Teamfight Tactics gets a $125,000 tournament courtesy of Twitch Rivals | PCGamesN

Teamfight Tactics gets a $125,000 tournament courtesy of Twitch Rivals

If you’ve blinked recently, you might’ve missed that autobattlers are suddenly a genre, and like any multiplayer-focused game type, that means it’s time for esports. Teamfight Tactics gets its first major tournament this month courtesy of Twitch Rivals, as 64 players battle it out over a $125,000 USD prize pool.

The tournament kicks off on July 17 at 9:00 PDT / 12:00 EDT / 17:00 BST, as a group of 32 invited streamers compete to qualify for the finals. The second group of 32 compete at 13:45 PDT / 16:45 EDT / 21:45 BST to fill out the bracket. The top eight players from each group will move on to the finals on July 18, starting at 9:00 PDT / 12:00 EDT / 17:00 BST.

Drodo Studio announced its plans for Auto Chess esports last month, though that tournament won’t kick off until August. It will, however, feature an even more substantial prize pool of $1 million USD.

The brackets for Twitch Rivals’ Teamfight Tactics Showdown haven’t yet been announced, but you can check out the official site for results as the tournament gets underway. Naturally, you’ll be able to view the action through the usual Twitch Rivals streams.

Read more: Check out the best strategy games on PC

Check out some of the best Teamfight Tactics comps if you’re looking to up your game as things get competitive – or you just want to have some context on the state of the meta once the streaming starts.

Clicking on links in articles to retailers or publishers may mean we earn a small commission.