Back to Top

Free Minecraft server launches to help provide “virtual camps” for kids

Best Minecraft console commands

Connected Camps, a not-for-profit organisation that offers creativity, problem solving, and interest-based learning experiences for kids and teens has launched two free Minecraft servers to help youths connect following the outbreak of COVID-19 around the world. Plus, it’s got some affordable “virtual camps” through games like Roblox, League of Legends, Fortnite, and Rocket League on offer, too.

In a press release, Conected Camps announces the two Minecraft servers it’s set up, which help cater to two key age groups. Kid Club is designed for kids aged between eight and 13, and is “more than just a free, safe, kid-friendly Minecraft server”, the organisation says. It’s also “an online community where kids can explore their own creativity through unstructured play, collaborate with peers, and deepen their knowledge of Minecraft.”

Connected Camps offers Kid Club hours Mondays to Thursdays between 11:00 and 15:00 PT / 14:00 and 18:00 ET / 19:00 and 23:00 UK, and later sessions on Fridays to Sundays at 13:00 to 17:00 PT / 16:00 to 20:00 ET. There are “expert counselors” on-hand to offer mentorship in skills like STEM, problem solving, advanced building techniques, web literacy, and more.

The second server, ConnectedCraft, is aimed at giving 14 to 17 year olds “a free, safe, online space to build, create, and hang out with friends while they expand their expertise.”

This server’s hours are Wednesday to Friday from 13:00 to 15:00 PT / 16:00 to 18:00 ET / 21:00 to 23:00 UK.

In addition to these, running June 1 to August 14, there’s a bunch of low-cost online camps and clubs designed to help build a set of skills or interests – all through games. A selection of the “dozens of options” includes (via Connected Camps):

  • Arts: Animation or Theater Camp (using Minecraft)
  • Exploration: Architecture Business, Paleontology, or Roman History (using Minecraft)
  • Technology: Coding, Engineering, Game Design (using Minecraft or Roblox)
  • Digital Making: Animation and Video Creation (using Minecraft)
  • Esports: Fortnite, League of Legends, Rocket League
  • Clubs: Minecraft, Overwatch, Smash Ultimate

If you’re keen to know more or sign up, you can find out more information on Connected Clubs’ site here. If you love Minecraft, we also have some lists of the best Minecraft mods, Minecraft skins, and Minecraft seeds, which you might find handy for next time you dive in.

Back to Navigation