Back to Top

Today’s your last chance to play the Valorant closed beta

Now we know the Valorant release date is set for June 2, it’s only a matter of days before we can hit the FPS game’s ground running out in the wild, and discover that shiny new content Riot’s teased. However, there’s a bit of work that needs doing to get the game ready for its full launch, which means it’ll be unavailable for a few days, starting from today (May 28).

Last week, Riot announced the Valorant closed beta would be going offline for good on May 28, a handful of days ahead of the multiplayer game’s full release, in order to enable the “team at Riot to reset player accounts, patch new content, and prepare for the beginning of Valorant’s worldwide launch”.

As this indicates, when Valorant re-emerges as a fully-fledged online shooter, players will “start fresh, progressing from the same starting line as they compete with players around the world”. So, beta progress won’t carry over to the live game, apart from your Valorant points (plus “20% bonus”), and goodies you’ve earned in the closed beta player pass.

The Valorant closed beta queues will end at 09:00 PT / 12:00 ET / 17:00 UK today (May 28) for all regions, according to the Valorant site. At 10:30 PT / 13:30 ET / 18:30 UK, the servers will go offline.

If the prospect of facing a big Valorant-shaped void for a few days is a little worrying, the good news is there’s lots to look forward to when it does arrive next week. Riot’s said there’s “new game content, a new game mode, a new agent, and a new map at launch”, so that release date will be doubly sweet when it rolls around.

The other good news is, with the game offline for a few days, you’ve got time to read up and prep, ready for its release – and we’ve got just the things to help. Take a look at our guides on the best Valorant weapons, Valorant spray patterns, and agents SageJett, and Sova to get ready for the game’s launch.

Back to Navigation