Back to Top

Oculus Rift founder Palmer Luckey to make major announcement at The Game Awards on Thursday

palmer_luckey_game_awards

The Game Awards 2015, Geoff Keighley’s annual end-of-year combo of award show and preview event, is happening on Thursday night and has had a number of teases shown off for what will be teased between giving Witcher 3 lots of different games accolades. This includes an announcement from Palmer Luckey about Oculus among new DLC for current games and trailers for other announced titles.

Nevermind a panel of experts, here’s what we think are the best games of 2015.

Palmer himself made a tweet saying he will be there, but clarifying that he wouldn’t be announcing pre-orders going live:

There’s no hint as to what he may be talking about, but possibilities include new tech that’s been developed for the release version, or even a release date.

Meanwhile a trailer has been released to show off what else will be at the show:

You’ll be able to tune in at 9pm EST / 6pm PST / 2am GMT / 3am CET on Thursday/Friday morning. In previous years surprise announcements have included No Man’s Sky, as well as debuts of trailers for MGS5, ADR1FT and The Witcher 3. Personally I quite like it, though don’t ascribe any real meaning to the awards themselves beyond reconfirming a bunch of games I either enjoyed or plan to play.

Back to Navigation