Back to Top

Try out the new and improved Division for free this weekend

The Division

Clearly feeling confident after its recent, well-received changes, Ubisoft are making The Division free on PC this weekend. Pre-loading is now live on UPlay if you’re keen to get cracking as soon as the event kicks off.

The Division didn’t make our list of the best multiplayer games on PC, but maybe it’s worth a look after its improvements.

The free weekend kicks off at 6pm GMT tonight (that’s 7pm CET, 1pm Eastern, or 10am Pacific) and will run until 9pm GMT on December 18. You’ll be able to play all of the base game, including its many updates, but premium DLC content is off limits.

Unfortunately this means you won’t be able to play the new Survival game mode, but you will be able to enjoy the quality-of-life improvements and economy rebalances which make the game much more accessible compared to its condition before the 1.4 update.

If you enjoy yourself, there’s a half-price discount on the standard (down to £19.99) and gold editions (down to £32.49, includes the season pass) of the full game, as well as individual purchases of the season pass (down to £14.99) or the Underground DLC (down to £5.99). Your progress will carry over from the free weekend to the base game.

The Division is a shared-world social shooter in which you join forces with other special agents to restore order to Manhattan after it is devastated by a plague. It was one of this year’s most anticipated games, but its journey since its launch in March has not always been smooth, with glitches, imbalances and cheaters ruining the experience for many on PC. Following a major overhaul in October, however, Ubisoft have seen many players return.

It seems the game may be in its best ever condition, so if you usually enjoy this sort of thing, now’s the perfect time to give it a try.

Back to Navigation