Tomb Raider Review | PCGamesN

Tomb Raider Review

How open is Tomb Raider to explore?

avatar

502 days ago

Its a very best game ever

652
NihlusGreen (after 23 hours play time)

952 days ago

There are some large areas but others not so large.

avatar

You

Now

How sneaky can you be in Tomb Raider?

652
NihlusGreen (after 23 hours play time)

952 days ago

Stealth features heavily in this game, as does going loud, you have the choice to do either in a lot of situations.

avatar

You

Now

How much fun are the weapons in Tomb Raider?

652
NihlusGreen (after 23 hours play time)

952 days ago

Gunplay is great and enjoyable. It's a 3rd person game so expect to take cover. Enemies initiating ambushes against you are fun. The bow and arrow is a standout.

avatar

You

Now

How well does Tomb Raider let you develop your character?

652
NihlusGreen (after 23 hours play time)

952 days ago

It's Lara's origin story so she is finding her feet towards killing people and her confidence in general. She feels like a passionate, freshly graduated archaeology student, unsure and untested in her abilities.

avatar

You

Now

How hard are the puzzles in Tomb Raider?

652
NihlusGreen (after 23 hours play time)

952 days ago

Some head scratching at times but most are straight forward, with occasional verbal hints as to what to try after some trial and error.

avatar

You

Now

What strategies have you learned to survive in Tomb Raider?

652
NihlusGreen (after 23 hours play time)

952 days ago

QTE button tapping! But really nothing we haven't experienced before.

avatar

You

Now

Is Tomb Raider frustrating?

652
NihlusGreen (after 23 hours play time)

952 days ago

Only the MP achievement aspect, though this is my personal preference and will not bother others who want an enjoyable adventure game without chasing everything down.

avatar

You

Now

How good is the Tomb Raider story?

652
NihlusGreen (after 23 hours play time)

952 days ago

Lara Crofts reboot / origin story is serviceable and action packed, though slightly predictable at times. It is still a very good single player game.

652
NihlusGreen (after 23 hours play time)

952 days ago

Lara Crofts reboot / origin story is serviceable and action packed, though slightly predictable at times. It is still a very good single player game.

avatar

You

Now

How does Tomb Raider compare to the other Tomb Raider games?

652
NihlusGreen (after 23 hours play time)

952 days ago

I've not previously played Tomb Raider.

avatar

You

Now

How active is the multiplayer community for Tomb Raider?

652
NihlusGreen (after 23 hours play time)

952 days ago

Completionists beware, Tomb Raider suffers from the least desirable, tacked on MP I have encountered.
Stats are regularly reset to 0, an issue across all platforms that was never corrected.
Maps have 2 spawn points only.
Hit boxes are wonky.
No one plays MP.
*You will need to find 2-3 others to help boost achievements if you desire 100%

avatar

You

Now

How good are the sounds in Tomb Raider?

652
NihlusGreen (after 23 hours play time)

952 days ago

Sound effects and vocals are great.

avatar

You

Now

How good are the graphics in Tomb Raider?

652
NihlusGreen (after 23 hours play time)

952 days ago

The graphics look pretty amazing (Win 7, i7, GTX980). I have taken plenty of screenshots (I always do for my adventures in good looking games) and have everything up to max, with the exceptions of depth of field, film grain and bloom turned off as my personal preference. The "camera" tends to get rain, water and snow stuck to the lens which I personally do not enjoy. Runs constantly at 92-110 FPS.

avatar

You

Now

How does Tomb Raider run on your PC?

652
NihlusGreen (after 23 hours play time)

952 days ago

Runs well though prone to crash when alt tabbing

avatar

You

Now

What do gamers think of Tomb Raider after many hours of playing

652
NihlusGreen (after 23 hours play time)

952 days ago

I am enjoying the single player immensely, it's worth picking up on the cheap.