Microsoft altered the ‘X’ on the free Windows 10 upgrade popup so it means ‘yes please’ | PCGamesN

Microsoft altered the ‘X’ on the free Windows 10 upgrade popup so it means ‘yes please’

Win 10

Update 26 May, 2016: Though not mentioned on the support page, Microsoft have added another step to this process that apparently gives users one chance after clicking the ‘X’ to back out.

In a statement issued to the BBC, Microsoft say they’ve implemented “an additional opportunity for cancelling the upgrade” which is based on “customer feedback”. However, it still sounds like clicking the ‘X’ here will also confirm the upgrade.

“We’ve added another notification that confirms the time of the scheduled upgrade and provides the customer an additional opportunity for cancelling or rescheduling the upgrade,” Microsoft told the BBC.

“If the customer wishes to continue with their upgrade at the designated time, they can click ‘OK’ or close the notifications with no further action needed.”

So you close the second warning and that’s assumed to mean ‘go ahead’ too. I hope they’re ready for more feedback.

Original Story 26 May, 2016: Windows 10 has been sneaking onto PCs all over the shop – and in some cases literally inside of shops, affecting businesses. It’s clear Microsoft want people to upgrade. Windows 10 is a great operating system, particularly for gaming, but this latest trick the PC giant is pulling really sours the deal. 

Here for the games? Check out our list of the best PC games.

If people want to upgrade to Windows 10 it should really be left up to them. After all, they paid for their current operating system, so they’re well within their rights to keep using it. Some people just like things the way they are, okay?

So we already knew Microsoft were forcing this OS down people’s throats, but this recent Kotaku report shows that things have escalated quite quickly, and this latest trick takes everything you’ve ever learned about navigating PC menus and weaponises it.

You know the little red ‘X’ at the top right of your page? You know, the one you can click if you don’t want to read the rest of this article. Well if you click that on the latest Windows 10 upgrade popup, that ‘X’ – the universal symbol for cancel, or no thanks – now means ‘install Windows 10’. Here’s the popup:

Windows 10

You’ll notice that down the bottom there are options for ‘OK’ and upgrade now, both of which will also tell the upgrade to go ahead. The only way to cancel it is by clicking that line under the date and time, a line of text your eye is purposely drawn away from. Basically, you’re likely to just click the ‘X’ if you want out.

Here’s what it says on Microsoft’s support page: “This notification means your Windows 10 upgrade will occur at the time indicated, unless you select either Upgrade now or ‘Click here to change upgrade schedule or cancel scheduled upgrade’. If you click on OK or on the red “X”, you’re all set for the upgrade and there is nothing further to do.”

Just click the ‘X’ and you’re all set! Come on Microsoft, Windows 10 shouldn’t need to be pushed like this.