PlanetSide 2 Review

How does PlanetSide 2 reward you for playing tactically?

1388
Dog Pants (after 16 days 18 hours play time)

953 days ago

In engagements the size of the ones in Planetside 2 a tactical, organised group can make a huge impact. Some locations are notoriously difficult to attack, and seeing the defences broken by a wave of dropships disgorging dozens of troops behind the lines is a spectacular sight. Being part of that wave is both spectacular and hugely satisfying. Smaller groups can launch special forces raids, taking and holding shield generators or disrupting gun platforms, or just mount an effective attack by coordinating their fire

Speedlarson (after 2 days 5 hours play time)

385 days ago

To have any chance at winning the map, some sort of plan or strategy is certainly needed. You need to help others when they need it and vice versa. It brings the game to a new level.

S H Ø C K (after 23 hours play time)

349 days ago

PS2 (Planetside2) is an awesome tactical game. Imagine Battlefield, but 10x bigger... yeah i know, it sound really cool and you recommend it.

If you are new to the game i recommend searching any guide for upgrades because anyone likes to waste certs (in-game money) on useless upgrades and weapons.

avatar
51
holmesc (after 7 hours play time)

244 days ago

Amazing

avatar

You

Now

How good an FPS is PlanetSide 2?

Speedlarson (after 2 days 5 hours play time)

385 days ago

In my opinion, Planetside 2 has a great deal of FPS features that work very well with the game. Gun recoil is something that you will have to work with (fortunately I have a bit of CSGO practice, so that wasn't too hard) and guns work very well.

avatar

You

Now

How open is PlanetSide 2 to explore?

1388
Dog Pants (after 16 days 18 hours play time)

953 days ago

In some ways. You have to go digging around the Wiki to learn anything significant about the story and extended lore. The textures and models aren't of the resolution you would expect from a modern shooter due to the scale, and the buildings are duplicated regularly. However, the care and attention is clear when you stop to examine the locations as a whole and realise that everything is placed with a sense of purpose. The buildings all have a prefab aesthetic which, when you know to look for it, is beautifully designed. Explore the outside of a tech plant and you will see that it has legs with giant pistons, and huge thrusters from where it deployed from orbit and unfolded on the ground. Away from the fighting you notice that the smaller facilities might have fields of crops around them, or sunken vehicle repair bays, laboratories, communications towers. And of course if you want to just gun through all that on the way to the next objective then you can, and it simply adds an unnoticed air of practicality which makes the battlefields feel all the more convincing without really being obvious why.

avatar

You

Now

How much fun are the weapons in PlanetSide 2?

1388
Dog Pants (after 16 days 18 hours play time)

953 days ago

It's very difficult to compare. I'm not aware of any other game aside from the original which offers battles on such a variety of scale. The Battlefield series would come closest, but even those 64-player matches only really compare to a small to medium sized engagement in Planetside 2, and even then without the asymmetrical spectacle of squadrons of fighters swooping in or massed tank assaults sweeping away the enemy.

avatar

You

Now

How well does PlanetSide 2 let you develop your character?

1388
Dog Pants (after 16 days 18 hours play time)

953 days ago

Each class is available from the start, but none are particularly effective until you invest some time in them. Some offer variation within the class which can be specialised in through equipment and ability unlocks, but nothing is locked out. Mainly development will be limited to equipment, upgrades, and weapons.

avatar

You

Now

How active is the PvP community in PlanetSide 2?

1388
Dog Pants (after 16 days 18 hours play time)

953 days ago

The number of players on each server means there's always a fight to join somewhere. The size and intensity varies, but I've never seen an empty continent. The game is now mature enough to have a large number of active groups too, and joining an organised group longer term should be easy. This is based on the Miller EU server, which is apparently one of the busiest.

Speedlarson (after 2 days 5 hours play time)

385 days ago

The community is very active. With the game being F2P, lots of people are still joining in and staying. I'm not saying there won't be times where you don't see many people on, but it's still pretty active.

avatar

You

Now

How fair is the free-to-play model in PlanetSide 2?

1388
Dog Pants (after 16 days 18 hours play time)

953 days ago

For the most part the paid-for items are cosmetic. Weapons can be purchased, but they aren't fully effective without upgrades which can only be earned by playing. Some of the more expensive ones are more powerful and will take days of game time to unlock, but the difference isn't significant - a cheap weapon which right for the battle will be better than the wrong expensive one. Recently paid-for buffs have been introduced, which is rather distasteful, but as of yet I haven't noticed any major advantage to them.

avatar

You

Now

How good are the graphics in PlanetSide 2?

1388
Dog Pants (after 16 days 18 hours play time)

953 days ago

There are moments of beauty to be found in the environment. As the days and nights pass the dawn sun filters through the trees on Amerish, and the dusk turns the Indar sky purple. At night in the northern regions of icy Esamir you can see green aurora thrashing across the sky. The spectacle of battle is incredible, and to be on either end of a large Vanu assault at night is like being at the Pink Floyd concert from hell. As mentioned earlier though, the visuals fall down at a smaller scale. Textures are low resolution, especially terrain, and models are basic compared to other shooters. It's a product of the scale, but it can occasionally be jarring when you find yourself face-to-face with a mess of pixels.

avatar

You

Now

How good are the sounds in PlanetSide 2?

1388
Dog Pants (after 16 days 18 hours play time)

953 days ago

It's a shame that most of the sound in Planetside 2 merges into the roar of battle, because it's really very well designed. Each faction has a distinct theme - the whining, blatting energy weapons of the Vanu, the crude but brutal booming of the New Conglomerate, and the snapping and whirring of the well-oiled Terran Republic. When I reload my Lasher support weapon the radiator vanes pop out and then quietly squeak when they retract again as though they're on little plastic sprockets.

avatar

You

Now

How does PlanetSide 2 run on your PC?

1388
Dog Pants (after 16 days 18 hours play time)

953 days ago

I very rarely encounter problems, even in large battles. I can only vaguely remember a couple of occasions where framerate has dropped significantly or I've had connectivity issues. This is with an Intel i5 3570, 8GB RAM and a Geforce GTX 570.

avatar

You

Now

Why do gamers keep coming back to PlanetSide 2

1388
Dog Pants (after 15 days 17 hours play time)

949 days ago

The variety and spectacle. I've already mentioned the amazing sights, but the real resilience comes from the fact that I can find any kind of fight I want. If I fancy some fast-paced infantry combat there's usually a battle somewhere in the claustrophobic meat-grinder of a bio-lab. If I want slower, more tactical action I look for a smaller skirmish away from the big objectives. I can take to the skies on combat air patrol and find enemy aircraft within a minute, or take out a tank and support the front lines. And if I'm getting hammered and I'm not enjoying the fight, I can just pull out and find a different one.

Dishonored 2 Review
Dishonored 2 Review

avataravataravataravataravatar

5 reviewers answered 7 questions