Dota 2 International Day Four: Liveblog

Tu13asdfasdf

Yesterday we saw the power for Dendi and his Pudge for Na’Vi, as well as Alliance and their first game loss against DK. Two more teams were knocked out of the tournament: Team Liquid and Fnatic. Games in the winners bracket will be best of three’s, while games in the losers brackets are a lone best of one. I know which bracket I’d rather be in. Hang out with us here at PCGamesN, where our Dota 2 expert Nick Wilson will be covering the tournament all night long.

Orange vs TongFu – Game Three

Ti13fdmasod,ad

05:10M BST / 09:10PM PDT – Orange wins game three

And that’s it. Orange are through to the losers bracket final. TongFu tried their best but it wasn’t good enough. Again TongFu rest their hopes on the Anti-Mage, which did them well last game. However Orange just counter picked it with Naga Siren, who can easily lock him down. She was also a great counter to Enigma, using her Song of the Siren to render the Black Hole useless.

Orange displayed some exceptional play with their heroes, notably Visage and Nyx Assassin. At one point I saw a triple familiar stun from Visage, which requires no easy micro. Nyx Assassin on the other hand timed all his Spiked Carapaces well, reflecting the nukes from TongFu back at themselves.

Orange now face Na’Vi in the loser brackets final tomorrow, which is building up to be a good match. If Na’Vi play like they did today, Orange stand a real chance of making it to the finals. Speaking of which, Alliance lie in wait for either challenger to fight for the title. It’s going to be one hell of a day for Dota 2, one that will certainly go down in eSports history. Tune in tomorrow at 8pm BST for the last night of The International 2013. -Nick

05:05M BST / 09:05PM PDT – TongFu are about to get Tango’d

Orange are moments away from winning this. Anti-Mage is behind on farm, beaten by both Gyrocopter and Nature’s Prophet. It’s 14-2 in the favour of Orange, and the base is about to be broken.

I think this may be it. -Nick

04:55AM BST / 08:55PM PDT – First Blood

Orange score first blood as Gyrocopter slams a Call Down into Enigma. Rubick was on the retreat from the gank but was then taken out by a bouncing Nature’s Wrath from Nature’s Prophet. Unlucky. -Nick

04:40AM BST / 08:40PM PDT – The Draft

Orange:

  • Visage
  • Nature’s Prophet
  • Nyx Assassin
  • Gyrocopter
  • Naga Siren

TongFu:

  • Chen
  • Anti-Mage
  • Puck
  • Rubick
  • Enigma

Orange vs TongFu – Game Two

TI13fnmdaosd,

04:20AM BST / 08:20PM PDT – TongFu wins game two

Orange’s draft was a bit weak. Relying on just the Weaver alone for that high damage output late game was far too risky, especially if you can ruin him with a stolen Doom from Rubick. TongFu’s banana playing the Rubick did exceptionally well this game, stealing some very key spells that often turned the tides during fights.

Anti-Mage proves once again why he is such a powerful carry, buddying up with this tanky friend Dragon Knight. It’s such a versatile melee pair that can just slam into a fight like a wrecking ball.

Orange really need to draft better in game three if they want to win. They can do it, because we all saw them do it against IG. They need a good surprise pick that will take TongFu off guard, because right now they are being terribly predictable. -Nick

03:35AM BST / 07:35PM PDT – The Draft

Orange:

  • Doom
  • Bane
  • Nyx Assassin
  • Batrider
  • Weaver

TongFu:

  • Anti-Mage
  • Dark Seer
  • Visage
  • Rubick
  • Dragon Knight

Orange vs TongFu – Game One

TI13sdfasda

03:15AM BST / 07:15PM PDT – Orange wins the game

Vacuum into Storm Hammer is one scary combo, and strong enough to let Orange take game one. Sven can just wail away at the stunned clump of heroes with his God’s Strength, not to mention the damage coming out of the Wall of Replica.

We’re going to go to a game two, so don’t count TongFu out just yet! -Nick

02:45AM BST / 06:45PM PDT – First Blood

An engagement mid sees Orange receive first blood. It was a big team fight, but Puck managed to kill Nyx Assassin to secure the bonus gold. The overall fight also went in Orange’s favour, resulting in a 4-2 lead on kills. -Nick

02:35AM BST / 06:35PM PDT – The Draft

Orange:

  • Sven
  • Chen
  • Bane
  • Puck
  • Dark Seer

TongFu:

  • Lifestealer
  • Storm Spirit
  • Clockwerk
  • Silencer
  • Nyx Assassin

Alliance vs Na’Vi – Game Two

TI13aod,afa

02:10PM BST / 06:10PM PDT – Alliance wins game two

Na’Vi might of shot themselves in the foot on this one. The huge push at the start just gave Alchemist all the room he needed to farm at maximum efficiency.

The tipping point came at the Roshan pit. Both teams tried to contest it as it would allow the winning team to push into the base of their respective opponent. Na’Vi seemed to come out on top, but a well timed Song of the Siren from Naga stopped Na’Vi from killing Roshan as he was at a slither of health. They proceeded to kill all of Na’Vi and also takes the Aegis.

Na’Vi tried to stop the inevitable push, but was just too powerless to stop it. Alliance had too much of an experience and gold lead that they could just endure through assault and break the base. Alliance are on fire right now, and take their well earned place in the finals. Na’Vi have another chance, but will have to win against their opponents in the losers bracket final.

Speaking of which, it’s now Orange vs TongFu, the winner getting to play Na’Vi. -Nick

01:55AM BST / 05:55PM PDT – All your base belongs to us

Na’Vi are just bulldozing down Alliance’s towers, destroying all of to towers up to tier two. It’s a legitimate strategy, but does have its downside. All of Na’Vi’s heroes will be at a lower level since they’re splitting the experience. Also they give Alliance much more room to farm, unless they keep up the pressure.

It will be interesting to see how this turns out. But Alliance are certainly not out of it yet. -Nick

01:40PM BST / 05:40PM PDT – First Blood

An important first blood for Na’vi as they take out Lone Druid bottom. Luna pressured him behind his tower while Io wrapped around the back to Tether for the stun and the death of Lone Druid. A key pick off considering how quickly Lone Druid can farm, surely putting him slightly behind. -Nick

01:A5PM BST / 05:35PM PDT – The Draft

Alliance:

  • Naga Siren
  • Lone Druid
  • Alchemist
  • Keeper of the Light
  • Nyx Assassin

Na’Vi:

  • Io
  • Enchantress
  • Luna
  • Nature’s Prophet
  • Tidehunter

Alliance vs Na’Vi – Game One

TI13_asidmasdf

01:15AM BST / 05:15PM PDT – Alliance wins game one

The action packed game we all wanted, only stifled by the short duration. We had some good early plays from Na’Vi, but Alliance just responded with something better. They just plowed down mid, all the way up to the barracks. A key Roshan pick up enabled Alchemist to go on the offensive, who landed some pretty key Unstable Concoctions.

After the mid had been pushed, it was time to focus on bottom, and ultimately the win. Na’Vi couldn’t stop the avalanche that they faced. It was a very quick game, a refreshing change to the previous farm centric ones, but that could change with game two coming right up. -Nick

12:55AM BST / 04:55PM PDT – First Blood

There were a couple of close engagements, but first blood goes the way of Na’Vi mid against the Puck. Skywrath couldn’t quite kill Puck alone due to her natural evasion, but he had plenty of help. A Io + Sandking plunged into mid and kept Puck stunned long enough to net the kill. A last desperation Phase Shift not enough to get her out of harms way. -Nick

12:45AM BST / 04:45PM PDT – The Draft

Alliance:

  • Naga Siren
  • Chen
  • Bounty Hunter
  • Puck
  • Alchemist

Na’Vi:

  • Io
  • Gyrocopter
  • Sandking
  • Windrunner
  • Skywrath Mage

Invictus Gaming vs TongFu – Game Three

TI13fmaod

12:15AM BST / 04:15PM PDT – TongFu wins the game

And that was the nail in the coffin. It was a long time coming, but TongFu were playing it safe just to make sure nothing could go wrong. It’s a shame Enigma whiffed his only Black Hole at the end, but it didn’t matter.

I don’t know what else to say. TongFu just outplayed them. Also the Lion pick was questionable: offering a deadly couple of spells to Rubick’s arsenal. Next game is Alliance vs Na’Vi. Hold on to your horses guys. -Nick

12:05AM BST / 04:05PM PDT – Digging your grave

IG are in trouble. They’re being out farmed, out played and out matched. Every engagement right now has favoured TongFu with their huge Black Holes. I don’t see what IG can do when TongFu have so much map control and are not even allowing Weaver/Shadow Fiend to farm. Anti-Mage and Lifestealer are on hell of a combo. -Nick

11:50PM BST / 03:50PM PDT – First Blood

First blood in the first minute. Anti-Mage and a flanking Rubick dived on Shadow Fiend. With some right clicks, a Levitate and some sick body blocks, Shadow Fiend was sent back to base the quick way. -Nick

11:45PM BST / 03:45PM PDT – The Draft

Invictus Gaming:

  • Batrider
  • Weaver
  • Naga Siren
  • Shadow Fiend
  • Lion

TongFu:

  • Lifestealer
  • Chen
  • Rubick
  • Anti-Mage
  • Enigma

Invictus Gaming vs TongFu – Game Two

TI13fmaskd

11:25PM BST / 03:25PM PDT – TongFu wins game two

I thought that game would never end. There was so much time spent farming Alchemist at one point had over 12,000 gold in his pocket. It’s a play style popular in the Chinese scene, often dubbed as “ricing”. Both teams just farm and farm until their happy with their fat carry, only then will they commit to a team fight.

One thing was guaranteed: the fight was action packed.

It was a big clusterfuck at bottom barracks. Everyone just dove at each other and unleashed everything they had. Morphling from IG almost swung the battle in IG’s favour, but the Alchemist and Weaver were just too much. TongFu got a rampage, and then some thanks to the various buyback from IG. It was gg, but IG refused to call it. Hopefully they can focus on the next match to continue their goal of a second win. -Nick

10:55PM BST / 02:55PM PDT – Quiet on the battlefield

There’s not been much action this game, both teams settling into the late game. It’s a notable style of the Chinese players to farm up until their six slotted and have buy backs until they want to commit to any fights. When the fight happens though, it will happen in a big way. -Nick

10:25PM BST / 02:25PM PDT – First Blood

First blood to IG as Beastmaster oversteps his mark on the bottom lane. Nice play with Nature’s Prophet who body blocked in the Beastmaster with his treants. Excellent micro. – Nick

10:20PM BST / 02:20PM PDT – The Draft

Invictus Gaming:

  • Chen
  • Rubick
  • Nature’s Prophet
  • Storm Spirit
  • Morphling

TongFu:

  • Alchemist
  • Beastmaster
  • Shadow Demon
  • Leshrac
  • Weaver

Orange vs DK – Game Three

TI13asnmaosd

09:55PM BST / 01:55PM PDT – Orange wins game three

I don’t believe this game! DK were on a come back, they won team fight after team fight and Orange were looking like they were going to make a repeat of game one. It all came down to Roshan. Ursa was looking to take yet another Aegis, but DK could not let them do that.

The fight happened, and DK won. They tried to steal the Roshan but Orange were already back due to buybacks. An incredible Reverse Polarity from gets four of DK and Skewers them up to the high ground. Ursa proceeds to melt them all down.

DK were back on the defense and Orange could smell the win. The final fight came top, where all ten heroes battled it out for their place in the competition. It was mad. A Black Hole from Enigma threatened Orange, but was quickly countered with a Fiend Grip from Bane.

Then something amazing happened.

A FIVE man Reverse Polarity from Magnus utterly destroyed DK, sealing their fate. The amount of discipline and patience from Magnus won that fight. Orange’s reaction when the “gg” was called was nothing short of explosive.

Next match is between Invictus Gaming and TongFu. -Nick

09:40PM BST / 01:40PM PDT – Looking grim

DK are in trouble right now. Their bottom barracks have nearly crumbled away due to the relentless assaults from Orange. The Ursa is just too strong, combined with Empower from Magnus. Orange are in complete control right now. -Nick

09:15PM BST / 01:15PM PDT – First Blood

An early ward attempt by Nature’s Prophet to deny Enigma some creep camps backfired once DK found his hiding place amongst the trees. I’m curious as to why he didn’t just use the Teleport Scroll he had in his inventory, but maybe he had other thoughts. First blood to DK, who also quickly de-warded the blocking wards. -Nick

09:10PM BST / 01:10PM PDT – The Draft

Orange:

  • Ursa
  • Chen
  • Magnus
  • Bane
  • Nature’s Prophet

DK:

  • Phantom Lancer
  • Keeper of the Light
  • Enigma
  • Nyx Assassin
  • Alchemist

Orange vs DK – Game Two

TI13safasd

08:55PM BST / 12:55PM PDT – Orange wins game two

Whoa, that was fast. Orange just displayed amazing discipline with their team fights, there was nothing DK could do. The last fight happened bottom, when both teams just ran into each other for an impromptu engagement. Vacuum, Slithereen Crush, Impale and some Shadowrazes for good measure was all that was needed for all but Dragon Knight to be dead for DK. With the tier three tower already down mid, DK could do nothing but “gg” out and go to a deciding game three. -Nick

08:45PM BST / 12:45PM PDT – Wombo combo

Some fantastic teamwork from Orange. Mushi playing Shadow Fiend timed a perfect Requiem of Souls to destroy a chasing Weaver who took the full brunt of it. Shortly after a team fight bottom save a huge vacuum, stun and another Requiem to kill three heroes of DK, followed up by a fourth by tracking down Dragon Knight. Orange are in the lead, and DK need to stop underestimating them. -Nick

08:35PM BST / 12:35PM PDT – First Blood

DK just scored first blood with a gank on Shadow Fiend mid. Both Dragon Knight and Doom headed in to mob the poor hero, and even Treant’s Living Armour couldn’t save him. An important first blood. -Nick

08:30PM BST / 12:30PM PDT – The Draft

Orange:

  • Visage
  • Dark Seer
  • Nyx Assassin
  • Slardar
  • Shadow Fiend

DK:

  • Weaver
  • Treant Protector
  • Dragon Knight
  • Doom
  • Timbersaw

Here is the result from yesterday:

Winners Bracket:

  • Na’Vi 2-1 TongFu
  • Alliance 2-1 DK

Losers Bracket:

  • Orange 1-0 Fnatic
  • Invictus Gaming 1-0 Team Liquid
  • DK 1-0 Orange*
  • Invictus Gaming 1-0 TongFu*

Games with a * are still ongoing, being a best of three. These games will be played out first thing today.

Both brackets will compete all the way until the grand final, all the way until Sunday. The pre show is kicking off right now, tune in here to watch it. The first match will be Orange vs DK to finish off last nights best of three. So go get yourself ladened with snacks and drinks and settle in for another night of Dota 2.