Dota 2 Review

How's your Russian coming along?

359

847 days ago

Well, I know that "AXA" is something like "LOL" - that's all you need to know really.

543 days ago

Nice game

527 days ago

yok maen dota

514 days ago

Useful resource: https://www.reddit.com/r/DotA2/comments/28ynyu/some_important_russian_phrases

70 days ago

для задротоа

34 days ago

KOTOL, giff me mana! :-)

22

327 days ago

AUS servers, only ironic Russian present

198 days ago

Davai nahui pidor

180

845 days ago

Ne khorosho.

163 days ago

ja tvou mat' na konce vertel'

417 days ago

thats cool game anf its free on steam custom games and alot of thing

19 days ago

Cheeki Breeki + Max Hardbass

avatar

305 days ago

Have currently lost 2000 hours of my life to this game. Will probably lose another 2000 at the very least.

305 days ago

Cheeki breeki iv damke!

250 days ago

good game

225 days ago

blyat,its great !

341

417 days ago

The game focuses too much on inventory management rather than actual gameplay. IF you want a good moba play Heroes of the Storm it goes away with gear and focuses on actual team play.

avatar

You

Now

Which characters would you recommend to starting players?

359

847 days ago

Crystal Maiden is a simple and effective support, and Skeleton King is a right click wonder of a carry.

Dog Pants Avatar
1388
2 Years ago
Skeleton King is now known as Writh King (since Hallowe'en 2014 I think). I assume Nick wrote this prior to the change.
1

55 days ago

Earth Spirit, Meepo, Invoker

1388

803 days ago

Lich is a good starting character to introduce players to support roles. He's pretty handy in combat, has obvious uses, and naturally encourages denying.

42

674 days ago

Limited Heroes is the mode you're looking for, it limits you to 20 (I think) heroes that are meant to introduce players to the game.

Also make sure to play the tutorial, it will get you grounded in the basics. Bot games are also fantastic for playing around with a hero.

42

674 days ago

Limited Heroes is the mode you're looking for, it limits you to 20 (I think) heroes that are meant to introduce players to the game.

Also make sure to play the tutorial, it will get you grounded in the basics. Bot games are also fantastic for playing around with a hero.

avatar

You

Now

Do you ever feel overwhelmed playing Dota 2?

1388

962 days ago

All the time. I think everyone does. The learning curve is so long that at every level a player is constantly learning, and those lessons are usually beaten into you. Most people have a roughly 50% win/lose ratio, and that can feel like you're the underdog all the time. It can be tough. But if you can grasp the conceptual differences between MOBAs and more short form PvP games - to sacrifice personal glory for example, or learn to appreciate a good game lost - then being overwhelmed is just part of the learning process. Then you understand the problem, improve, feel good, then get beaten by something new.

359

847 days ago

At first, of course. When you play Dota 2 for the first time, it can be an information overload. But the fun lies within deciphering it all bit by bit, until it all becomes second nature.

359

847 days ago

At first, of course. When you play Dota 2 for the first time, it can be an information overload. But the fun lies within deciphering it all bit by bit, until it all becomes second nature.

359

847 days ago

At first, of course. When you play Dota 2 for the first time, it can be an information overload. But the fun lies within deciphering it all bit by bit, until it all becomes second nature.

359

847 days ago

At first, of course. When you play Dota 2 for the first time, it can be an information overload. But the fun lies within deciphering it all bit by bit, until it all becomes second nature.

avatar

You

Now

Is Dota 2 grindy?

359

847 days ago

Since the only things you can unlock in Dota 2 are cosmetics, not really. I mean, you might need to play a good dozen or so games to score a cosmetic drop, but it's a small price to pay to have all the heroes unlocked for free.

1388

803 days ago

It never felt that way to me. In the traditional sense of grinding for gear there's not much point - all drops are cosmetic and completely random, and can be bought with cash. In the sense it can feel repetitive it looks as though it ought to, with only one game mode and map, but the variety of characters and play style make every game different.

avatar

313 days ago

Grinds your time !!! Muahaha

avatar

You

Now

How steep is the learning curve in Dota 2?

359

847 days ago

I was lucky when I started playing Dota 2, in that I had some good friends to play and learn from. I think that if I had to go it alone, it would of taken me hundreds more hours to get to where I am today. Thankfully, there's heaps if resources out on the net to help you swat up on your favourite heroes, builds and strategies.

22

573 days ago

What curve? All I saw was a brick wall and proceeded to start embedding my face into it until I somehow found myself halfway up it.

1388

803 days ago

I would describe the learning curve of Dota 2 as very long rather than steep. Everyone hits bad patches which could suggest otherwise, but personally I find that I'm always going through a process of frustration and improvement. As a result though, I suspect that a lengthy break from playing will cause a noticeable drop in performance.

avatar

313 days ago

I played Dota 1 from WC3 and improved more in Dota 2

34 days ago

very steep

avatar

You

Now

How fair are loot drops in Dota 2?

359

847 days ago

They're completely random now, so it's just a roll of the dice.

1388

803 days ago

They're completely random and not infrequent in normal play. You can get them in coop bot games, but they're much rarer. Anything that drops can also be purchased in the shop (although new ones tend to be in crates).

avatar

313 days ago

By far the drops I get after a match is mostly common and didn't actually get anything valuable from it.

avatar

251 days ago

I didnt SEE in my beag or Mys realy

avatar

You

Now

Does Dota 2 allow for a good range of character builds?

359

847 days ago

Oh hundreds. If not thousands. Maybe the former is more true in a sense of top meta builds, but you can decide between what to skill up first, to what items you purchase in what order. There's certainly room for experimentation.

avatar

313 days ago

Yes , the metas always changing .

1388

803 days ago

This is the area where I would argue Dota 2 stands out among MOBAs. The combination of skills and items makes for a huge variety of builds. Some will obviously be better than others, and there's a whole metagame around that.

avatar

You

Now

Can you get away with just rushing the enemy in Dota 2?

1388

962 days ago

There are many players out there who are far better than me, with far more time on their hands. Occasionally these people are kind enough to share their knowledge via the in-game guides. These will highlight the skills to level up and items to buy, and are invaluable to those of us who haven't played for long enough to remember what all the items do or are playing an unfamiliar character. So my strategy is to follow the guides in the vast majority of cases. You still have to understand the interactions between your abilities, and you will always be trumped by someone who can read the game's flow and adjust their strategy on the fly, but it gives you a fighting chance.

34 days ago

sometimes - depends on many factors

avatar

You

Now

How active is the competitive scene in Dota 2?

359

847 days ago

Considering Valve is currently the proud owner of the largest eSports event in history, I'd say quite active. But it goes deeper than that - there's thousands of smaller amateur tournaments too for up and coming players to play in. The best part is you can watch them all through the Dota 2 client itself using Dota TV; then quality doesnt get much better than that.

1388

803 days ago

The competitive scene in Dota 2 is one of the most famous in the world, although not quite as popular with the pros as Starcraft or League. Anyone above a certain level can form in-game competitive teams.

avatar

251 days ago

Teamwork = WInning

34 days ago

very active

avatar

313 days ago

There are tournaments everywhere in the world . From LAN to online lobbies . The bigger tournaments (e.g Manila Majors , Frankfurt Majors ) that are hosted by Valve is almost held 2 times per year . In addition the biggest LAN tournament The International that is also hosted by Valve is held once per year . In conclusion , the competitve scene is pretty active not to say there are other teams out there evolving in the current trend .

avatar

You

Now

How does Dota 2 reward teamplay?

359

847 days ago

Absolutely! Dota 2 is all about teamwork, so much that it actually changed the way I play. See, I value it so much, that I rarely every queue up on my own anymore; I always value having a pre-made stack of friends. Why? Well Dota 2 is far more enjoyable when you know from the get-go that you're all working together. If you solo queue, you might run into someone who doesn't work with the team, and often you lose the game because of them. Not fun at all.

34 days ago

it is much easier to win in a team

1388

803 days ago

The reward for teamwork in Dota 2 is a chance of winning, and the satisfaction that brings. The other team will punish you for not working as a team rather than the game rewarding you. There's little quite like pulling off a good team win, the only similar thing I can remember being raiding in World of Warcraft.

avatar

You

Now

How active is the PvP community in Dota 2?

avatar

251 days ago

Very active . Thousand of games are played every day . There are also websites offering services in helping you setting up 1v1 or 5v5 to earn money by winning .

34 days ago

very active

avatar

313 days ago

Very active . Thousand of games are played every day . There are also websites offering services in helping you setting up 1v1 or 5v5 to earn money by winning .

avatar

You

Now

How active is the multiplayer community for Dota 2?

1388

962 days ago

Go look at today's Steam statistics. Chances are that Dota 2 is the most played game. You still can queue for several minutes waiting for a public matchmaking game, but you will get one and at roughly your skill level. Unfortunately, every couple of games, at least one of those people you are matched with will be a petulant gobshite. Such is the nature of a high stakes game where the players are anonymous, it can't be avoided. Usually these people are not good players, sometimes they are otherwise pleasant players who flipped out briefly. Like I said, it's high stakes - starting the game will commit the next 45 minutes of your time, and getting kicked around for the whole of it is frustrating. Avoid retaliating and keep the game a nice place, which despite rumours to the contrary, for the most part, it is.

34 days ago

hyperactive

avatar

You

Now

Is Dota 2 fun to watch?

359

847 days ago

Yes! When I'm not playing, say I'm eating my lunch for example, I'll often put on a stream of my favourite Dota 2 pro, or a tournament match if one is live. Not only is it entertaining, but you can often gleam some new knowledge by watching more skilled players play a certain hero; to me, learning is fun.

1388

803 days ago

I think so. It's pretty much the only eSports I watch. The International is one of the biggest gaming tournaments in the world, and includes spectators by selling interactive programs where you can make predictions for points which in turn can win you in-game items.

avatar

251 days ago

no just play

avatar

313 days ago

Yes. Been a Dota 2 player for a few years . Competitive gaming has never been bored! ! !

avatar

You

Now

Have you bought anything in Dota 2? How happy were you with your purchase?

359

847 days ago

I've shamelessly spent a lot on Dota 2 actually - somewhere in the region of $1000. But that's been over a four year period, to which I've played over 1,500 hours of the game. Very few games have given me that much enjoyment, so I see it as money well spent.

1388

803 days ago

I estimate I've spent around £50 on in-game items in Dota 2. Almost all of that was small (£2-ish) cosmetic crates. They don't bring a great deal to the game, and I was a little disappointed with some, but on the whole I've liked adding a little individuality to my favourite characters. If only there were more items for Slark.

avatar

313 days ago

Yes , I bought the compendium from The International and every year its improving drastically and rapidly .

avatar

You

Now

How fair is the free-to-play model in Dota 2?

1388

962 days ago

Everything that can be bought with real money is cosmetic. In fact, nothing on the field of play can be affected by anything you do outside it. There is no character progression, only your own record and cosmetics. Hats and stats, if you will. Purchasable items will drop from matches occasionally too, so you don't even have to spend money on cosmetics as long as you don't want anything specific or can trade on the Steam marketplace.

359

847 days ago

As fair as it can be. As I said earlier, only cosmetic items are available for purchase; heroes are available to all players from the start for no cost. There's no pay-2-win here.

avatar

313 days ago

The developer is doing his best to balance the game so its almost a balanced game.

avatar

You

Now

How good are the graphics in Dota 2?

1388

962 days ago

They're clear and functional. Characters are distinct, ability effects stand out without obscuring the action. Zoom in using cinematic mode and you'll see that the models aren't hugely detailed, but they are suitable for the scale of a normal game.

359

847 days ago

Valve's pushed the Source engine to its limits really - it's one if the best looking games Valve have created. The map is teeming with detail, and the heroes all look unique. There's certainly room for improvement though, but I think we'll see that when Source 2 is released in the near future.

avatar

313 days ago

Never tried a 4K display before on a game like Dota . My screen is Full HD 1080 so it looks clear and beautiful . But it looks kinda awful when you have a low-end laptop / PC (minimal settings)

avatar

251 days ago

Soo good

34 days ago

very good

avatar

You

Now

How good are the sounds in Dota 2?

1388

962 days ago

So much attention to detail has been put into making ability effects sound distinct, and into the characters' lines. In time you learn to listen to the battles and pick out telltale sounds of powerful abilities being triggered. Some characters will interact with each other when nearby on the same team, or when killing each other. I'm still occasionally finding new ones, and they're usually amusing.

42

674 days ago

Heroes also have unique interactions in the form of voice lines with heroes that appear in their lore which can lead to some "Huh, that's cool" moments in-game.

avatar

313 days ago

There are some hero sounds that not suitable especially Chinese hero sounds . But the sound effects and anything else is in good shape !

42

674 days ago

Amazing. Beastmasters Roar and Queen of Pain's scream are incredible. IO picking up runes is plenty of bleepy-bloopy fun too and Rubick's voice is ace. The rest of the games sounds are pretty great too, but those are some of the ones that really stand out to me.

avatar

You

Now

How does Dota 2 run on your PC?

1388

962 days ago

Performance in game is fine. It isn't a demanding game. However, Dota 2 loves being updated. I regularly have to exit between rounds to let the client update. It's only a quick update in most cases, but it can be irritating.

359

847 days ago

It runs like a charm - but my PC specs are certainly overkill. I play at a 1440p resolution and at a constant 144fps thanks to two GTX 780 Ti's in SLI. But from what I've seen on older machines (and laptops), is that you can even get away with using your CPUs integrated graphics, as long as you adjust the settings accordingly.

avatar

313 days ago

Laptop* . Gets very hot . Performance decent FPS ranging 65-70 in the main menu . 120 fps while in game (match) .

34 days ago

very smooth

avatar

You

Now

How good is the Mac port of Dota 2?

22

573 days ago

Every fifth game I play there will be a pause. Someone will disconnect from the game, and a friend they queued in with will type two words into all chat: "Mac doto". Everybody understands, and waits for them to reconnect.

avatar

You

Now

How imaginative is the Dota 2 lore?

359

847 days ago

Valve have constructed a wealth of lore for Dota 2, which they often draw upon for ideas for new themes for content updates and events. Each hero has a healthy back story, and established relationships with the other heroes of the game; some of which are quite comical in nature. You can certainly lose a good few hours reading up on them all, and it wouldn't be a waste either.

42

674 days ago

Interesting note: Greg Kasavin did the original background lore for Magnus. https://www.idlethumbs.net/dotatoday/episodes/the-hoove-oeuvre-with-greg-kasavin

avatar

313 days ago

Logically obvious based on the physical properties of the character's backline story that connects them together . Creative and fun to read!

34 days ago

very nice indeed

avatar

You

Now
Dishonored 2 Review
Dishonored 2 Review

avataravataravataravataravatar

5 reviewers answered 7 questions