Back to Top

PUBG is free to play through this weekend

While it wasn’t technically the first, and it’s certainly no longer the biggest, Playerunknown’s Battlegrounds is the game that really put battle royale on the map, and if you haven’t tried it out, this weekend is your chance. Now through Monday you can play PUBG free of charge, and if you decide to buy it, you’ll get a 50% discount.

The PUBG Free Play Weekend event kicked off Thursday evening and runs through Monday at 17:00 BST / 12:00 EST / 9:00 PST. During that time, anyone can download and play PUBG for free through Steam, and the game is on sale for half off at $14.99 USD / £13.49.

PUBG has seen some major enhancements lately, including a new ranked mode – although a recent snafu saw it lose about 30 minutes’ worth of ranked data. That appears to have been resolved, although the data for that time is lost to the ether. If you’re a newbie, you may find that you’re facing off against bots rather than seasoned PUBG vets, and that’s thanks to the recent 7.1 update.

To get in on the action, simply head over to the PUBG page on Steam and hit Play to install the game. If you’re playing for free, keep in mind that you won’t be able to use the in-game store.

Before you hop into the plane to drop in, check out our guide to PUBG’s Karakin map, and pick up some pro strategy with our PUBG tips and tricks.

Back to Navigation