The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt Review

What bits are on display? Boobs? Dongs? Erect or floppy? Give us details. LOTS OF DETAILS.

417
1N07 (after 3 days 3 hours play time)

691 days ago

Boobs, sex and beautiful female forms everywhere!
Not that much schlong to be seen so far(about half way in) though... floppy or otherwise.

140
LordCrash (after 4 days 16 hours play time)

510 days ago

Is that a real question?

avatar

325 days ago

Strangely, I disagree with many of the people here. There is exactly ONE sex scene here. It's plastered on all of the different faces you may choose to have sex with. I found that rather disappointing, tbh.

169

331 days ago

There's certainly plenty of flesh on display. It's refreshing to play a game that doesn't shy away from sex and treats its audience like adults. Murdering folks in gratuitous and inventive ways has become par for the course in modern gaming, but all but the most daring of developers are still loath to display the naked human form! Well done CD Projekt on being all grown up and such like.

Remi (after 6 days 11 hours play time)

151 days ago

Amazing game :)

Badongkadong (after 4 days 9 hours play time)

35 days ago

The Witcher series has moved from strength to strength and not lost any of the magic from its predecessors. What makes it so engaging for me is the attention to detail and how they craft each individual quest. There are so many grey area quests which makes you truly question if your decision was the right one. Heck, it might be right at the time but what about in the long term for the region? Do you make a deal with the devil to save some children but condemn a village of innocents? Wait, were they really that innocent if... you get the picture.
The gameplay would be repetitive as the quests boil down to monster slaying or treasure hunting but it's the context, the environment and the story telling woven through the game that really makes you want to keep playing. Having said that, I've burnt myself out these last few weeks on this game. I do need a break but because I am bored but because it is at times intense and deeply involving. I need something a bit lighter to allow my brain the time it needs to recuperate before I go and butcher some more nekkers and drowners.

423

475 days ago

There's boobs, lots of boobs and sex scenes.

avatar

You

Now

Does magic in The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt feel powerful?

140
LordCrash (after 4 days 16 hours play time)

510 days ago

No.

417
1N07 (after 3 days 3 hours play time)

691 days ago

I the witcher you use signs. They are a sort of magic and it certainly feels gratifying to use, but I would call it a selling point.
There are actual mages too though. They seem powerful enough.

423

475 days ago

Magic used by actual sorceress' yes. Witcher signs used by Geralt? Not so much. They do come in handy and at higher difficulties are essential to defeating foes, but they don't feel 'powerful' as you'd expect from proper magic.

169

331 days ago

Magic in Witcher 3 (at least that used by Geralt) is sort of ancillary. Rather than act as stand alone method of doing away with hoards of enemies 'Witcher signs' improve your abilities both in and out of physical combat.

avatar

You

Now

How good is the The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt story?

169

331 days ago

I'm not very far into the game yet, but I can honestly say that the writing in Witcher 3 ranks among some of the very best I have ever encountered in a game. The main quest arc is engaging, with a nice plot and well realized characters. Add to that the numerous side-quests, which often have a deep narrative element in their own right, and you're on to a winner.

417
1N07 (after 3 days 3 hours play time)

691 days ago

It's a very story driven game and a great one at that, so absolutely.
But why not enjoy the challenge that the combat and preparation can offer at higher difficulties.

140
LordCrash (after 4 days 16 hours play time)

510 days ago

It's very promising at the beginning with some great questlines like the one with the Red Baron's family. But the quality of the story really gets worse after that with weird story decisions, underused characters (like the Wild Hunt) and a tragically bad ending. Newcomers to the series will like it since it's still a lot better than typical (AAA) video game standards but old-schoolers and people who loved the predecessors and especially the novels will very likely be disappointed.

avatar

You

Now

What makes The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt mature?

140
LordCrash (after 4 days 16 hours play time)

510 days ago

Sadly, not much anymore. It's a step back from TW1 and TW2, certainly in order to appeal to a bigger market. Compared to the novels TW3 is really immature.

169

331 days ago

In the main the Witcher 3 is no more mature than many other RPGs on the market. The core mechanics of the game still involve clearing dungeons, slaying monsters and collecting loot. The nudity on display, while refreshingly honest, is really just window dressing. Where Witcher 3 finds its true maturity is in the themes it tackles and it's blunt insistence that actions lead to consequences. Many games claim that 'your decisions will effect the game-world' and that they give you 'freedom of choice', but almost always there is a 'right' and a 'wrong' way to get things done. In The Witcher 3, as in life, there is often no right choice, but you are always left to deal with the consequences regardless.

417
1N07 (after 3 days 3 hours play time)

691 days ago

Boobs, sex, blood, guts, beheading, gambling and the deep voice of Geralt.
Did I mention boobs?

avatar

You

Now

How much freedom does The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt give you?

140
LordCrash (after 4 days 16 hours play time)

510 days ago

Depends how you define freedom. You have a lot of freedom to walk around, doing mostly kind of pointless things like killing things and well, walking around. Sadly, narrative freedom is mostly only present in side quests, especially after you reach a certain point in the story. The combat gameplay itself doesn't give much freedom since it's relatively restricted to stuff you can already do from the beginning.

169

331 days ago

The Witcher 3 gives you a substantial amount of freedom in the sense that it doesn't insist on your sticking rigidly to the main narrative path. That said, like many other 'open world' RPGs, where you go and what you do is restricted, to an extent, by leveling. You might pick up a level 20 side quest early on in the game, but if you're only on level 6 it's kind of pointless chasing it up as you're only going to wind up getting minced.

417
1N07 (after 3 days 3 hours play time)

691 days ago

You can pretty much go where ever when ever you want almost right from the start. There are places that have a lot of higher level monsters though, so you might not want to go to just anywhere if you aren't prepared for a fight or flight.

avatar

You

Now

Is The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt grindy?

417
1N07 (after 3 days 3 hours play time)

691 days ago

It depends a lot on your fighting skills. If you're good you can generally defeat enemies about 10 levels higher than yourself at most, but much more than that and it might be next to impossible in some cases.

For example: I tried fighting a stone golem of some sort, that was like 15 levels higher than me. It killed me in two hits and though I tried to fight the long fight, with dodging around, all possible preparation, signs(the game's magic) and potions, I only got it to about half of it health and that was after a hundred or more hits...

140
LordCrash (after 4 days 16 hours play time)

510 days ago

Yes and no. It's a lot more grindy than its predecessors but less than games like Fallout 4 or Dragon Age Inquisition. But typical for open world games it always comes with a certain amount of grinding.

169

331 days ago

I haven't found it particularly grindy so far. Although you're fundamentally doing the same thing throughout the game i.e. killing monsters, each quest feels sufficiently different from the next as to mask any sense of grind.

avatar

You

Now

Does The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt allow for a good range of character builds?

169

331 days ago

You are Geralt whether you like it or not!

417
1N07 (after 3 days 3 hours play time)

691 days ago

Nothing especially good in terms of range of character builds, but you can definitely play it the way you want to.
There are 4 different skill trees. sword fighting/crossbow, signs(magic), alchemy and special skills or stat boosts.

140
LordCrash (after 4 days 16 hours play time)

510 days ago

Actually, no. Geralt is too much of a very well predefined character to make that happen. In terms of character builds TW3 is more like a traditional action-adventure than an RPG.

avatar

You

Now

How open is The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt to explore?

417
1N07 (after 3 days 3 hours play time)

691 days ago

Very. It has a HUGE open world that has somehow managed to retain the attention to detail that the (previously a bit limited in these terms)franchise is known for.

140
LordCrash (after 4 days 16 hours play time)

510 days ago

Very open in theory, but in practiced often limited by enemy levels.

169

331 days ago

The game world in The Witcher 3 is enormous and you're free to go where you want, though it's not advisable to venture into certain areas until you've leveled up appropriately.

avatar

You

Now

How fair are loot drops in The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt?

417
1N07 (after 3 days 3 hours play time)

691 days ago

Pretty fair. random loot drops from basic enemies generally are... well general, but there are plenty of rarer treasures to find and fight for.

169

331 days ago

Loot drops are good, a nice range of consumables, weapons, armor and crafting components can be found on even the most basic enemies. Though, naturally, the more powerful the enemy, the greater the reward.

avatar

You

Now

How good are the graphics in The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt?

417
1N07 (after 3 days 3 hours play time)

691 days ago

Excellent. There was a pretty publicized downgrade, but it still looks absolutely stunning and it continues to be patched with performance improvements and even better graphics.

169

331 days ago

Very impressive! Sometimes it feels like you're playing in an interactive landscape painting .

140
LordCrash (after 4 days 16 hours play time)

510 days ago

very good

423

475 days ago

Unreal.

avatar

You

Now

How does The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt run on your PC?

417
1N07 (after 3 days 3 hours play time)

691 days ago

Runs pretty well on my GTX770 and FX-8350. I can get an average of maybe 50FPS at about high settings with hairworks turned off.
No problems with the performance, no chrashes or hardly even any bugs for me.
I've heard that some people have had some crashes and some bugs with geralt's model though. The bugs are mostly fixed by now.

140
LordCrash (after 4 days 16 hours play time)

510 days ago

very good

169

331 days ago

It crashed the very first time I loaded it, but other than that, sweet as a nut! GTX 880M with Core i7-4710MQ 2.5GHz

avatar

325 days ago

My CPU is below spec - a 6 y/o i7-920. Thanks to CDPR's impressive optimization, I can still play on high-ultra with hairworks turned off. It's the only game I can think of that truly takes advantage of the entire CPU.

One update caused a massive amount of stuttering on GTX 970 cards. After much grief, it turned out the cause was because I did not have a controller plugged in. Fortunately, that problem has since been addressed. I have not witnessed any crashes on my system.

avatar

You

Now

How good are the sounds in The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt?

417
1N07 (after 3 days 3 hours play time)

691 days ago

Great. Everything from environmental sounds to dialogue sounds good.

Some awkward crowd cheering noises though. It has been a problem in the earlier Witcher's as well. When a crowd of 20-ish people cheer it sounds unnatural, weirdly timed, out of place and like a hundred people...
Not a problem with background chatter, just specific cheers.

140
LordCrash (after 4 days 16 hours play time)

510 days ago

very good

169

331 days ago

I love the sound in this game, particularly the random vocalizations made by peasants... they're so varied (and often funny) that they don't feel repetitive at all.

avatar

You

Now

What do gamers think of The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt after many hours of playing

417
1N07 (after 3 days 3 hours play time)

691 days ago

Sure am.

Why do gamers keep coming back to The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt

417
1N07 (after 3 days 3 hours play time)

691 days ago

The amazingly unique and interesting side quests, awesome main story and the very skill dependent and fun combat mechanics.

Dishonored 2 Review
Dishonored 2 Review

avataravataravataravataravatar

5 reviewers answered 7 questions