Ori and the Will of the Wisps may appear at Microsoft’s conference

Ori and the Will of the Wisps

We’ve got the first Microsoft leak of the day, as supposed images relating an Ori and the Blind Forest sequel have started to appear online. Named Ori and the Will of the Wisps, it follows Ori’s adventures following the restoration of the Spirit Tree.

Related: our list of the best PC indie games.

Coming from the website IndianNoob, these images show off the game’s logo, along with some screenshots from the actual game. The Will of the Wisps sports a more autumnal aesthetic, probably as it follows the first leaf fall from the Spirit Tree. One of the screenshots also hints at the Will of the Wisps’ story, with Ori comforting what looks like the child of Kuro, the owl villain from the first game.

The actual title – the Will of the Wisps – was leaked during last year’s E3 by the infamous Twitter user NerdLeaks. While it didn’t end up appearing during Microsoft’s press conference, it looks to be finally making its debut this year. With Ori and the Blind Forest gaining a cult following and receiving universal critical acclaim, it’s no surprise that a sequel was on its way.

Remember the usual E3 disclaimer though, that any screenshot or supposed in-game image could quite easily be a fake. With these screens showing original art assets and it linking with the previous rumour from NerdLeaks, I am inclined to believe that we will see Ori and the Will of the Wisps during Microsoft’s press conference.

Microsoft has also just reduced the price of Ori and the Blind Forest: Definitive Edition in time for today’s show, which seems like quite the smoking gun.

In any case, consider adding Ori and the Will of the Wisps to your Microsoft bingo card and make sure to tune in today at 14:00 PDT/17:00 EDT/22:00 BST/23:00 CEST.