Back to Top

Free games – Call of Duty: Modern Warfare multiplayer gets a free weekend

If you’ve yet to dive into Call of Duty: Modern Warfare for free, you’re getting a new opportunity to do so – even if you’re not a fan of battle royale games. You’ll still need to download Call of Duty: Warzone to get access, but the normal Modern Warfare multiplayer experience will be yours to enjoy for the weekend.

Starting at 10:00 PDT / 13:00 EDT / 18:00 BST on April 3, the free-to-play Warzone client will offer access to normal Modern Warfare multiplayer. That access closes at the same time on April 6. You can start downloading Warzone now to get an early jump on the promotion – it’s a hefty download, so you might need to start early.

Alongside the free weekend, Modern Warfare is getting a ‘Stocked Up, Locked Down’ playlist with Atlas Superstore and Shoot House in a big array of team-based game modes. This should give newbies a solid sampler of what the standard multiplayer experience is all about.

Naturally, all your progress in multiplayer will carry over if you decide to buy the full game. And yes, this promotion extends across platforms – we aren’t getting a delayed release, as we are with the Modern Warfare 2 Remastered PC release date.

Check out more free PC games if you’re looking for new stuff to try this weekend.

Back to Navigation