Counter-Strike: Global Offensive Review

How does Global Offensive compare to Source or 1.6?

|Rising| (after 2 days 17 hours play time)

586 days ago

If CSGO was the first made first come, i'd praise it but since 1.6 is the actual base and the idea comes from there, i can't say that cs 1.6 is dead. I still love 1.6 more than csgo cause of many reason and one of'em is, once you have upgraded a game to 3d graphics or visual camera you need more expensive hardware to run that game but if you still play cs 1.6, it's still pretty smooth and you do not need to have an expensive hardware to run that game.

P.s: Sometime also think that these games creator are marketing/promotion business partners of graphical stuff (Motherboard, processor, card) owners as that's the only way to bring a new product and then to sell it in market.
Kidding xD

Rawex Avatar
1
1 Year ago
You're not really kidding and we know it. ;)
1
2
Towlie (after 21 days 22 hours play time)

259 days ago

When it comes to competitive, CSGO has nailed it. However I don't think the game would be as popular if 1. Valve didn't own it 2. If the Skins wasn't such a big thing and 3. If CS:GO gambling was shut down.

avatar
purevermonter (after 21 days 8 hours play time)

671 days ago

Gr8 m8

376 days ago

CSGO seems to have lost out the competitive aspect of search and destroying your enemy in favor of players being AWP Whores who camp, staring at doorways, to kill you with an overpowered weapon. Probably great for little kids with all the fancy paint jobs, but I'm an old Marine that knows no team gets as many awp players on one team in real life combat. Game took away alot of realism for me. Prefer the days of CSS when server owners had the ability to limit the awp per team, or remove it all together to make players get in the game to get it done.

ddosiafff@sexgod (after 21 days 8 hours play time)

653 days ago

still has ways to go..not comperable to 1.6 which had perfect gameplay

FragMayo www.indiane-sports.com (after 74 days 5 hours play time)

633 days ago

1.6 was.. LEGENDARY and UNBEATABLE.

CS:GO is known for its Skins and Competitive Matchmaking. Skins are beautiful. Matchmaking Skill groups are currently messed up as there are more Global Elites (PRO'S) than Silver 1's (NEWBIES)

And the best part is that the money which I had used to buy this game has been recovered by Case Openings and In-game item drops. Made some good friends from all over the world.

74 days and 5 hours spent well :D

Legally Blind (after 22 days 14 hours play time)

317 days ago

It"s better

585 days ago

CS:GO is the legend

avatar
51
holmesc (after 14 days 19 hours play time)

449 days ago

Very cute and sex

Nolan D. Paku Lski (after 9 days 13 hours play time)

178 days ago

Awful

85
Matt Purslow (after 8 hours play time)

973 days ago

The core, classic Counter-Strike game design is almost entirely the same as CS:Source, which in turn was very similar to 1.6. Like Source, GO is an iteration, a game-wide improvement, but still very much the same game. As a result, GO is the current 'defintive' version of CS, and the one I'd recommend over the others. It also has a set of new and interesting game modes that offer a break from CS's 'plant/defuse the bomb' structure.

avatar

377 days ago

CS:GO is the legend

470
Ben Barrett (after 14 hours play time)

751 days ago

Source was my game and even the tiniest changes in GO put me off initially. It has some additional weapons and a large rebalance pass, plus various changes to the cash system, menus, level layouts etc. It's also patched more regularly than its previous counterpart. It is as much a brand new game in the details as it is broadly the same. However, if you're a Source or 1.6 hardcore player, you likely already know which you prefer.

avatar

376 days ago

more faster

✪Panic Show|CSGORage.com (after 27 days 10 hours play time)

372 days ago

It's good, the matchmaking problem with cheaters is annoying, even with their new "prime" system, it could be better tho

Campbé (after 1 day 3 hours play time)

594 days ago

To a competitive level it is much better and what about Condition Zero?

✿ WinterHeat ✔ (after 11 days 18 hours play time)

320 days ago

It's very fun and competitive until u meet toxic players...

56
El Burrito (after 7 days 2 hours play time)

302 days ago

It looks nicer, but the recoil system feels blatantly like it was meant for consoles. Unsurprising since it was released for consoles as well but it feels quite bad.

Rush B (after 14 days 14 hours play time)

295 days ago

it's good

1
Rawex (after 30 days 10 hours play time)

464 days ago

CS:GO has what both Source and 1.6 are missing, but feels closer to 1.6, if i have to compare it to one.

Source is lacking in pure shooting mechanics & physics, but abit nicer in graphics.
1.6 is lacking in graphics, but beside that feels very close to CS:GO in gameplay and also in shooting mechanics & physics.

If you are a player who loves 1.6, i'll recommend you to try out CS:GO, you might very much like it, even more.
If you are a player who loves Source, then you will probably not like CS:GO as much since it feels very close to 1.6.

The Review is solely based on my personal opinion and gameplay experience.

The Notorious (after 31 days 15 hours play time)

122 days ago

its k

avatar

78 days ago

how to play??

[ES.GR] Dark Angel (Grn) (after 21 days 2 hours play time)

540 days ago

10/10

Lok'tar Ogar (after 30 days 18 hours play time)

453 days ago

good

MysteriousAeon (after 35 days play time)

255 days ago

Very good, except for the hackers.

1
bmendonc (after 24 days 22 hours play time)

443 days ago

Not this BS

TROLlox (after 13 days 15 hours play time)

132 days ago

All 3 games fell very different, they are still shooters, still CS but they just play differently

Frazzle (after 58 days 8 hours play time)

442 days ago

best game i have ever played<3 longest playtime, so addictive! love it

avatar

377 days ago

https://github.com/TF2Stats/master.git

avatar

377 days ago

FragMayo www.indiane-sports.com (after 74 days 5 hours play time)
256 days ago
1.6 was.. LEGENDARY and UNBEATABLE.
CS:GO is known for its Skins and Competitive Matchmaking. Skins are beautiful. Matchmaking Skill groups are currently messed up as there are more Global Elites (PRO'S) than Silver 1's (NEWBIES)
And the best part is that the money which I had used to buy this game has been recovered by Case Openings and In-game item drops. Made some good friends from all over the world.
74 days and 5 hours spent well :D

avatar

You

Now

How good an FPS is Counter-Strike: Global Offensive?

470
Ben Barrett (after 14 hours play time)

751 days ago

It is, though it's highly individual. What you may get out of CoD, Titanfall or an Arena game is not the same as what you will get out of CS. It's very pure for one thing, no gimmicks, few movement options and very little you can do to get the upperhand on someone who has better aim and map knowledge than you. It's about who can aim better and know more about where their opponent's are coming from. As a competitive game, that means there's none better. For casual play, there may be better options, though there are additional game modes within CSGO that help with that.

2
theerealist (after 125 days 16 hours play time)

404 days ago

The community has only gotten worse since I started playing. The amount of cheaters, trolls and derankers is outrageous. While Prime did help a bit, it did not eliminate it. I think insurgency may be a better game but the community is very small and it is still lacking true ranked matchmaking. If insurgency had both of things I would play it 2-1 over csgo.

85
Matt Purslow (after 8 hours play time)

973 days ago

Absolutely. Counter-Strike has some of the tightest, most refined FPS mechanics in the business, and Global Offensive features them front and centre. It's a game that feels balanced, with good weapon feedback, and simple, effective shooting. In an age of shooters becoming gradually more complex, CS's lack of ironsights and multiple stances makes it feel baggage-less and purposeful; built simply to shoot enemies effectively.

avatar

376 days ago

Soooo goood

56
El Burrito (after 7 days 2 hours play time)

302 days ago

It's all hitscan. You are wildly inaccurate while moving thus encouraged to stop before shooting for better accuracy. Bullets look like they curve out of your gun as if this was Wanted or some shit, instead of having a more normal recoil system where your bullets go generally where you're aiming the gun and your screen is kicked up and to the side. It still plays like most other FPS, it just looks stupid.

TROLlox (after 13 days 15 hours play time)

132 days ago

The purest kind of FPS you can get, nothing else counts but how well can you shoot, there is very little luck factor. Of course you may encounter a cheater, a lot of cheaters that's like the main downside to the game

avatar

You

Now

How much fun are the weapons in Counter-Strike: Global Offensive?

avatar

376 days ago

just need play with friend

85
Matt Purslow (after 8 hours play time)

973 days ago

Global Offensive has the series' best guns, but overall they still feel quite clinical. Whilst they all have distinctive traits, they don't have any character. They feel very much like tools. This may be the point, but there's not a lot of 'fun' in the actual act of shooting.

470
Ben Barrett (after 14 hours play time)

751 days ago

It continues to be one of the most fun ways to kill digital people in the world. Headshots in Counter-Strike feel good, ragdolling feels good, shooting someone through a door or wall, managing recoil - it's all great. Turn off those terrible tracer rounds though.

56
El Burrito (after 7 days 2 hours play time)

302 days ago

There are only a few select guns you're really expected to use in competitive play, most of the guns are terrible or highly situational. They sound good though.

TROLlox (after 13 days 15 hours play time)

132 days ago

It is essential to know weapons like the ak or the m4 like your own pocket, and after you learn how to control recoil, shooting is really satisfying

avatar

You

Now

How does Counter-Strike: Global Offensive reward you for playing tactically?

85
Matt Purslow (after 8 hours play time)

973 days ago

Simply put: you're more likely to win. Unlike games like Battlefield, you won't score points for 'teamplay' actions. The only thing that matters is kills for your ranking, and if your teams wins the game or not. It's always, with little exception, the better coordinated teams that win, by sticking together and making logical moves.

avatar

376 days ago

I by csgo by reward

376 days ago

C'mon, the game gives random drops to players all over the board and not necessarily anything to game leaders. And, if you get a box drops of multiple weapons inside you have to pay 2.49 for a key, and get one that item you don't even pick because its like a roulette wheel when it finally stops on some crap you already have. Thats a developer fail for me and a ripoff.

TROLlox (after 13 days 15 hours play time)

132 days ago

Tactical play is essential in csgo, having a team is a must, and good communication is the key to winning

avatar

You

Now

Is Counter-Strike: Global Offensive fun to watch?

TROLlox (after 13 days 15 hours play time)

132 days ago

Good to see how others play, what positions do they take, how do they react to certain actions, how they manage their economy, and stuff like that

Wildbhere (after 38 days 5 hours play time)

377 days ago

i think that it is "fun to watch" when you are packed in a crowd with other CS:GO players going insane supporting their favourite org's

avatar

You

Now

Would you buy at full price or wait for a Counter-Strike: Global Offensive sale?

376 days ago

I bought the game at full price when it released hoping to fall in love with it. That didn't happen. So, I recommend to others to wait for sale and tutor them on what to expect.

85
Matt Purslow (after 8 hours play time)

973 days ago

The current full-price (£11.99) is completely reasonable. With it's strong community and good collection of maps and modes, there's no reason to be put off paying full-price.

TROLlox (after 13 days 15 hours play time)

132 days ago

The amount of hours you'll spend in the game makes it totally worth it

avatar

You

Now

Is Counter-Strike: Global Offensive pay to win?

mz441 (after 2 days 18 hours play time)

515 days ago

No, it isn't. The only microtransactions in the game are cosmetic items.

TROLlox (after 13 days 15 hours play time)

132 days ago

There is no way this game is pay to win, forget about asking

avatar

You

Now

Would you recommend any good Counter-Strike: Global Offensive mods?

TROLlox (after 13 days 15 hours play time)

132 days ago

Counter strike classic offensive is wonderful

avatar

You

Now

How does Counter-Strike: Global Offensive reward teamplay?

TROLlox (after 13 days 15 hours play time)

132 days ago

Team-play is key to winning

Wildbhere (after 38 days 5 hours play time)

377 days ago

teamplay, in terms of communication is very important. You can be the best player but lack communication and get destroyed by a team with excellent communication but poor individual performance

avatar

You

Now

How active is the competitive scene in Counter-Strike: Global Offensive?

TROLlox (after 13 days 15 hours play time)

132 days ago

The competitive scene is very active, there are pro matches all the time broadcasted everywhere

avatar

You

Now

How active is the PvP community in Counter-Strike: Global Offensive?

376 days ago

This game needs an easier system to find players names alive or dead to mute the verbal and music spammers while in game. Way too much of it going on.

avatar

You

Now

How good are the sounds in Counter-Strike: Global Offensive?

376 days ago

The sound of the awp is almost overpowering. It should be removed or limited anyway.

TROLlox (after 13 days 15 hours play time)

132 days ago

I don't think the sounds are good enough compare to how important of a role they play

85
Matt Purslow (after 8 hours play time)

973 days ago

Sound is very integral to CS:GO's design, and so footsteps and gun sounds are distinctive and easily placed in regards to your position. You can quite easily tell what direction an enemy is approaching from, and what weapon they are using. For serious players, this in combination with headphones is essential.

Wildbhere (after 38 days 5 hours play time)

377 days ago

the sounds have changed since release, but sound is a very large part of the games mechanics

avatar

You

Now

How good are the graphics in Counter-Strike: Global Offensive?

85
Matt Purslow (after 8 hours play time)

973 days ago

Global Offensive is one of the best-looking games built on the Source engine, but it's clear that it's old tech. Whilst everything is well made, there's nothing flashy about it at all.

376 days ago

The graphics are fine on the majority of computers with even low end video cards which is great for people on a budjet.

TROLlox (after 13 days 15 hours play time)

132 days ago

The engine is old, cs looks good compared to other source games but it's pretty bad compared to today's graphics standards

avatar

You

Now

How does Counter-Strike: Global Offensive run on your PC?

85
Matt Purslow (after 8 hours play time)

973 days ago

With the game being powered by the ageing Source engine, Global Offensive is not a demanding game at all. I've had no problems playing the game at 16:10 resolutions pushing over 60fps.

Wildbhere (after 38 days 5 hours play time)

377 days ago

you can run it on a machine built in 2010 and will be easily above 60+ FPS, so modern tech wouldn't bat an eye at it.

TROLlox (after 13 days 15 hours play time)

132 days ago

no problem, there never is a problem with source engine games, I get around 250-300 fps no matter the settings

avatar

You

Now

Does Counter-Strike: Global Offensive respect the military?

85
Matt Purslow (after 8 hours play time)

973 days ago

Not really. Despite using realistic military hardware, the multiplayer nature of CS:GO means that its soldiers are more like paintball players than actual army dudes. I would classify Counter-Strike: Global Offensive as militarily indifferent.

376 days ago

No Way: This game stopped being military the moment you colorized the weapons for sales appeal. Also, allowing kiddies and thugs to play music in the game wiped out all militaristic realism. Half the time you have to die quickly so you can toggle to find the music spammers and block their communication. Let's be real, this game was developed to sell one weapon per box drop of make believe weapons for children's appeal and profit.

avatar

You

Now

Why do gamers keep coming back to Counter-Strike: Global Offensive

Wildbhere (after 38 days 5 hours play time)

377 days ago

the importance that i am getting better, and the game isn't getting easier

56
El Burrito (after 7 days 2 hours play time)

302 days ago

My friends play it. I wouldn't play this by myself.

TROLlox (after 13 days 15 hours play time)

132 days ago

The teamwork, playing together with your frined and getting better at the game makes me love it

Dishonored 2 Review
Dishonored 2 Review

avataravataravataravataravatar

5 reviewers answered 7 questions