Back to Top

The next free game from the Epic Store is, uh… what the heck?

It’s Thursday, and that means it’s time to see the next selection of free PC games from the Epic Games Store. Epic has revealed what to expect next week, and it’s – wait a minute. Friends, I have been writing a news story about the free Epic game once per week for well over a year now, and we have entered unprecedented times. The next free Epic title is a “mystery game”.

Yes, for the first time I can remember, the latest free Epic Games Store title is going to remain a mystery until it launches. It’ll still go live on May 14 at the usual time of 8:00 PDT / 11:00 EDT / 16:00 BST, and you’ll be able to hit the promotion page, claim the game, and add it to your account forever. Probably. I don’t know, things are changing and I’m scared.

Epic’s been making a few changes to its rollout of free games, including the temporary requirement of two-factor authentication in order to claim the giveaways. The three-week window of enhanced security – and the mystery around this next launch – suggest that maybe next week’s game is going to be big. Or maybe Epic just wants to mess with us news writers.

We’ll find out for sure on May 14.

For now, you can pick up Death Coming, a cutesy murder simulator about harvesting human souls, as part of this week’s promotion.

Back to Navigation