Warframe Review

How good an FPS is Warframe?

21
Dimuscul (after 18 days 23 hours play time)

500 days ago

Its not a FPS, its a ... TPS? (Third Person Shooter).

I find it good and interesting (thats why I have played it a lot, isn't it? XD). It has tons of weapons, shotguns, rifles, pistols, smg, grenade launchers ... tons of them.

And you can customize them with the cards, making them act just as you like. You wont find as much stuff on other shooters.

Hexxwitch (after 65 days 13 hours play time)

498 days ago

Not an FPS, but don't let that deter you. The weapons and animations are well done and the melee is fun.

G43rieL (after 89 days 20 hours play time)

424 days ago

The great point of Warframe is probably that it's community and Dev team aren't toxic like other game communities around, they are always close to it's players.
Sure having lots of updates and keeping the game fresh also helps.

Play with friends, join a clan, make friend in game. It's a way better experience to play it with someone rather than trying to soloing it. It's meant to be team game.

Also All Warframes are good, except for Atlas, that one you can't even say you play for fun cause it's not fun to play with it....

[Nibby] Xavier the Dragon Knight (after 3 days 2 hours play time)

150 days ago

Its a hack and slash mixed with a shooter

Taegire01 (after 145 days 11 hours play time)

79 days ago

Playing for 145 days and 11 hours... It's alright I guess

avatar
Gressklipper (after 63 days 22 hours play time)

280 days ago

Played this since beta. This game still keeps me interested with updates alle the time, so nothing stays the same. :) I love this game and think everybody who love casual co-op action games would love this. Not realy a FPS, it's third person, and that works realy well for this game as you do alot of running on walls etc and melee attack look alot better this way. :)

ko66628 (after 18 minutes play time)

268 days ago

badass D:

Ragdriel (after 29 days 22 hours play time)

108 days ago

I don't know about the FPS part, but Warframe is a good TPS, actually.

3
Beta_747 (after 1 day 23 hours play time)

500 days ago

It's definitely fun, it has an mmo type feel (I'm not sure if it technically is or not though) and with that comes a good deal of grinding for what you want. My main issue with it is that the levels and modes seem highly repetitive to me and the whole thing didnt quite give off the vibe I expected. Watch some game play on you tube. If you want to be a whirlwind of evisceration in the form of a space ninja, try it.

2
KriLL3 (after 201 days 14 hours play time)

121 days ago

Errm, it's a third person shooter primarily, so not an FPS?

Zimon4eR (after 52 days 1 hour play time)

54 days ago

Best F2P game at steam. if you like farm stuff.

avatar

You

Now

Does Warframe feel grindy?

21
Dimuscul (after 18 days 23 hours play time)

500 days ago

It can feel grindy. It all depends on how you focus on the game ... I like trying new weapons and warframes, so even if I repeat missions I have always new things to do ...

But I had friends that leaved the game because they found it repetitive.

A nice thing to note is that they devs add a lot of content, so even if you get tired for a while, you can come back later and there is a ton of new content!

3
Beta_747 (after 1 day 23 hours play time)

500 days ago

It certainly can, but its not really as painful as in some games

Hexxwitch (after 65 days 13 hours play time)

498 days ago

Not overly much. It can get a bit repetitive, especailly gathering resources or parts, but crqafting new weapons or gear to rank up keeps it from feeling too burdensome.

92
ZedClampet (after 17 hours play time)

325 days ago

I've never minded the grind. I'm always trying new warframes and weapons, etc. so it stays pretty fresh.

[Nibby] Xavier the Dragon Knight (after 3 days 2 hours play time)

150 days ago

If you are looking for specific items, then it gets prity grindy

avatar

You

Now

How does Warframe make you feel powerful?

3
Beta_747 (after 1 day 23 hours play time)

500 days ago

You become a whirlwind of death and destruction mercilessly cutting down droves of foes without breaking a sweat. The powers are badass too

Hexxwitch (after 65 days 13 hours play time)

498 days ago

Yes, in so many ways. These other guys said it all better than I could.

Taegire01 (after 145 days 11 hours play time)

79 days ago

Max Power strength Mirage with Hall of Malovence and a Quanta Vandal w/ God like Riven mod..
Shredding level 105 Grineer with no corrosive projection...
Feelsgoodman.jpg

21
Dimuscul (after 18 days 23 hours play time)

500 days ago

Yes, it made you feel powerful ... well, it depends a bit on what warframe you use. But they all have something special that make you feel badass while crushing tons of enemies in light burst of energy.

avatar

You

Now

How much fun are the weapons in Warframe?

21
Dimuscul (after 18 days 23 hours play time)

500 days ago

Quite a lot actually. There are weapons in almost all categories ... from rifles to electro-razor-whips ... and you can customize them as you wish. Not a lot of games have that.

Hexxwitch (after 65 days 13 hours play time)

498 days ago

Alot. There's something there for all your wants and needs. If a basic weapon isn't what you want , then it can always be dressed up with an element that makes it do more unique damage. These vary from basic fire or ice elements all the way up to blast damage.

avatar

You

Now

How well does Warframe let you develop your character?

21
Dimuscul (after 18 days 23 hours play time)

500 days ago

You can customize you loadout (in card form) to suit your needs and style, and you can choose between a big variety of warframes to fight with ... apart from this, you're a simple war machine, so no much "character" to develop.

[Nibby] Xavier the Dragon Knight (after 3 days 2 hours play time)

150 days ago

You can choose a character style and upgrade it, but there is not much individuality (until you get late game)

avatar

You

Now

How fair is the free-to-play model in Warframe?

21
Dimuscul (after 18 days 23 hours play time)

500 days ago

You can have everything by just playing ... som things are more grindy than others, but if you have time, everything is attainable.

My sons play without spending a dime, and are having all the fun, so I consider quite effective model :)

Hexxwitch (after 65 days 13 hours play time)

498 days ago

It's great, like the other guys said, you don't have to spend any real world cash at all if you don't want to. Almost everything can be earned with a little work inside the game or traded for in chat.

3
Beta_747 (after 1 day 23 hours play time)

500 days ago

Its excellent. It can be very hard to acquire some things without simply buying them but this is rare. Basically everything can be gotten through thorough play. I haven't spent money on it and don't feel pressured to do so by grinds etc

92
ZedClampet (after 17 hours play time)

325 days ago

It's pretty fair, but I got impatient and bought some platinum when they gave me a 75% off offer.

#ActionFanboy Lau (after 12 hours play time)

164 days ago

Looks alright if you could asked me!

Zimon4eR (after 52 days 1 hour play time)

54 days ago

You can buy 99% of items without donate.

avatar

You

Now

Is Warframe pay to win?

3
Beta_747 (after 1 day 23 hours play time)

500 days ago

Not remotely. 'Paytoskipthegrind' maybe, but whatever.

Hexxwitch (after 65 days 13 hours play time)

498 days ago

Not at all. Paying grants immediate access to certain things that would otherwise have to be sought out and crafted, that's it really.

[Nibby] Xavier the Dragon Knight (after 3 days 2 hours play time)

150 days ago

Read first post on this

Zimon4eR (after 52 days 1 hour play time)

54 days ago

No.

21
Dimuscul (after 18 days 23 hours play time)

500 days ago

Its mainly a coop game, so there is no "win" situation.

All the stuff can be acquired via gameplay (except some cosmetic stuff ... and even then you can have it anyway via the chat trades).

Money will make you have stuff sooner, that's all.

avatar

You

Now

Have you bought anything in Warframe? How happy were you with your purchase?

Hexxwitch (after 65 days 13 hours play time)

498 days ago

The only thing I really buy with platinum are cosmetic, so I'm usually pretty happy with purchases. Everything else i just work for in game most of the time.

92
ZedClampet (after 17 hours play time)

325 days ago

Yes. I'm loving the game so far and really wanted the Frost warframe and a couple of weapons and didn't want to wait. I don't mind sending devs money at all. Now if that was the only way to advance, that would be annoying, but I just satisfied my "I want it now!" urge.

21
Dimuscul (after 18 days 23 hours play time)

500 days ago

Yes I have purchased various things.I like the game, so I like to support them.

And while I enjoy every purchase I made ... sometimes I wish I hadn't because now I cannot win them myself via gameplay :P

And that's part of the fun.

avatar

You

Now

Does Warframe make you feel like a ninja?

21
Dimuscul (after 18 days 23 hours play time)

500 days ago

Of course you can feel like a ninja, and with the patch that reworked movement, its quite a lot easier to move around the map and reach hard spots. Its a game with a very fluid movement/gameplay.

3
Beta_747 (after 1 day 23 hours play time)

500 days ago

Hell yeah. Though animations can be repetitive

[Nibby] Xavier the Dragon Knight (after 3 days 2 hours play time)

150 days ago

The trailer said "Ninjas play free", YOU CAN RUN ALONG WALLS AND BULLET JUMP

Hexxwitch (after 65 days 13 hours play time)

498 days ago

Yeah, pretty much.

avatar

You

Now

What is the future like in Warframe?

21
Dimuscul (after 18 days 23 hours play time)

500 days ago

Strangely the Lore in Warframe is quite deep ... while you can do the "normal" missions that doesn't have lore at all, there are a series of history quests that expand upon the lore trying to teach you about the world in an interactive way.

The origen of the Tenno, Lotus, Stalker, the Sentients ... its all quite interesting if you ask me.

Hexxwitch (after 65 days 13 hours play time)

498 days ago

Shiny. The devs pay alot of attention to the game and it really keeps things fresh and exciting.

avatar

You

Now

How good are the graphics in Warframe?

3
Beta_747 (after 1 day 23 hours play time)

500 days ago

The graphics are quite good, but don't take a behemoth of a system to run

Hexxwitch (after 65 days 13 hours play time)

498 days ago

Good graphics that won't blow up a slightly older machine. My kid played it on a pretty outdated machine for a long while. Sometimes you look out the window on your ship and the views are amazing.

heckraizer (after 66 days play time)

318 days ago

The graphics are pretty amazing considering the fact you can run this on slightly older machines.

[Nibby] Xavier the Dragon Knight (after 3 days 2 hours play time)

150 days ago

Great for a free game

Zimon4eR (after 52 days 1 hour play time)

54 days ago

For a F2P game its great :D

avatar

You

Now

How grindy is PvE in Warframe?

3
Beta_747 (after 1 day 23 hours play time)

500 days ago

Its doable, so far

Hexxwitch (after 65 days 13 hours play time)

498 days ago

Not bad.

[Nibby] Xavier the Dragon Knight (after 3 days 2 hours play time)

150 days ago

Optional

avatar

You

Now

How does Warframe run on your PC?

heckraizer (after 66 days play time)

318 days ago

It runs super smooth I have an older computer and I run an average of 50fps.

Hexxwitch (after 65 days 13 hours play time)

498 days ago

Smooth as silk.

277

318 days ago

very smooth. I wish all games would run that smooth to be honest.

avatar

You

Now

How good are the sounds in Warframe?

Hexxwitch (after 65 days 13 hours play time)

498 days ago

The sounds are great.

avatar

You

Now

What do gamers think of Warframe after many hours of playing

3
Beta_747 (after 1 day 23 hours play time)

500 days ago

Yeah but I'm getting a little tired of the repetitive feeling missions, seems cut and paste sometimes

heckraizer Avatar
heckraizer(95 days 23 hours played)
10 Months ago
The missions can get kind of boring if you run the same mission over and over again but if you play with friends and try to challenge yourself you can still have tons of fun. I still have a lot of fun with this game and have over 1000 hours invested into it.
0

Why do gamers keep coming back to Warframe

21
Dimuscul (after 18 days 23 hours play time)

500 days ago

It's a very active dev team, even if I get tired of the game ... when I check back after a while it has tons of new content ... underwater missions, space missions, new warframes, new types of mission (like the spy ones), gameplay reworks (like movement), new cards.

So it always feels fresh when you come back after a while :)

Dishonored 2 Review
Dishonored 2 Review

avataravataravataravataravatar

5 reviewers answered 7 questions