Diablo 2: Resurrected’s single-player alpha starts this Friday

April 6, 2021 The Diablo 2: Resurrected alpha begins on April 9.

You’ve been able to sign up for the Diablo 2: Resurrected alpha for some time, but Blizzard hasn’t provided a whole lot of detail on what to expect from this early look at the game – until now. The devs have confirmed that the first, single-player alpha will begin this Friday.

The single-player technical alpha begins on April 9 at 7am PDT / 10am EDT / 3pm BST, and will last until April 12 at 10am PDT / 1pm EDT / 6pm BST. A limited number of players who’ve signed up on the official site will be randomly selected for the test, and will receive instruction on how to participate in an email. (A handful of streamers will get access to the alpha a day early, so you might see some new footage as soon as April 8.)

This alpha will let you play through the entirety of the first two acts as one of three classes: the barbarian, the amazon, or the sorceress. You’ll get to see most of the benefits of the Resurrected remaster here, but not the improved cinematics – those aren’t finished yet.

 

There will be at least one more alpha after this. “We’re going to start with a single-player technical alpha, and then we’ll have a second technical alpha after that, which is kind of multiplayer and stress testing,” lead producer Chris Lena told us in an interview back at BlizzCon Online.

In a new FAQ posted alongside today’s news, the devs hint at the possibility of further alphas ahead of launch, though only the single-player and multiplayer alphas have been confirmed so far.

These alphas will, of course, start to shape the future of Resurrected. Lena told us that the door is open for things like balance changes to help keep the game vibrant for a modern community – if, indeed, players indicate that they actually want that to happen. Either way, that process starts with the alphas.

YouTube Thumbnail

With the Diablo 4 release date on the way (eventually), there’s a whole lot of potential goodness on the way for the Diablo diehards. (And hey, it sounds like Immortal might actually even be good, too.)

{"schema":{"page":{"content":{"headline":"Diablo 2: Resurrected’s single-player alpha starts this Friday","type":"news","category":"diablo-2-resurrected"},"user":{"loginstatus":false},"game":{"publisher":"Blizzard","genre":"RPG","title":"Diablo 2: Resurrected","genres":["RPG"]}}}}