Chinese gamers are review-bombing Kerbal Space Program over a single line of text

Subscribe to PCGamesN on YouTube

The weaponisation of Steam reviews continues, with Kerbal Space Program the latest victim. The perpetrators: Chinese gamers who are angry with a revision made to the translation of an Easter Egg. 

We reckon Kerbal Space Program is one of the best indie games on PC.

Printed on the side of a space shuttle in the main menu is the phrase “不到mun非好汉.” Back in June, a post was made on Steam which translated this as “without reaching Mun you are not a good male” and complained the language was sexist, since when the developers have replaced it.

The problem, according to this negative reviewer, is that the characters “好汉” which triggered the complaint are widely used in a gender-neutral way in Chinese. They mean 'brave or strong hero', and have been used to describe women as well as men. Moreover, the initial phrase was a reference to a famous saying, “不到长城非好汉,” which translates to “you’re not a [hero/true man] if you never got to the Great Wall.” 

So the downvoters’ complaint is not just that the developers are kowtowing to political correctness, but that it’s unnecessary, and bastardises a traditional saying. One says the new translation “has lost the beautiful feeling of the Chinese traditional proverb,” while another compares it to replacing “all men are created equal” with “all homo sapiens are created equal.”

I’m not sure where I stand on the validity of these complaints and, honestly, I don’t think anyone can be unless they’re a native speaker who understands the linguistic nuances involved. That said, a review is intended to reflect the entire worth of a game, so it seems ludicrous to dismiss all of Kerbal’s brilliance just because of this, valid or not.

Subscribe to PCGamesN on YouTube

Paladins
Sign in to Commentlogin to comment
Levy avatarThePiePieper avatarHLY avatarWhiteCrow avatardenihilist avatarGlen_Runciter avatar+5
MadMarchHare Avatar
13
1 Week ago

I don't know which I find the most irritating at this point the pc brigade or the anti-pc brigade. Both are obnoxious, oppressive, agenda whores. The irony being of course both become that which they rant against without even realising it.

2
denihilist Avatar
2
denihilist(15 minutes played)
1 Week ago

What a bunch of whiners. Instead of being happy a game thought to include a reference to a well known saying, they bitch that it wasn't translated in a way they like. Who gives a shit?

I've seen translations from American to Chinese that bastardize the original content, AND push communist ideologies instead of the actual words of the text, film, etc.

China constantly ignores trademarks, patents, copyright, and everything else they want to when it comes to western properties, but now they're bitching about a single phrase?

They are a bunch of whiny, stupid, petty people.

1
Levy Avatar
10
1 Week ago

Did they not ask a single native Chinese before making this change? Imagine some foreign company, in their endless attempts to be PC, changed "One small step for man, one giant leap for Mankind." to "One small step for me, one giant leap for all-kind." It completely bastardizes it. Good on the Chinese for exercising the free speech that Steam affords them to let the Kerbal devs know their displeasure at the bastardization of their language.

0
Glen_Runciter Avatar
253
Glen_Runciter(4 days 15 hours played)
1 Week ago

Yeah, fuck everybody who worked hard on this game for years, there is a badly translated line!!!

THEY CAN'T TAKE OUR FREEDOM!!!

1
咩蛋兴是奶奶的心头肉 Avatar
1
2 Days ago

They don't have a word that balanced the two factors of each sex in it like "hero" does in Engliash. even 英雄 literally means 英brave+雄male, but as it's abroadly accepted by society in situations referring to women being brave and saved people's life nowadays, it doesn't seem to be very biased anymore. Even though they usually use it as "女female英雄".

However, In daily conversation environment, "汉子(male, especially a musculine one) 单身汉(single man)" literally mean males. How can "好汉" includes female? You never call a "female hero" as "好汉",for my whole life I've never seen this happened.

===============

In Chinese there's no special word in daily situation like heroine, They use it as (female hero)女英雄. There's a pair quotes from "巾帼不须眉" describling a similar meaning, while it's too literary to use in ordinary conversatin mood.

==================

search "好汉 男人 女人" (male female) in baidu and see the result.

[result]

好汉是用来形容男人的,那么与之相对的形容女人的词是什么_百度知道

好男的叫好汉,好女的叫什么?_百度知道

男人常说500年后又是一条好汉,女人该怎么说?【宝鸡吧】_百度贴吧

华北地区的男人个个都是好汉,女人个个都是美...

男人要走过多少路才能是好汉,要怎么做才能成...

打不打女人不影响男人是不是好汉_临沭吧

----I used youdao translator---you people can use it or Google foc----

Men are used to describe a man, so opposed to describe women know what is the word of _ baiduGood

man called hero, good girl call what?_ baidu knows

Man often said that 500 years is a warrior, women how to say?【 baoji) _ baidu post barIn

north China all men are men and women all are beautiful...

How many roads must a man walk to men, do to...

Dozen not dozen women does not affect men is bawcock _ LinShu

1
ThePiePieper Avatar
3
1 Week ago

Good to see a noble SJW doing the hard work for the proud people of China.

0
WhiteCrow Avatar
398
WhiteCrow(4 hours played)
1 Week ago

And review bombing was entirely the proper way to go about it, right?

0
TsunamiWombat Avatar
637
1 Week ago

I am imagining it. I'm imagining it right now. I feel nothing, because my sense of self worth is not tied up in how people write or speak the English language.

0
HLY Avatar
2
HLY(4 days 2 hours played)
1 Week ago

I like ksp.

We all like this game.

Actually before they changed the text we argued about that. You know , almost everyone thought she was just an retreated. But...

Well, we total understand that if game dev didn't change the text, they may get into a large trouble. But that can't be the reason our our loyal players should be abandoned. We have no choice but to do that.

-1
Glen_Runciter Avatar
253
Glen_Runciter(4 days 15 hours played)
1 Week ago

Buddy, you can't even create an intelligent sentence.

You should leave fighting evil and making the world a better place by attacking the livelihood of dozens of people to someone else.

2
NihlusGreen Avatar
630
1 Week ago

What large trouble would the devs get into? Is English your native language, or are you using a translation program like, presumably, the KSP devs used?

1
hiZis Avatar
1
hiZis(50 minutes played)
1 Week ago

This is what happens, when you try to impose your arbitrary PC principles on other cultures.

0
Glen_Runciter Avatar
253
Glen_Runciter(4 days 15 hours played)
1 Week ago

No, this is what happens, when (thanks to democracy), the garbage of mankind believes they matter too.

1