Leaked Resident Evil images look a lot like Left 4 Dead | PCGamesN
Back to Top

Leaked Resident Evil images look a lot like Left 4 Dead

Resident Evil Outbreak

August 28, 2019 Leaked images cast a little more light on next week’s Resident Evil announcement.

Capcom’s gearing up to unveil its next Resident Evil game. Earlier today, the developer lifted the lid on a website for the new game, which is codenamed Project Resistance.

That website doesn’t give much away, but it does reveal that “Capcom is embarking on a new project,” and that a teaser trailer for the game will be unveiled on September 9 at 15:00 UTC (16:00 BST, 11:00 ET, 08:00 PT).

That teaser isn’t likely to give much away, but we won’t have to wait very long to learn more after that. Capcom also says that Project Resistance, whatever it may be, “will be shown off at Capcom’s booth during Tokyo Game Show 2019,” which begins a few days later, on September 9. Developers will be showing off gameplay on stage four times over the course of the show. Hands-on time with the game will be offered, but the majority of those will be reserved for Japanese residents.

What’s the next resident evil game?

We’ll find out about the next Resident Evil game during the Tokyo Game Show next month.

Since this morning’s announcement, one fan has managed to scrape a selection of images from the YouTube link provided by Capcom. Those images, which you can check out in the tweet below, show a selection of unidentified characters wielding various firearms.

The new characters would seem to rule out a remake of Resi 3 or 4, but could point to Resident Evil Outbreak, a multiplayer take on the series first released in 2003. In that game, players took on the roles of one of eight characters forced to fight their way out of Raccoon City, and the title has since been likened to some aspects of Valve’s famous Left 4 Dead. While Capcom’s yet to confirm Outbreak’s return, another puzzle piece could help corroborate the information in those photos.

ResidentEvilOutbreak.com – Capcom’s website linked to the 2003 game of the same name – was updated this morning. The new site is just a blank page with the word “OK” in the top-left corner. That’s not exactly concrete proof, but could mean that Outbreak, or at least something similar, could be about to make a comeback. Either way, we’ll find out more in a little over a week’s time.

Clicking on links in articles to retailers or publishers may mean we earn a small commission.

Best PC gaming hardware deals today
Product Image 1
$699.99
$689.99
View
Product Image 2
$99.99
$85.00
View
Product Image 3
$124.99
View
Back to Navigation