We may earn a commission when you buy through links in our articles. Learn more.

World of Tanks 8.0 to bring complete engine overhaul and map overhauls


Tanks to the hard work of Wargaming, the World of Tanks 8.0 update brings a slew of new visual updates to the creaking graphics of the free-to-play MMO. The entire engine is receiving enhancements that will optimise the game for lower-spec PCs and ten levels are receiving complete overhauls to sparkle on the more powerful computer-boxes.

The firstlevels receiving a dash of paint are:
  • Himmelsdorf
  • Mines
  • Lakeville
  • Sand River
  • Cliffs
  • Fjords
  • Mountain Pass
  • Arctic Region
  • Westfield
  • Karelia

The rest of the maps will be receiving updates in time.

According to the preview video narrator, the visual update will
make the golden browns of Redshire “Scream Autumn”. I don’t know
what screaming Autumn is but it doesn’t sound like it would fit the
tone of John
Clare’s ‘To Autumn’

Along with the 8.0 update will be upgraded physics and a clutch of
new tanks. No firm word on a release date, yet.