping you from waiting a while!

avatar

41 days ago

Here's my honest year and half late review of Shadow of Mordor @ http://www.thelategamer.com/video-game-review/pc/late-middle-earth-shadow-of-mordor-review/

avatar

You

Now

How good are the graphics in Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor?

458
Fattox (after 1 day 4 hours play time)

971 days ago

Not the 'best' PC has to offer, but better than i'd usually expect from a console port. I ran it on Ultra/max everything with the HD texture pack. It ran smoother than expected too, no noticeable FPS drop even with 50 orcs around me.

avatar

41 days ago

Here's my honest year and half late review of Shadow of Mordor @ http://www.thelategamer.com/video-game-review/pc/late-middle-earth-shadow-of-mordor-review/

avatar

You

Now

How good are the sounds in Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor?

458
Fattox (after 1 day 4 hours play time)

971 days ago

Combat sounds satisfying, music felt fitting. Voice acting was top-notch (and often hilarious).

Julian Benson Avatar
180
2 Years ago
I completely agree about the voice acting. It's the best I've heard in ages. It certainly helps that at points the script is really well written: it's a long time character barks have had me laugh. I felt the score was missing the same power as the theme in the Lord of the Rings films, which was a shame.
1
avatar

41 days ago

Here's my honest year and half late review of Shadow of Mordor @ http://www.thelategamer.com/video-game-review/pc/late-middle-earth-shadow-of-mordor-review/

avatar

You

Now

Why do gamers stop playing Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor after playing for many hours

458
Fattox (after 1 day 4 hours play time)

971 days ago

I got 100% on the story mode, had a quick go on the Trials mode. I'll revisit it when some DLC comes out.

Julian Benson Avatar
180
2 Years ago
Likewise. Really enjoyed working through the story but felt no urge to 100% the game afterwards. I'm hoping the DLC adds more variety to the NPC population in Mordor. I reckon people are playing so long because the Nemesis system is great for getting you hooked into playing for another 30 minutes. I kept saying to myself I'd go to bed after I'd killed that next captain.
1

Why do gamers keep coming back to Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor

15
hpoonis2010 (after 5 days 16 hours play time)

56 days ago

I do not 'love' MIddle-Earth...blah blah. I enjoy replaying games once in a while. No motive other than relieving boredom.

Dishonored 2 Review
Dishonored 2 Review

avataravataravataravataravatar

5 reviewers answered 7 questions