Paradox have bought Triumph Games, the developers of Age of Wonders and Overlord | PCGamesN

Paradox have bought Triumph Games, the developers of Age of Wonders and Overlord

Paradox Interactive announced today that they have acquired Triumph Studios. If you're not familiar, Triumph are the Netherlands-based developers of the Age of Wonders and Overlord series.

Excited by a potential new Age of Wonders game? Check out our list of the best 4X strategy games on PC.

“Triumph Studios is a developer of our own heart. They are world-leading within their niche and have built a large and dedicated community over the years, counting quite a few Paradox employees among their hardcore fans. We have great faith in Lennart, Arno and the Triumph team, and our main focus now is to ensure that they can continue to create their magic under new ownership,” Fredrik Wester, CEO at Paradox Interactive, says.

In a press release on their own website, Triumph goes into a little more detail on why they accepted this acquisition.

“The games market is constantly evolving and we drew the conclusion that expanding our publishing efforts for the limited number of games we release would be inefficient. We were super excited when Paradox proposed joining their family. As one of the world’s premier publishers – and developers – of strategy games, they really understand the type of games we make. They have specialized, highly skilled personnel to complement our activities: from marketing and PR, to QA, localization and of course development itself. Many of us are huge fans of Paradox games, so we’re very much looking forward to sharing knowledge with their renowned Grand Strategy developers.”

According to Paradox, all staff will remain at Triumph and all ongoing projects will remain, er, ongoing. These will, of course, be published by Paradox, and may very well include Age of Wonders 4. However, it will not include the next game in the well-regarded Overlord series since the rights to those games remain with Codemasters. This was confirmed by Paradox’s Shams Jorjani over Twitter

There will be a livestream today at 16:00 CEST / 15:00 BST / 07:00 PT / 10:00 ET / Saturday 00:00 AET with Paradox CEO Fredrik Wester and Triumph CEO Lennart Sas on Paradox’s Twitch channel, where they'll be going into more detail about the acquisition and, hopefully, some teases for their future games.

Sign in to Commentlogin to comment
cpt.fantastic avatar
cpt.fantastic Avatar
9 Months ago

AoW games should be awesome in theory but in a longer battle I find myself thinking why is this taking so long. Not sure if the combat is too slow or units too similar to each other.