ArcheAge Review

Yarrrrr?

441
xNuke (after 2 days 14 hours play time)

630 days ago

Oh yarrrr. This was my favourite part of AA. When my guild first got a galleon, we sailed the sea and attacked random trade runners. Oh that was fun.

Fer

420 days ago

Yarrr, pirates or traders, you can be. The most fun part of the game.

avatar

You

Now

How imaginative is the ArcheAge lore?

avatar

595 days ago

Hard to say--It's Korean...

Fer

420 days ago

It's OK, not terribly good. Just a tale to explain why the two islands are at war.

avatar

You

Now

What bits are on display? Boobs? Dongs? Erect or floppy? Give us details. LOTS OF DETAILS.

avatar

595 days ago

Not much of this. Not why I game....

Fer

420 days ago

Nothing much to see, yes there are some skimpy outfits out there, but most armor covers your body well. You can allways try to run a dungeon in your underwear if you are up to the challenge ...

avatar

You

Now

How much freedom does ArcheAge give you?

Fer

420 days ago

Potentially, a lot of freedom. You can get your gold farming, mining, crafting stuff, killing mobs, trading or pirating. When it comes to real freedom, the most fun ways to get money are PvP oriented and then you are limited by your gear and the ammount of friends you can gather for your pirate run.

avatar

You

Now

Have you bought anything in ArcheAge? How happy were you with your purchase?

avatar
billiejo1216 (after 112 days 8 hours play time)

434 days ago

I loved to play this game. It used to be the best game I ever played. I spent over 2k hours in the game and spent hundreds of dollars as well. I even purchased the founders back while it was in beta. I worked hard and began to gear myself. Many people say the game is dying and I always defended the game bringing in numerous players to play as well. I recieved a ban for something I do not nor will ever do. No proof was provided for the reason either, even after asking for it several times. After investigating my particular circumstance, I see many posts in different forums of the same exact situation. I really think the customer service needs to be better to paying customers (as well as non paying customers) and better investigation methods. I am not sure what could have set off an investigation besides having a poor internet connection in a really rural area. The last email I received from my appeals stated and I quote 'Rest assured I'm not saying you would do such a thing, but as it is possible, we cannot take that risk. I understand this is not the answer you were hoping for, but we will not be able to assist in unbanning your account.' So, they aren't sure but still continue to ban a fair playing player as well as no refunds. I will never recommend this game to another person and I will never play another Trion game again. I hope one day they can fix these issues before a really great game dies completely.

Fer

420 days ago

I got a few months of subscription and some in-game items. You are severelry limited in gameplay unless you pay the "premium status" (patron), and while you can buy it with in-game currency, it takes most of the gold you can make in a month even if you spend most of your gameplay time grinding for gold. And even with premium, geting your hands in end-game gear is insanely expensive/time consuming.

I got some cosmetic stuff in the store too and that's the only stuff I'm happy with.

The worst article in the store was some infamous "random boxes" the can give you either great stuff or crap. I have seen people buying stacks of 50 of these for a chance on an article that you can't outright buy in the store. It's the worst money trap i have seen in all the "f2p" games...

441
xNuke (after 2 days 14 hours play time)

630 days ago

Bought the 150$ founders pack and I regret it dearly. While the game was fantastic during alpha, once it got close to release it just went downhill extremely quickly. Shortly after release they introduced incredible pay-to-win items in the cash shop that killed the game for me. Some people still enjoy it, but to be competitive you have to invest $.

avatar

595 days ago

Answer ? yes, I've probably put more than a hundred USD into it. i didn't mind, at first...even went Patron (subscription) for a few months at lvl 30 because you get an XP boost. But...as I found out--it really is a pay-to-win setup. Leveling Slows WAAAY down from 50 to 55, and the only way to get geared is to either buy your way better OR craft--both of which take more gold than one can amass quickly, OR buying APEX which one can sell for in-game gold. that and credits for the game shop which run about 20USD for 8 thousand give or take. The game just isn't that much fun for the money they expect you to invest...and keep investing.

avatar

You

Now

How fair is the free-to-play model in ArcheAge?

avatar

595 days ago

Define "fair" it may be f2p but it's also very much p2w.

Fer

420 days ago

Not really free to play. If you enjoy the game you will need patron status for starters. Then paying even more if you want to get end-game gear or even second-best endgame gear.

441
xNuke (after 2 days 14 hours play time)

630 days ago

Not fair at all. It's incredibly pay-to-win.

avatar

You

Now

What can you craft in ArcheAge?

avatar

595 days ago

You name it, you can craft it. HowEVER, higher-level crafting gets ridiculous IMO in how much "experience" you need to go beyond the basic things. I like to mine, and I'm up above 10k exp in this, but that's still not enough to do some fairly basic things.

Fer

420 days ago

Yes, you can craft a lot of stuff. If you want to max-level a good ammount of crafting skills you have to pay to unlock more max-level slots. Also leveling up a crafting skill is fairly fast if you invest extra gold and $. Not so fast if you are just a premium player but don't want to sink a lot of gold. Being a pure free player slows this to a crawl.

avatar

You

Now

How deep is the crafting in ArcheAge?

Fer

420 days ago

As deep as most games, you level up your crafting skills to unlock next tier of crafting recipes. Some crafting skills are related because the end product of one craft skill may be the ingredient for another skill.

avatar

You

Now

How open is ArcheAge to explore?

Fer

420 days ago

This is one of the strongest points of archeage. You can go anywhere, your glider will allow you to climb mountains, no place is out of reach. The bottom of the sea has large areas of empty space, and just a few places with stuff that includes, sunken ruins, lava ridden underwater mines...

avatar

You

Now

How well does ArcheAge let you develop your character?

Fer

420 days ago

You have total freedom as in how you develop your character. You can pick 3 skill trees to customize your class, you can switch skill trees any time for a complete differen set (class) for a small gold fee. The skill trees level up independently of your character level (is advisable to stick to 3 skills until level 50 to max them before switching)

avatar

You

Now

How grindy is PvE in ArcheAge?

SUMx1 (after 61 days 16 hours play time)

643 days ago

sell potatoes to buy gear

441
xNuke (after 2 days 14 hours play time)

630 days ago

It's grindy, not Lineage 2 Classic grindy, but grindy, unless you pay real money.

Fer

420 days ago

Crazy grindy. End game gear requires a lot of monster killing and then a lot more. You are locked out of some dungeons if your gear is not good enough...

avatar

You

Now

How active is the PvP community in ArcheAge?

Fer

420 days ago

Very active, since the PvP part is one of the most appealing sides of the game. You can spend all your play time out of conflicted areas but that's not as fun nor profitable.

avatar

You

Now

How good are the graphics in ArcheAge?

441
xNuke (after 2 days 14 hours play time)

630 days ago

Fantastic. One of the better looking MMOs on the market.

Fer

420 days ago

Faily good. Not too cartonish and the landscapes are pretty good looking.

avatar

You

Now

How does ArcheAge run on your PC?

avatar

595 days ago

It DC'd a lot initially--that may have been my bad--when I opened the box up I re-seated the video card. since then it's been much better.

Fer

420 days ago

Pretty well even with a bunch of other player characters around it hardly slows down.

avatar

You

Now

How good are the sounds in ArcheAge?

Fer

420 days ago

I can't remember the sound, so I guess it's OK. If it was bad I would remember :) .
By the way, you have a craft skill that allows you to create music scores and play them. It's a gold sink with no practical use, but pretty neat.

avatar

You

Now
Dishonored 2 Review
Dishonored 2 Review

avataravataravataravataravatar

5 reviewers answered 7 questions