Skyrim: Special Edition release times and free upgrade eligibility terms revealed | PCGamesN

Skyrim: Special Edition release times and free upgrade eligibility terms revealed

Skyrim Special Edition

You might have heard the brilliant news that Skyrim: Special Edition - the HD remaster of the RPG classic - is free for people who already own the game on Steam. What you might not have realised is that there are a couple of terms, and you need to have them fulfilled before October 28. 

Check our list of the best Skyrim mods in preperation. 

If you own Skyrim and all three DLCs (Dawnguard, Hearthfire, and Dragonborn) before October 28 you will get a copy of the Special Edition in your library for free. So you'll either need to own these DLC packs separately or you'll need to own the Skyrim: Legendary Edition, which comes packaged with the expansions. 

Fail to do that before October 28 and you won't be getting your free copy.

Skyrim: Special Edition will be available for purchase at its global release time of 12am UTC on Friday, October 28.

Region-specific unlock times are: 

  • 5pm Pacific Time (October 27) 
  • 8pm Eastern Time (October 27) 
  • 1am British Summer Time (October 28) 
  • 2am Central European Summer Time (October 28) 
  • 11am Australian Eastern Time Zone (October 28) 
  • 1pm New Zealand Time (October 28th) 

Sign in to Commentlogin to comment
lul avatarSelarek avatarKirk McKeand avatarNihlusGreen avatarJerryDarkHorse avatarhfm avatar+1
Selarek Avatar
Selarek(5 days 23 hours played)
1 Year ago

yay! Skyrim is one of a few games that I've played over 400hrs!

hfm Avatar
1 Year ago

It's the only game I have over 400 hours in. I don't even know how it happened. I finished it and all the sidequests as a melee centric char. I was like, I've never really done much mage action in the bethesda games, I always gravitate towards melee weapons. So when the legendary difficulty update dropped, I was like sure let me just replay it all as a mage. Lost track of time... 438 hours later...

I'm guessing there's another 100 or so to be had when the SE drops...

JerryDarkHorse Avatar
JerryDarkHorse(1 day 2 hours played)
1 Year ago

I very much appreciate you putting the NZ time! Thank you kindly.

lul Avatar
lul(5 hours played)
1 Year ago

Can I get the Special Edition even if I buy the DLC pack from G2A, or do I need to buy them seperatly, or even on Steam only?

NihlusGreen Avatar
NihlusGreen(7 days 20 hours played)
1 Year ago

You really should avoid G2A and actually support the developers themselves.

WhiteCrow Avatar
1 Year ago

Agreed. You're free to get them from where ever you want, but G2A is sketchy as hell.

Kirk McKeand Avatar
1 Year ago

I think as long as you have them all on Steam it doesn't matter where from.