Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order difficulty settings explained

Here’s what changes when you up the difficulty setting to Grand Master

Star Wars Jedi Fallen Order difficulty settings

What’s the difference between the four different Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order difficulty settings? Respawn Entertainment has clearly been drawing on the Dark Souls series and Metroidvania genre for inspiration for Fallen Order. There Meditation Circles instead of bonfires, you have to backtrack and reclaim XP if you die, parrying is key to winning in combat, and you can unlock heaps of new paths to make world traversal easier.

More than any of that however, Fallen Order is tough. Maybe not quite as tough as the notorious Dark Souls series, but definitely mean enough to punish most of your mistakes. Respawn Entertainment has therefore built in four Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order difficulty settings for players to choose from as they play through the game: story, Jedi Knight, Jedi Master, and Grand Master.

But what’s the difference between these difficulty settings? You may not want the journey to be too difficult and filled with tanky enemies for you to laboriously whittle down with your lightsaber, so we’ve broken down what each of the difficulty setting means, and what actually changes when you jump between them.

Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order difficulty settings

Here’s a breakdown of each difficulty setting:

  • Story
    If you simply want to enjoy the story and world then this is the best difficulty mode for you.
  • Jedi Knight
    This is the standard difficulty.
  • Jedi Master
    Much tougher and for fans of melee-focused adventure games.
  • Grand Master
    Only for the most experienced players.

What happens when you change difficulty settings in Fallen Order?

Thankfully, increasing the difficulty setting won’t put you against tanky enemies, so lightsaber combat still feels powerful and satisfying. Instead, harder difficulty settings will make enemies much more aggressive and more likely to gang up on you.

Likewise, enemies will hit harder and you’ll have less time to get in your parry attacks, which are you’re most effective move in combat. So, even on the hardest difficulty, you’ll still be able to slice a stormtrooper in half with one swing.

How to change difficulties in Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order

You don’t need to do anything fancy to make life easier for you in Fallen Order. At any point where you want to knock the difficulty setting down you can simply hop into the options and do so.

We’ve got plenty more info on the latest Star Wars game, including our Jedi: Fallen Order review, a guide to answer how long is Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order, and our list of the best Star Wars games on PC.

{"schema":{"page":{"content":{"headline":"Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order difficulty settings explained","type":"guide","category":"star-wars-jedi-fallen-order"},"user":{"loginstatus":false},"game":{"publisher":"Electronic Arts","genre":"","title":"Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order","genres":[]}}}}