The Steam Summer Sale 2019 dates have leaked | PCGamesN

The Steam Summer Sale 2019 dates have leaked

The Steam summer sale has, over the years, becoming something of a PC gaming tradition. In recent years, however, that tradition has been accompanied by another, as the sale’s start date leaks way ahead of any official announcement. Unsurprisingly, the 2019 Summer Sale has proven no exception.

According to SteamCN (confirmed via SteamDB, translated via Google), this year’s Steam summer sale will begin in the early hours of the morning of June 26 for Chinese players. In the west, that means the discounts will begin at 18:00 BST on June 25 (13:00 ET, 10:00 PT). The event is set to last for around two weeks, ending on July 9.

As before, it seems as though event-specific trading cards will show up once again, so if you’re keen to grind up your Steam level, this will be a good time to do so. More importantly, however, there’ll be massive discounts literally all over the shop, so it’ll be an even better time to pick up some pretty significant bargains.

This time out, however, it looks like Steam might have more competition than normal, as the Epic Games store appears to be gearing up for its first major sale. A Fortnite message recently (and accidentally) referred to something called the Epic Games store Megasale, and a follow-up tweet suggested we’ll have more information pretty soon.

Related: The Epic Games store now seems to be available in China

Nevertheless, even all of Epic’s exclusives aren’t likely to rival the sheer number of discounts on offer on Steam. Now might be a good time to start preparing your wallets.

Clicking on links in articles to retailers or publishers may mean we earn a small commission.