Now that Steam has proper soundtrack support, there’s a massive Steam sale on game music

After years of simply dumping MP3s in your game install folders, Steam finally offers proper support for game soundtracks, complete with a proper music player and a unique spot in your library. In an effort to highlight the new features, Valve has launched a Steam soundtrack sale with hundreds of discounts on excellent OSTs.

The soundtracks on sale include everything from classics like Planescape Torment, modern bangers like Doom 2016, indie favourites like Stardew Valley, and even new releases like Disco Elysium. The sale is currently underway, and lasts until February 14 at 10:00 PST / 13:00 EST / 18:00 GMT.

If you’re not in the mood to buy anything, the sale page also includes the ‘Steam soundtrack sale radio’, so if you want a tab open with loads of game music to enjoy throughout the next few days, you’re covered. The page additionally highlights some special features of the soundtrack updates, including music with high-quality audio format options.

All Steam soundtracks support MP3s, but developers also have the option of providing a higher quality alternative like FLAC, as well. (Developers have to convert old soundtracks to the new format manually, so you might not see all your OSTs in the proper music section of Steam, but once they do it will automatically move over – no need to purchase the soundtrack again.)

If you’re looking for things to, y’know, play that won’t break the bank, check out some great free Steam games here. But if you need to liven up the workday with some musical goodness, you know where to go.