Back to Top

Overwatch’s new hero Echo comes to PTR – like, right now

Overwatch’s 32nd hero Echo is a damage-dealing, duplicating AI robot and she’s pretty cool. Blizzard had already let us know she was on her way with an origin story, but despite us all thinking she might be a healer, instead, she’s a flanking, flying fighter – and she comes to PTR today.

The public test region (or PTR) allows Blizzard’s Overwatch team to see how Echo does when handed over to the public. This means they can make some final tweaks before sending her into the full game. If she’s game-breaking, or so over-powered that no one likes her, expect her to be changed by the team.

Echo will be available to play in the PTR from 10:30 PST / 18:30 CET / 17:30 GMT / 13:30 EST today. It is unclear when Echo will be added into the live game – that will depend on how the PTR testing goes. Once that happens we can’t wait to see how the Overwatch League and competitive modes take to her.

If you missed her introduction you can watch her origin story here. Echo’s abilities and who Echo is are curious too – we can’t wait until we see more from her in Overwatch 2. Who knows when what will happen though!

Back to Navigation