Robocraft Review | PCGamesN

Robocraft Review

What can you craft in Robocraft?

timex987 (after 59 days 5 hours play time)

912 days ago

The absolute freedom to build whatever the heck you want and fight in it, in your own unique way, is what truly sets this game apart from all other creative combat games.

kiquezinho95 (after 1 day 21 hours play time)

512 days ago

perfect!!!

Dman1012 (after 2 hours play time)

933 days ago

You craft a robot that battles gainst other players' robots. The robots have a wide range of customizability, so no other robot will be the same as yours.

|TIX_THELOOP (after 42 days play time)

913 days ago

i love the crazy rocketlauncher that they added 1-2 days ago ;)

intra1004 (after 85 days 1 hour play time)

913 days ago

anime characters,undertale,megabot,tank,ant,flyer

Spyder7 (after 3 days 1 hour play time)

908 days ago

Anything. Build a tank, crack out on the game until your tank looks nothing like it did when you started and your vision is hazy.
Start over with a jet or a hovering battleship or a bugbot.
Repeat.

92
PCGamesN Dev (after 1 day 4 hours play time)

1249 days ago

You craft your robot which you take into arenas against other players. It is block based with some slopes and additional objects (radar, guns, wheels etc).

IceDaddyKiller (after 44 minutes play time)

512 days ago

Almost limitless possibilities revlizovat your fantasies, express individuality, the ability podchermput interesting ideas from others players. All this not only allows us to Robocraft! Expand the horizons of the imagination!

1
aycfes (after 10 days 22 hours play time)

913 days ago

A lot of things, don't know how to explain

aycfes Avatar
1
2 Years ago
Btw, i have played a lot more than it ^ says, that is my steam play time.
1
2
xXzacsterXx (after 31 days 8 hours play time)

512 days ago

This game is absolutely awesome if you see this get it don't and your missing out on a-lot of action

xxminecrafterpro (after 2 days 9 hours play time)

912 days ago

It's okay. Laggy aswell things costs too much.

912 days ago

I have played this game since August '14 and it is truly my favorite. Those of us who play call it "Robo-Crack" - it is truly addictive. The game is still in alpha, so there are some bugs to deal with occasionally, but FreeJam does a good job of getting fixes in.
AND it is truly NOT a pay to win. Sure, you can spend money to buy things, but it is totally NOT necessary to be competitive in the game. There is some element of grinding to begin, but it is not extensive and is actually very helpful in learning how to play the game and build your bots. When you start, you play against fellow noobs - not seasoned vets that are farming rookies.
I probably have close to 4000 hours in game and it is truly my absolute favorite.

swansun2 (after 5 hours play time)

912 days ago

Well, You don't really craft. You build, And you buy. If you mean what can you build, well................. Anything! Cars, Planes, EVERYTHING!

monirfx (after 21 days 1 hour play time)

910 days ago

This game makes me nuts. playing for a long time but not feel boring for a minute except for waiting to get into battle...... I personally recommend to play this game if u like to craft of your own robot and try it out how do u do....

Aso-Zac (after 49 days 4 hours play time)

908 days ago

I build mostly ground bots

LUCIFERMORNINGSTAR (after 8 days 20 hours play time)

904 days ago

just lost my account and i can't play no more i m lvl 100 seens 2014

sonic ツ (after 7 days 21 hours play time)

849 days ago

this is beatiufle game game

23
Grave Knight (after 22 days 1 hour play time)

836 days ago

You can build Mechs, Spider Mechs, Tanks, Cars, Sleds, Aerocrafts, Rotorcrafts, and Hovercrafts. You can also combine the different kinds of crafts, a popular one being a combination of an aerocraft and rotorcraft making a VTOL capable aerocraft, or a spider mech and rotorcraft creating a highly maneuverable spider mech (fairly popular with long ranged weaponry).

avatar

You

Now

How much fun are the weapons in Robocraft?

1
aycfes (after 10 days 22 hours play time)

913 days ago

A LOT

Dman1012 (after 2 hours play time)

933 days ago

There are many weapons to choose from, they all have different ways of dealing damage and ranges. I like shooting the guns off enemies until the go KABOOM!!!

intra1004 (after 85 days 1 hour play time)

913 days ago

SMG and LOML effects are good and very fuuny to destroy flyers with new weapons

92
PCGamesN Dev (after 1 day 4 hours play time)

1249 days ago

Blowing **** up is great fun, there is something very satisfying about getting the perfect hit on your enemy

swansun2 (after 5 hours play time)

912 days ago

****ING AWESOME
but i hate aeroflaks
lol

Spyder7 (after 3 days 1 hour play time)

908 days ago

Lots of fun. The weapons remind me of Quake Arena or Unreal Tournament in the way that they are all totally unique but also effective and extremely simple.

PCGamesN Dev made a great point. Lasers are a very reliable weapon, but there is something special about watching a set of plasma orbs devastate a target after a well-planned transit.

23
Grave Knight (after 22 days 1 hour play time)

836 days ago

The Lasers, Rails, and Plasma Launchers are probably the most fun weapons due to also being the most aim skill weapons. Ion Disruptor and Tesla are harder to use, requiring movement tactics to get in close. The Protoseeker and Lock-On Missile Launcher, in my opinion, are the most boring weapons due to their low-skill lock on capabilities. Nano Constructors, though not actually a weapon, are pretty good too for those who like to play support.

Aso-Zac (after 49 days 4 hours play time)

908 days ago

Extreamly fun!

avatar

You

Now

Have you come up with any clever strategies in Robocraft?

Dman1012 (after 2 hours play time)

933 days ago

I would shoot off all of the other robots' accessories, (guns, wheels, etc.). After that, they won't have anywhere to go or anything to shoot you with. This is what I do at least, you might have a different one.

1
aycfes (after 10 days 22 hours play time)

913 days ago

More than loads, as it is half sandbox half shooter you ha tons of complex and simple building and fighting strategies.

swansun2 (after 5 hours play time)

912 days ago

Yeah. You can too, Making them are easy.

arra90 (after 15 days 11 hours play time)

911 days ago

Peek-a-missile-boom 10/10 would lock on again

Spyder7 (after 3 days 1 hour play time)

908 days ago

Redundancy. In the ideal robot, no single brick is any more valuable than the rest. My most powerful opponents never stopped fighting - rather, whittling their robot away to the final scraps still leaves enough of it to fight back.

23
Grave Knight (after 22 days 1 hour play time)

836 days ago

Wouldn't call them strategies per say, but I have come with clever attack methods especially with the Blink Module (teleporter). Blink onto high ground and surprise the enemy from above, or use the high ground as a long route to a tactical position (great for capturing towers behind enemy lines). I'm also a big fan of flanking actions with high speed bots.

avatar

You

Now

How well does Robocraft let you develop your character?

1
aycfes (after 10 days 22 hours play time)

913 days ago

Realy well, you can built it wow ever you want (those are generic questions made to fit almost anny game, aren't they?)

92
PCGamesN Dev (after 1 day 4 hours play time)

1249 days ago

You go up levels by gaining XP in matches, this allows you to add more bits to your bot, components have to be bought by earning RP in the game. Basically the more you play the more components you have access to and the more components you can add to your bot

intra1004 (after 85 days 1 hour play time)

913 days ago

hmm after the battle arena came out,users are significantly more performance here so that point is although slightly less but still interesting and can make fuuny bot, especialy with coloring function.

swansun2 (after 5 hours play time)

912 days ago

Really well!

avatar

908 days ago

Infinity

avatar

You

Now

How open is Robocraft to explore?

1
aycfes (after 10 days 22 hours play time)

913 days ago

Not realy that much, you have an awsome view in the garage and realy cool maps to play on but you are limited to them, however it desn't realy matter, map exploring is it's point

swansun2 (after 5 hours play time)

912 days ago

Uh, It's more of a fighting game so not very.

Aso-Zac (after 49 days 4 hours play time)

908 days ago

its more like an arena so not much to explore...

avatar

You

Now

How deep is the crafting in Robocraft?

1
aycfes (after 10 days 22 hours play time)

913 days ago

Depends on you, you can make your bots simple or ridiculously complex (like me)

Spyder7 (after 3 days 1 hour play time)

908 days ago

Designing my robots reminds me of tank design in WWII. You can start with literally any shape or idea and refine it. I love to see my robot start as a sleek prototype and evolve over time. Experience with your robot in battles will lead to myriad changes which will influence it's look and performance.

Even losing is a thrill - it's always intriguing to see the design of the War Machine your enemy used to absorb gigajoules of laser before evaporating your own robot. I don't know how many times I've thought, "If my armor were just a little thicker here..." or "if I'd had one more backup cannon...". The construction is both completely open-ended and affects every moment of the game, and it's one of Robocraft's strongest points.

avatar

You

Now

How realistic is Robocraft?

swansun2 (after 5 hours play time)

912 days ago

Not at all but really fun
There is air though, LOL

1
aycfes (after 10 days 22 hours play time)

913 days ago

... ... Not that much, but it desn't make it anny less fun.

avatar

You

Now

How good an FPS is Robocraft?

1
aycfes (after 10 days 22 hours play time)

913 days ago

An awsome one, and definently the one with the most variety

avatar

You

Now

How fair is the free-to-play model in Robocraft?

92
PCGamesN Dev (after 1 day 4 hours play time)

1249 days ago

Pretty fair, you can advance much quicker by paying for premium but you do miss out on learning the game in lower tiers. To my knowledge you cannot buy advantages with real money

1
aycfes (after 10 days 22 hours play time)

913 days ago

The compleate opposite of p2w, if you pay real money to level up faster you're the only one with problems (you would get in a match where everyone is far better than you, thus wouldn't last a second)

Spyder7 (after 3 days 1 hour play time)

908 days ago

Just about perfect. Nothing can be bought with $$$ for an otherwise unattainable advantage, but there is a wide variety of attractive cosmetic options, boosters, and pre-built robots with average performance for those who want to support the game and get something special for the effort. This is the best balance between community and monetization I've seen, imho

Dman1012 (after 2 hours play time)

933 days ago

It is very fun, as I haven't paid so I know. Even though you don't progress as fast you still have a blast!

swansun2 (after 5 hours play time)

912 days ago

Good enough

avatar

You

Now

Should you buy Robocraft now or wait for it to come out of Early Access?

1
aycfes (after 10 days 22 hours play time)

913 days ago

It is still in alpha but has loads more content and fun than manny oficialy released games

92
PCGamesN Dev (after 1 day 4 hours play time)

1249 days ago

No, there is no risk here. The game is free and completely playable. You can pay money to help you advance but it isn't compulsory. As always with free to play, only spend money if you have spare cash. For me I have got a load of enjoyment out of it so I spent about £5 just to help continue development.

Spyder7 (after 3 days 1 hour play time)

908 days ago

Now is fine. This game is NOT in alpha. People these days abuse that term and now it's a totally useless descriptor. This game is a finished and functional piece of software which remains under productive curation.

swansun2 (after 5 hours play time)

912 days ago

Buy it now, Probably. Watch a Let's-Play of it and learn your self.

arra90 (after 15 days 11 hours play time)

911 days ago

waddayou mean with buy? its free you dembess

xxminecrafterpro (after 2 days 9 hours play time)

912 days ago

Wait till it is outta early access cause alot of bugs.

avatar

You

Now

How good are Freejam at releasing regular updates?

1
aycfes (after 10 days 22 hours play time)

913 days ago

All the time, they are ridiculously frequent, one came out just yesterday

avatar

908 days ago

Wow nices updates of freejam

92
PCGamesN Dev (after 1 day 4 hours play time)

1249 days ago

Not very often, once every few months, the game is more or less complete, most updates are for more content which I hope they continue.

xxminecrafterpro (after 2 days 9 hours play time)

912 days ago

Bad.

Aso-Zac (after 49 days 4 hours play time)

908 days ago

Awesomely good but if it makes my game lag then its no bueno because I only have the minimum requirement to play this game...

Spyder7 (after 3 days 1 hour play time)

908 days ago

As of 1/2016, awesome. Since I started playing a long time ago, the game has receive regular, high-quality updates and additions with staggering consistence.

avatar

You

Now

Have you bought anything in Robocraft? How happy were you with your purchase?

92
PCGamesN Dev (after 1 day 4 hours play time)

1249 days ago

Yes, spend about £5, purely as I have had a load of time playing. Wasn't to pay-to-win or anything. If I enjoy a free to play game I always put some money in to hopefully allow them to continue developing

1
aycfes (after 10 days 22 hours play time)

913 days ago

Nope, i can't afford to do so.

avatar

908 days ago

10 dollares

avatar

You

Now

What do the robots in Robocraft do?

xxminecrafterpro (after 2 days 9 hours play time)

912 days ago

Fight?

Aso-Zac (after 49 days 4 hours play time)

908 days ago

Shoot,bomb,heal,melee,spotting,flip,walk,run,drive,fly,spinning,hover,jump,drifting,explode,

92
PCGamesN Dev (after 1 day 4 hours play time)

1249 days ago

They blow **** up, usually me

1
aycfes (after 10 days 22 hours play time)

913 days ago

Run walk, fly, climb, shoot, destroy and blow up

avatar

908 days ago

Hardcores full battle

swansun2 (after 5 hours play time)

912 days ago

Explode, Fly, Drive, and shoot shoot

avatar

You

Now

How funny is Robocraft?

1
aycfes (after 10 days 22 hours play time)

913 days ago

There are some situations that are so funny thay you can't even play properly XD

Dman1012 (after 2 hours play time)

933 days ago

Very funny in my eyes, there are these hilarious walker things and when you blow one leg off they just hop around.

swansun2 (after 5 hours play time)

912 days ago

LOLOLOLOLOLOLO

avatar

908 days ago

Very very

Aso-Zac (after 49 days 4 hours play time)

908 days ago

When glitch happen

Spyder7 (after 3 days 1 hour play time)

908 days ago

It's not "ha-ha" funny, but this is definitely more light-hearted than most fighting games. It's not at all "cutesy" but there are certainly times that will make you smile wide.

Watching an entire team barrel murderously after the enemy team's remaining jet engine+rudder can definitely tickle the funny bone.

avatar

You

Now

How much freedom does Robocraft give you?

1
aycfes (after 10 days 22 hours play time)

913 days ago

So much that this question sounds like a joke, realy, you can do almost annything that comes into your mind

92
PCGamesN Dev (after 1 day 4 hours play time)

1249 days ago

The building mechanic is very free, you can make anything from a borg cube to something that resembles a spitfire. You limits are based on your level and components you own. All of which you earn by playing.

swansun2 (after 5 hours play time)

912 days ago

A LOT

avatar

908 days ago

Hardcore

Spyder7 (after 3 days 1 hour play time)

908 days ago

A lot. It's not infinite - there are size restrictions, and when you're a low level your robots can't be supermassive. After purchasing the Megabot upgrade you can build almost any size of robot that you'd care to build.

The other day I built a walking Obelisk of Light, and the next I built a hovering battleship Bismarck, complete with broadside action. You get a LOT of freedom.

avatar

You

Now

How good are the graphics in Robocraft?

Aso-Zac (after 49 days 4 hours play time)

908 days ago

Pretty good I like the style except the colours freejam gave its a little bit girly

92
PCGamesN Dev (after 1 day 4 hours play time)

1249 days ago

Graphic are okay, the art style is nice, due to the voxel/block structure of the bots it can look like lego but that is part of the appeal.

1
aycfes (after 10 days 22 hours play time)

913 days ago

Good, not ridiculously awsome but above average.

Spyder7 (after 3 days 1 hour play time)

908 days ago

They are OK. It has haze and reflections and shadows, but it's all very bare. It has a transitional look to it, like the games a few years ago that had all the effects but not enough detail; I think that's the case with detail here. The maps are very bare. They're tactically fantastic, but they are visually very bland. They have little in them and it translates to "functionally empty" rather than "aesthetically minimal". It's not ugly by any definition, but there is nothing special to see here.

swansun2 (after 5 hours play time)

912 days ago

Pretty good.

avatar

You

Now

How good are the sounds in Robocraft?

swansun2 (after 5 hours play time)

912 days ago

Great!

Dman1012 (after 2 hours play time)

933 days ago

The sounds are really cool, when you're driving shooting and crashing. And more!

1
aycfes (after 10 days 22 hours play time)

913 days ago

Good, i dont have much to say about it, however.

arra90 (after 15 days 11 hours play time)

911 days ago

kapow-pow-pow-pow-pow-pow and reload

Aso-Zac (after 49 days 4 hours play time)

908 days ago

Very good I only don't like the smg sounds of wasp,hornet and blaster

avatar

You

Now

How does Robocraft run on your PC?

1
aycfes (after 10 days 22 hours play time)

913 days ago

It doesn't run, it flyes, i have no problems, it could even run on my old one (20 years old)

xxminecrafterpro (after 2 days 9 hours play time)

912 days ago

Laggy for me, but i have a beefy pc. can run battlefield.nfs 2015 ect.

92
PCGamesN Dev (after 1 day 4 hours play time)

1249 days ago

Runs perfect on mine (i5-4670k, radeon 9800 series) with 10 v 10 bots and all things exploding.

swansun2 (after 5 hours play time)

912 days ago

aewsumliy

avatar

908 days ago

Har very very compatible on 120 fps

Aso-Zac (after 49 days 4 hours play time)

908 days ago

A bit laggy becuase I have the minimum requirement except I have 3gb ram and the game need at least 4gb so I only need to upgrade my ram

avatar

You

Now

How good is the Mac port of Robocraft?

Dman1012 (after 2 hours play time)

933 days ago

I play on a Mac and it works just as well as it does on my brother's PC.

avatar

You

Now

How active is the PvP community in Robocraft?

1
aycfes (after 10 days 22 hours play time)

913 days ago

Very active, it doesn't take much to get into a game, the max i have bot is about 2 minutes

92
PCGamesN Dev (after 1 day 4 hours play time)

1249 days ago

Initially doesn't look very active but it is rare for me to wait more than 10 seconds to be in a game. PvP seems quite fair, haven't met any OP players (at time of writing)

swansun2 (after 5 hours play time)

912 days ago

VEEEEEEEEEEEEEEERY ACTIVE.

Aso-Zac (after 49 days 4 hours play time)

908 days ago

doesn't take too long to get in a make so its pretty much active

avatar

You

Now

Why do gamers stop playing Robocraft after a short period

swansun2 (after 5 hours play time)

912 days ago

Wanted to play some ROBLOX so i got off.

What are gamers first impressions of Robocraft

Dman1012 (after 2 hours play time)

933 days ago

Yes, in fact a lot of fun.

Why do gamers keep coming back to Robocraft

1
aycfes (after 10 days 22 hours play time)

913 days ago

No idea, i just love it :3

xxminecrafterpro (after 2 days 9 hours play time)

912 days ago

Auh? the building.