Sega will announce a new triple-A title at Gamescom, but it’s not from the Total War devs | PCGamesN

Sega will announce a new triple-A title at Gamescom, but it’s not from the Total War devs

Gamescom 2019 gets underway in just a few weeks, and we’re starting to learn a bit more about what we will – and won’t – get to see as part of the show. Today, Sega announced that it will have a new triple-A title to show at the convention, and while we don’t have much clue about what it’ll be, we do at least know it won’t be a new Creative Assembly game.

Sega says in a press release that visitors to its Gamescom display “will be treated to a first-hand look at an all-new AAA game that has yet to be revealed to the public.” Sega is also listed among the publishers appearing at Gamescom’s Opening Night Live event, so chances are good that the game will be announced there. That show starts on August 19 at 11:00 PDT / 14:00 EDT / 19:00 BST.

After the news hit the Total War subreddit earlier today, lead community manager Grace Carroll confirmed that it is not a Creative Assembly game. That rules out both a new Total War title, as well as an official reveal for Creative Assembly’s new IP. Job listings suggest it’ll be a hero-based shooter from the Alien: Isolation team, but that’s all we know for the foreseeable future.

Sega’s catalogue is pretty far-reaching these days, and includes everything from Sonic the Hedgehog and Yakuza to Dawn of War and Company of Heroes. That means there are a whole lot of games this could be – and that’s not even counting new IP.

Other Gamescom certainties include the facts that we won’t see Elden Ring or anything from Blizzard there. As for what actually will be at the show, I guess we’ll find out sometime before it starts on August 20.

Clicking on links in articles to retailers or publishers may mean we earn a small commission.